Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
Precedia/Example answers

What Ask Lidia answers look like

Ten real questions, answered the way Ask Lidia answers: a short answer with real counts, then the regulator's own sentences with the page they're on. These examples are assembled only from Precedia's verified quotes. Ask Lidia does the same for your exact question.

Request an invite Try the evidence preview

Multispecific antibodies · Species

Which animal species did regulators accept for approved multispecifics?

13 of 18 approved multispecifics ran pivotal tox in: monkey only.
Monkey only13/18
Monkey + rodent2/18
No relevant species3/18
The evidence · 3 of 126 regulator sentences
  1. BizengriMultispecifics · HER2 x HER3 · Species
    Cynomolgus monkey only
    “The cynomolgus monkey was utilized as the only pharmacologically relevant species for toxicity testing, in view of cross reactivity of MCLA-128 with the HER2/HER3 targets in this species.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 77Source ↗
  2. BlincytoMultispecifics · CD19 x CD3 · Species
    Chimpanzee (only relevant species, limited non-terminal studies) plus mouse with murine surrogate
    “General toxicology studies included non-terminal repeat-dose studies of intravenous administration of blinatumomab in chimpanzees and repeat-dose studies of subcutaneous and intravenous administration of a murine surrogate in mice.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
  3. ColumviMultispecifics · CD20 x CD3 · Species
    Cynomolgus monkey only
    “The cynomolgus monkey is a relevant species for toxicology studies based on glofitamab binding to CD20 and CD3 on cynomolgus monkey B- and T-cells.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
Multispecific antibodies · First dose

How was the first-in-human dose set for approved multispecifics?

Rarely public: 3 of 18 reviews say how the first human dose was set.
Stated3/18
Not stated publicly15/18
The evidence · 3 of 21 regulator sentences
  1. LunsumioMultispecifics · CD20 x CD3 · First-in-human starting dose
    MABEL-type: EC20 from in vitro human PBMC cytokine release / T-cell activation assay
    “The results (EC20 values) were used to inform the starting dose in the first in human study.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 60Source ↗
  2. ColumviMultispecifics · CD20 x CD3 · NOAEL / key findings
    HNSTD 30/100 ug/kg step-up (2-week); B-cell depletion, cytokine release, lymphoid hypocellularity; CRS deaths at 100 ug/kg first dose
    “Key findings with glofitamab identified in single- and repeat-dose toxicity studies up to 4 weeks in duration in cynomolgus monkeys included B-cell depletion, transient postdose cytokine release, primarily after the first dose,”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
  3. VabysmoMultispecifics · VEGF-A x Ang-2 · First-in-human starting dose
    Starting dose 0.5 mg/eye IVT supported by monkey tox data (6 mg/eye high dose not initially supported; dose escalation gated)
    “The proposed clinical starting dose of 0.5 mg/eye is supported by the nonclinical data but the high dose of 6.0 mg/eye is not.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Antibody-drug conjugates · First dose

How was the first-in-human dose set for approved ADCs?

2 of 14 public reviews say how the first human dose was set; 2 more say it partly.
Stated2/14
Partly stated2/14
Not stated publicly10/14
The evidence · 3 of 18 regulator sentences
  1. ZynlontaADCs · CD19 · First-in-human starting dose
    1/6 HNSTD in cynomolgus monkey cited as rationale for species choice; actual FIH calculation not detailed
    “The cynomolgus monkey was selected as nonclinical species for safety evaluation of loncastuximab tesirine, given the greater predictive value of PK data generated in this species for humans, potential for reduced impact of antidrug antibody (ADA) formation…”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 49Source ↗
  2. KadcylaADCs · HER2 · First-in-human starting dose
    HNSTD-based: monkey HNSTD 10 mg/kg (q3w x4), below 1/10 rat severely toxic dose, used to set Phase I start
    “the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in cynomolgus monkeys was 10 mg/kg for four injections every 3 weeks which was below the no observable adverse effect level in that species and below one-tenth of the severely toxic dose in rats, this information…”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
  3. ElahereADCs · FRα · First-in-human starting dose
    Rationale not stated; FIH Study 0401 escalated from 0.15 mg/kg (TBW) to 7.0 mg/kg
    “MIRV: Dose escalation: 0.15 mg/kg TBW to 7.0 mg/kg TBW (n = 44 Q3W; n = 25 QW)”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 64Source ↗
Antibody-drug conjugates · Skipped studies

Which nonclinical studies did approved ADCs skip?

14 of 14 skipped carcinogenicity; 6 of 14 skipped dedicated reproductive tox.
No genotoxicity studies0/14
No carcinogenicity study14/14
No dedicated repro tox6/14
The evidence · 3 of 140 regulator sentences
  1. AdcetrisADCs · CD30 · Genotoxicity
    Conducted on MMAE: Ames and mouse lymphoma negative; rat micronucleus positive (aneugenic)
    “MMAE was genotoxic in the rat bone marrow micronucleus study through an aneugenic mechanism.”
    ✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
  2. BesponsaADCs · CD22 · Genotoxicity
    Conducted: calicheamicin positive in Ames and in vitro micronucleus; ADC clastogenic in mouse micronucleus
    “Inotuzumab ozogamicin was clastogenic in mice at doses ≥28 µg/kg (approximately 1.1 mg/m2 of the ADC), consistent with the known DNA-reactive activity of the calicheamicin payload.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
  3. DatrowayADCs · Trop-2 · Genotoxicity
    Not conducted with ADC; DXd Ames negative, clastogenic in vitro chromosome aberration and in vivo rat micronucleus
    “In genetic toxicology studies, deruxtecan was not mutagenic in an Ames assay but demonstrated clastogenic potential in an in vitro Chinese hamster lung chromosome aberration assay and an in vivo rat bone marrow micronucleus assay.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Oligonucleotides · Study length

How long were the pivotal tox studies for approved oligonucleotides?

Most common longest pivotal study: ~9 months (39 wk), 22 of 27.
~3 months (13 wk)2/27
~9 months (39 wk)22/27
≥12 months (52 wk)2/27
Not stated1/27
The evidence · 3 of 79 regulator sentences
  1. Amondys 45Oligos · DMD exon 45 (PMO) · Longest pivotal study
    39 weeks
    “Title: SRP-4045: A 39-week intravenous infusion toxicity study in male cynomolgus monkeys with an 8-week recovery period”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 40Source ↗
  2. AmvuttraOligos · TTR (siRNA) · Longest pivotal study
    40 weeks
    “In the pivotal general toxicology studies of SC vutrisiran in rat (13- and 26-week) and cynomolgus monkey (13- and 40-week), non-adverse findings were observed in the liver (both species), kidneys (rat), and lymph nodes (monkey).”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
  3. DawnzeraOligos · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO) · Longest pivotal study
    39 weeks
    “repeat dose studies in CD-1 mice and cynomolgus monkeys of up to 26- and 39-week duration, respectively”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Oligonucleotides · Skipped studies

Which nonclinical studies did approved oligonucleotides skip?

16 of 27 skipped carcinogenicity; 4 of 27 skipped dedicated reproductive tox.
No genotoxicity studies0/27
No carcinogenicity study16/27
No dedicated repro tox4/27
The evidence · 3 of 268 regulator sentences
  1. Amondys 45Oligos · DMD exon 45 (PMO) · Genotoxicity
    Conducted; negative (Ames, CHO chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
    “Casimersen was tested in a standard battery of in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation, chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) genetic toxicology assays. The studies were adequately conducted and negative.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
  2. AmvuttraOligos · TTR (siRNA) · Genotoxicity
    Conducted: Ames, human lymphocyte chromosome aberration, rat micronucleus; all negative
    “A standard battery of genetic toxicology assays was conducted for vutrisiran (in vitro bacterial mutagenicity, in vitro chromosomal aberration in human peripheral blood lymphocytes, and in vivo rat (bone marrow) micronucleus assay. All assays were adequate…”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
  3. DawnzeraOligos · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO) · Genotoxicity
    Conducted: in vitro Ames, CHL chromosomal aberration and in vivo mouse bone marrow micronucleus; no genotoxicity
    “Donidalorsen was evaluated for genotoxicity potential both in vitro and in vivo.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Gene therapy · Risks

Which risks did regulators probe for approved gene therapies?

What reviewers probed for each of the 26 approved gene therapies; most common label warning: hypersensitivity & infusion reactions (14 of 26).
Boxed warning (any)5/26
Label warning: Hypersensitivity & infusion reactions14/26
Label warning: Secondary malignancy10/26
Label warning: Infections8/26
Label warning: Thrombocytopenia8/26
Label warning: Cytopenias7/26
Label warning: Hepatotoxicity7/26
Label warning: Immune-mediated reactions4/26
Label warning: Thrombosis & embolism4/26
The evidence · 3 of 110 regulator sentences
  1. RoctavianGene therapy · Factor VIII · Modality-specific risk
    Vector integration/insertional mutagenesis (CRL request; BMN307 mouse liver tumors), anti-transgene immunity, germline transmission
    “The CRL also included a recommendation for the applicant to provide additional data to address the risks of vector integration and insertional mutagenesis.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
  2. AdstiladrinGene therapy · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical) · Immune & cytokine safety
    Neutralizing anti-adenovirus and anti-IFNa2b antibodies in most high-dose monkeys, persisting through observation period
    “Development of neutralizing antibodies to the adenovirus and anti-IFNα2b antibodies occurred in the majority of animals in the high dose group and to a lesser extent in the low dose group”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
  3. BeqvezGene therapy · Factor IX · Immune & cytokine safety
    Anti-hFIX and anti-capsid antibodies in most NHPs, rising over time, correlated with declining hFIX
    “The levels of both anti-hFIX and anti-AAV antibodies increased with time, which correlated with a decline in plasma hFIX protein levels.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Gene therapy · Skipped studies

Which nonclinical studies did approved gene therapies skip?

26 of 26 skipped carcinogenicity; 21 of 26 skipped genotoxicity.
No genotoxicity studies21/26
No carcinogenicity study26/26
No dedicated repro tox20/26
The evidence · 3 of 243 regulator sentences
  1. WaskyraGene therapy · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC) · Genotox: Ames
    Not conducted (conventional mutagenicity studies not required for gene therapy)
    “Conventional mutagenicity, carcinogenicity and reproductive and developmental toxicity studies have not been conducted, which is in accordance with scientific and regulatory recommendations related to gene therapies.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
  2. AdstiladrinGene therapy · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical) · Genotoxicity
    Not conducted for rAd-IFN; conducted for excipient Syn3 only (Ames and chromosome aberration, negative)
    “Safety pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, toxicology, and genotoxicity studies were also conducted for the exicipient Syn3.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
  3. BeqvezGene therapy · Factor IX · Genotoxicity
    Not conducted (classical); vector integration site analysis in dog and NHP liver instead
    “Based on the IS profile, genotoxicity from vector integration appears to be a low risk.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 39Source ↗
Cell therapy · Species

Which animal species did regulators accept for approved cell therapies?

15 of 27 approved cell therapies ran pivotal tox in: no relevant species.
Monkey + rodent2/27
Rodent + dog or minipig2/27
Rodent only5/27
Other species3/27
No relevant species15/27
The evidence · 3 of 188 regulator sentences
  1. AbecmaCell therapy · BCMA CAR-T · Species
    No relevant species; NSG mouse xenografts and in vitro only
    “The PK and biodistribution of ide-cel were evaluated in NSG mice with and without BCMA+ xenografts.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
  2. AlofiselCell therapy · Allogeneic adipose MSC · Species
    Immunocompromised athymic nude rats (GLP); nude mice for tumourigenicity
    “The applicant has chosen immunocompromised athymic rats to perform the biodistribution, toxicology and tumourigenicity studies.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 19Source ↗
  3. AmtagviCell therapy · TIL therapy · Species
    No animal studies with product; published murine and human TIL literature only
    “No nonclinical studies were conducted with AMTAGVI. Instead, the applicant cited published nonclinical data evaluating similar murine and human tumor-derived T lymphocytes to provide support for AMTAGVI.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Cell therapy · Risks

Which risks did regulators probe for approved cell therapies?

What reviewers probed for each of the 27 approved cell therapies; most common label warning: hypersensitivity & infusion reactions (14 of 27).
Boxed warning (any)10/27
Label warning: Hypersensitivity & infusion reactions14/27
Label warning: Infections14/27
Label warning: Secondary malignancy13/27
Label warning: Cytopenias10/27
Label warning: Cytokine release syndrome8/27
Label warning: Neurotoxicity8/27
Label warning: Immune-mediated reactions8/27
Label warning: Nephrotoxicity2/27
The evidence · 3 of 105 regulator sentences
  1. AucatzylCell therapy · CD19 CAR-T · Immune & cytokine safety
    No nonclinical CRS/ICANS model; CRS and neurotoxicity judged clinically manageable; CAT19 showed higher TNF-α in vitro/in vivo
    “Known risks of CAR T cell therapies (e.g., CRS or neurotoxicity) can be clinically monitored and managed.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
  2. ZalmoxisCell therapy · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells · Anti-drug antibodies: patients
    No ADA incidence reported; immunological events (antibody formation) to be followed post-authorisation
    “In addition, the MAH will follow-up on the risks of Graft versus Host Disease (GvHD), Severe systemic infection CMV and EBV reactivation, Febrile neutropenia, Hepatic failure, Carcinogenicity, Genotoxicity, Late complications (malignancies, autoimmunity),…”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 81Source ↗
  3. AbecmaCell therapy · BCMA CAR-T · Immune & cytokine safety
    BCMA-specific IFN-γ release in vitro; CRS not modeled; expected depletion of normal plasma cells
    “It is also expected that ide-cel will deplete healthy plasma cells that express BCMA.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 46Source ↗
Ask your own question

Ask Lidia, your on-demand regulatory agent, answers for your target, modality and package.

Request an invite