Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Brinsupri

brensocatib
small moleculeDPP1 (cathepsin C)Oral small-molecule reversible DPP1 (cathepsin C) inhibitorNon-cystic fibrosis bronchiectasis
Species
RatDog
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“repeat-dose toxicology studies conducted in the rat and dog for durations up to 26 weeks and 39 weeks, respectively”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Why that species
Pharmacological relevance: brensocatib inhibits DPP1 in mice, rats and dogs as well as humans
“brensocatib is an effective reversible inhibitor of recombinant dipeptidyl peptidase 1 (DPP1) in humans, mice, rats, and dogs, and confirmed the subsequent inhibition of NSP activities (NE, PR3, CatG) in human samples obtained from subjects treated with clinically relevant doses. The in-vitro data also support the selected test species for safety studies with regard to pharmacologically relevance”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“In the 39-week GLP study in dogs, animals were administered 0 (vehicle), 1, 2, 4 or 8 mg/kg/day brensocatib orally for 39 weeks with a 26-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 134Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat and dog
“repeat-dose toxicology studies conducted in the rat and dog for durations up to 26 weeks and 39 weeks, respectively”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (full reproductive toxicology battery)
“a full battery of reproductive toxicology studies in rat and rabbit”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Rat (2-year) and Tg.rasH2 mouse (6-month)
“2-year rat and 6-month Tg.rasH2 mouse carcinogenicity studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 (9-month dog)
“In the 39-week GLP study in dogs, animals were administered 0 (vehicle), 1, 2, 4 or 8 mg/kg/day brensocatib orally for 39 weeks with a 26-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 134Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
26-week rat, 26-week dog and 39-week dog oral studies
“Table 47. Summary of Brensocatib Exposures in Repeat-Dose Toxicity Studies Study NOAEL (mg/kg/day) AUC (µmol.h/L) Systemic Exposure Margina 26-week rat study 9 196 20.6 26-week dog study 2 13.3 1.4 39-week dog study 8 51.4 5.4”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 135Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies with oral administration of brensocatib were conducted for up to 6 months in rats and 9 months in dogs in compliance with GLP and ICH M3(R2) requirements.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro mouse lymphoma TK and in vivo rat micronucleus assays
“Brensocatib was found to be negative for genotoxic potential in the in vitro bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro mouse lymphoma cell thymidine kinase locus assay, and in vivo micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 135Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
104-week rat and 6-month Tg rasH2 mouse: no neoplastic findings (>50x and >60x MRHD unbound AUC)
“No neoplastic findings were observed in a 6-month Tg Ras mouse study and a 104-week carcinogenicity study in rats up to the highest doses tested yielding AUC-based (unbound brensocatib fraction) safety margins of > 60-fold (mice) and > 50-fold (rat) to the MRHD.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 55Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: bent scapula malformation at 100 mg/kg/day (3.7% of fetuses)
“Drug-related adverse skeletal malformation of bent scapula was observed in fetuses from pregnant dams administered 100 mg/kg/day brensocatib (4 of 110 fetuses, 3.7%).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 136Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No CNS or respiratory effects in rats at oral doses up to 200 mg/kg
“Safety pharmacology studies indicated that brensocatib did not affect the central nervous system or respiratory system in Han Wistar rats at oral doses up to 200 mg/kg”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 132Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (Ames)
“Brensocatib was found to be negative for genotoxic potential in the in vitro bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro mouse lymphoma cell thymidine kinase locus assay, and in vivo micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 135Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Mouse lymphoma TK locus assay: negative
“Brensocatib was found to be negative for genotoxic potential in the in vitro bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro mouse lymphoma cell thymidine kinase locus assay, and in vivo micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 135Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Rat micronucleus: negative
“Brensocatib was found to be negative for genotoxic potential in the in vitro bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro mouse lymphoma cell thymidine kinase locus assay, and in vivo micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 135Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year rat; 6-month Tg.rasH2 mouse
“2-year rat and 6-month Tg.rasH2 mouse carcinogenicity studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
104-week rat and 6-month Tg rasH2 mouse completed before the marketing application
“The carcinogenic potential of brensocatib was assessed in a 6-month Tg Ras mouse study and in a 104- week carcinogenicity study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
hERG / QT
hERG IC50 13.9 uM; 176-fold margin to free Cmax at MRHD (25 mg QD); low arrhythmogenic risk
“Brensocatib blocked the hERG-encoded potassium channel with an IC50 of 13.9 μM. The exposure margin to the free exposure (Cmax) at steady state of 0.079 µM (total Cmax = 0.616 µM or 259 ng/mL) in humans at MRHD (25 mg QD) is 176-fold, indicating a low arrhythmogenic risk.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Brinsupri don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 26-week dog: adverse findings at 8 and 50 mg/kg/day in testis/epididymis, lungs, lymphoid tissues, spleen, kidney and teeth (FDA integrated review, p. 134)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
26-week dog: adverse findings at 8 and 50 mg/kg/day in testis/epididymis, lungs, lymphoid tissues, spleen, kidney and teeth
“drug-related adverse findings were evident in the 8 and 50 mg/kg dosing groups in epididymis and testis (male), lungs, lymphoid tissues, spleen, kidney, and teeth.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 134Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No dedicated immunotoxicity studies; weight-of-evidence evaluation showed no concerning immunotoxic risk
“No dedicated immunotoxicity investigations were conducted and there was no evidence of a concerning immunotoxicological risk based on a comprehensive weight-of-evidence evaluation in”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 57Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Highest levels in liver, preputial gland and uveal tract, suggesting melanin binding; low CNS penetration
“Highest radioactivity tissue concentrations were in the liver and preputial gland in albino rats and in the uveal tract in the pigmented rats, suggesting melanin binding of brensocatib or its metabolites. There is low CNS penetration.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 53Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Severe periodontal disease in dogs at 50 mg/kg/day (>7x MRHD)
“In the 6-month repeat dose toxicology study in dogs, severe periodontal disease was observed at the highest dose administered of 50 mg/kg (greater than 7 times the MRHD).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Label warnings
  • Dermatologic Adverse Reactions
  • Gingival and Periodontal Adverse Reactions
  • Live Attenuated Vaccines
Skin reactions
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Brinsupri don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 26-week dog: adverse findings at 8 and 50 mg/kg/day in testis/epididymis, lungs, lymphoid tissues, spleen, kidney and teeth (FDA integrated review, p. 134)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
9-month dog (oral) with 26-week recovery
“a second chronic toxicity study (with 9 months of administration) was conducted in dogs with a lower maximum dose of 8 mg/kg/day and a recovery period of 26 weeks (similar duration to the previous study).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
26-week rat, 26-week dog and 39-week dog oral studies
“Table 47. Summary of Brensocatib Exposures in Repeat-Dose Toxicity Studies Study NOAEL (mg/kg/day) AUC (µmol.h/L) Systemic Exposure Margina 26-week rat study 9 196 20.6 26-week dog study 2 13.3 1.4 39-week dog study 8 51.4 5.4”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 135Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (full reproductive toxicology battery)
“a full battery of reproductive toxicology studies in rat and rabbit”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: bent scapula malformation at 100 mg/kg/day (3.7% of fetuses)
“Drug-related adverse skeletal malformation of bent scapula was observed in fetuses from pregnant dams administered 100 mg/kg/day brensocatib (4 of 110 fetuses, 3.7%).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 136Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in rat (oral) completed before the marketing application
“The potential effect of brensocatib on pre- and postnatal development was investigated in rats after once daily oral dosing from GD6 to LD21 at dose levels of 0, 3, 9 and 20 mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Rat (2-year) and Tg.rasH2 mouse (6-month)
“2-year rat and 6-month Tg.rasH2 mouse carcinogenicity studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year rat; 6-month Tg.rasH2 mouse
“2-year rat and 6-month Tg.rasH2 mouse carcinogenicity studies”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
104-week rat and 6-month Tg rasH2 mouse completed before the marketing application
“The carcinogenic potential of brensocatib was assessed in a 6-month Tg Ras mouse study and in a 104- week carcinogenicity study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
NOAEL margins vs human AUC: 26-week dog ~1.4x, 39-week dog ~5.4x, 26-week rat ~20.6x
“26-week rat study 9 196 20.6 26-week dog study 2 13.3 1.4 39-week dog study 8 51.4 5.4”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 135Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
26-week dog: adverse findings at 8 and 50 mg/kg/day in testis/epididymis, lungs, lymphoid tissues, spleen, kidney and teeth
“drug-related adverse findings were evident in the 8 and 50 mg/kg dosing groups in epididymis and testis (male), lungs, lymphoid tissues, spleen, kidney, and teeth.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 134Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
LPS-induced acute lung injury model (no established NCFB model)
“There are no established models for NCFB. Therefore, the Applicant has evaluated the activity of brensocatib in a lipopolysaccharide (LPS)-induced acute lung injury model.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 36Source ↗
Why that model
No in vivo animal model of bronchiectasis available
“There is no in vivo animal model of bronchiectasis that provides direct evidence of the non-clinical efficacy of brensocatib.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: in vitro and in vivo pharmacology sufficient to characterize activity and support clinical trials in NCFB
“The totality of in vitro and in vivo pharmacology data submitted was considered sufficient to characterize the pharmacologic activity of brensocatib and supported the initiation of human clinical trials for the indication of NCFB.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 36Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Juvenile toxAccepted
No juvenile animal studies; adolescent rat and dog repeat-dose studies used to support patients aged 12 years and older
Why: Animals of both species entered puberty at the start of the studies (ICH S11) · Within the guideline
“Studies in juvenile animals were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗
“These studies are considered appropriate to support dosing of brensocatib in patients ≥12 years of age as the animals of both species entered puberty at the start of the studies (ICH, S11).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗
Impurity or metaboliteCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Nitrosamine impurity follow-up mammalian mutation assay run without hamster S9 and without nitrosamine positive controls
Why: Weight of evidence indicates low mutagenic potential, supported by NSOEG · Weight of evidence
“Unfortunately, it was not performed with hamster S9 mix, at least at low concentrations as it is known to be cytotoxic for many cell cultures. In addition, no nitrosamine positive controls were included in the study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 48Source ↗
“Overall, the weight of evidence indicates a low mutagenic potential of the nitroso impurity and is also supported by NSOEG.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 58Source ↗

Similar precedents