Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Raxibacumab

raxibacumab
monoclonal antibodyB. anthracis protective antigenFully human IgG1-lambda anti-anthrax protective antigen monoclonal antibodyInhalational anthrax, with antibacterial drugs
Species
MonkeyRabbit
Longest study
3 wk
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Partial / alternative Partial / alternative
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Healthy rabbit and cynomolgus monkey
“Drug safety assessed in human volunteers and in a battery of nonclinical studies in healthy rabbits and non-human primates showed no evidence of toxicity at the maximum proposed, single therapeutic dose of intravenous raxibacumab to be administered to human adults of 40 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Why that species
Target is a bacterial toxin; rabbit and cynomolgus macaque are the inhalation anthrax efficacy models
“several drug efficacy studies of raxibacumab with and without antibiotic in inhalation anthrax animal models (NZW rabbit and cynomolgus macaque)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical antibody was tested in cynomolgus monkeys and rabbits
“Healthy cynomolgus macaques administered 3 intravenous doses or 3 subcutaneous doses of 40 mg/kg raxibacumab once every 12 days”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Species: general tox
Healthy rabbit and non-human primate
“Drug safety assessed in human volunteers and in a battery of nonclinical studies in healthy rabbits and non-human primates showed no evidence of toxicity at the maximum proposed, single therapeutic dose of intravenous raxibacumab to be administered to human adults of 40 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Species: DART
New Zealand White rabbit (embryo-fetal development only)
“A single embryonic-fetal development study was conducted in pregnant, healthy New Zealand White rabbits administered two intravenous doses of raxibacumab up to 120 mg/kg (three times the human dose on a mg/kg basis) on gestation days 7 and 14.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used; raxibacumab itself tested in healthy cynomolgus macaques
“Healthy cynomolgus macaques administered 3 intravenous doses or 3 subcutaneous doses of 40 mg/kg raxibacumab once every 12 days, or a single intramuscular dose (40 mg/kg) of raxibacumab, showed no adverse effects, including no effects up to 120 days post-dosing.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
3 weeks
“Healthy cynomolgus macaques administered 3 intravenous doses or 3 subcutaneous doses of 40 mg/kg raxibacumab once every 12 days”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Healthy cynomolgus monkey: 3 IV or SC doses of 40 mg/kg every 12 days, or single IM dose; 120-day follow-up
“Healthy cynomolgus macaques administered 3 intravenous doses or 3 subcutaneous doses of 40 mg/kg raxibacumab once every 12 days, or a single intramuscular dose (40 mg/kg) of raxibacumab, showed no adverse effects, including no effects up to 120 days post-dosing.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Route in tox
IV, SC and IM (monkey); IV (rabbit)
“Healthy cynomolgus macaques administered 3 intravenous doses or 3 subcutaneous doses of 40 mg/kg raxibacumab once every 12 days, or a single intramuscular dose (40 mg/kg) of raxibacumab”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
No fertility studies; rabbit EFD (IV up to 120 mg/kg, GD 7 and 14): no harm to dams or fetuses
“A single embryonic-fetal development study was conducted in pregnant, healthy New Zealand White rabbits administered two intravenous doses of raxibacumab up to 120 mg/kg (three times the human dose on a mg/kg basis) on gestation days 7 and 14. No evidence of harm to the pregnant dam or the fetuses due to raxibacumab was observed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: no additional nonclinical studies recommended
“No additional nonclinical studies are recommended.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Raxibacumab don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Greater CNS lesion severity (bacteria, inflammation, hemorrhage) in anthrax-infected non-survivors given 40 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Greater CNS lesion severity (bacteria, inflammation, hemorrhage) in anthrax-infected non-survivors given 40 mg/kg
“Anthrax infected rabbits and monkeys administered an intravenous injection of raxibacumab (40 mg/kg) at time of PA toxemia reproducibly showed greater severity of CNS lesions (bacteria, inflammation, hemorrhage, and necrosis) in non-surviving animals compared to dead placebo control animals”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
No brain tissue cross-reactivity (rabbit, monkey, human); enters CNS only after blood-brain barrier compromise
“Studies with raxibacumab in rabbit, cynomolgus macaque, and human donor tissues showed no cross reactivity with brain.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Modality-specific risk
Exaggerated CNS inflammation and hemorrhage in infected non-survivors after blood-brain barrier compromise
“The raxibacumab monoclonal antibody appears unable to penetrate the CNS until compromise of the blood brain barrier (BBB) during the later stages of anthrax infection.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
ADA in most treated rabbits; increased raxibacumab clearance in survivors after 7 days, without impact on efficacy
“Anti-drug antibodies to raxibacumab were detected in a majority of animals after raxibacumab treatment in both studies; pre-existing antibodies to raxibacumab were detected in only a few animals. Increased clearance of raxibacumab detected in survivors > 7 days post challenge likely resulted from binding to anti-drug antibodies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 46Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
No anti-raxibacumab antibodies detected in any treated subjects
“Immunogenic responses against raxibacumab were not detected in any raxibacumab-treated human subjects following single or repeat doses of raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Label warnings
Boxed warning: HYPERSENSITIVITY and ANAPHYLAXIS
  • Hypersensitivity and Anaphylaxis
Hypersensitivity & infusion reactions
US prescribing information, Boxed Warning and Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Raxibacumab don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Greater CNS lesion severity (bacteria, inflammation, hemorrhage) in anthrax-infected non-survivors given 40 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Healthy cynomolgus monkey: 3 IV or SC doses every 12 days, followed up to 120 days post-dosing
“Healthy cynomolgus macaques administered 3 intravenous doses or 3 subcutaneous doses of 40 mg/kg raxibacumab once every 12 days, or a single intramuscular dose (40 mg/kg) of raxibacumab, showed no adverse effects, including no effects up to 120 days post-dosing.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Healthy cynomolgus monkey: 3 IV or SC doses of 40 mg/kg every 12 days, or single IM dose; 120-day follow-up
“Healthy cynomolgus macaques administered 3 intravenous doses or 3 subcutaneous doses of 40 mg/kg raxibacumab once every 12 days, or a single intramuscular dose (40 mg/kg) of raxibacumab, showed no adverse effects, including no effects up to 120 days post-dosing.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

DART package

Species: DART
New Zealand White rabbit (embryo-fetal development only)
“A single embryonic-fetal development study was conducted in pregnant, healthy New Zealand White rabbits administered two intravenous doses of raxibacumab up to 120 mg/kg (three times the human dose on a mg/kg basis) on gestation days 7 and 14.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
No fertility studies; rabbit EFD (IV up to 120 mg/kg, GD 7 and 14): no harm to dams or fetuses
“A single embryonic-fetal development study was conducted in pregnant, healthy New Zealand White rabbits administered two intravenous doses of raxibacumab up to 120 mg/kg (three times the human dose on a mg/kg basis) on gestation days 7 and 14. No evidence of harm to the pregnant dam or the fetuses due to raxibacumab was observed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART limited to a single rabbit embryo-fetal development study
“A single embryonic-fetal development study was conducted in pregnant, healthy New Zealand White rabbits administered two intravenous doses of raxibacumab up to 120 mg/kg (three times the human dose on a mg/kg basis) on gestation days 7 and 14.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, and fertility studies have not been conducted with raxibacumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: no additional nonclinical studies recommended
“No additional nonclinical studies are recommended.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Rabbit EFD at 120 mg/kg (no harm): Cmax more than 3 and 4 times mean human Cmax
“Cmax values in rabbits after dosing with 120 mg/kg were 3629 mcg/mL and 4337 mcg/mL after the first and second dose of raxibacumab respectively; these are more than 3 and 4 times the mean Cmax values in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Greater CNS lesion severity (bacteria, inflammation, hemorrhage) in anthrax-infected non-survivors given 40 mg/kg
“Anthrax infected rabbits and monkeys administered an intravenous injection of raxibacumab (40 mg/kg) at time of PA toxemia reproducibly showed greater severity of CNS lesions (bacteria, inflammation, hemorrhage, and necrosis) in non-surviving animals compared to dead placebo control animals”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Inhalational anthrax spore challenge in rabbits and non-human primates, alone and with antibiotics
“HGS submitted the BLA for Raxibacumab to the FDA on May 14, 2009, containing efficacy studies of raxibacumab alone and in combination with antibiotic treatment against inhalational anthrax in both rabbits and non-human primates.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 44Source ↗
Why that model
Licensed under the Animal Rule: efficacy established in animal models of inhalational anthrax
“Raxibacumab is the first monoclonal antibody antitoxin against anthrax to seek licensure under Animal Rule (21 CFR 601, Subpart H, 2002).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 44Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: positive rabbit and NHP placebo-controlled trials plus safety data justify use in inhalation anthrax
“When combined with safety data in healthy animals and human volunteers, as well as with positive results from previously conducted placebo trials with raxibacumab in rabbits and non-human primates, the complementary mechanism of action to the antibiotic appears to justify its use in patients diagnosed with inhalation anthrax disease.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 43Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Efficacy modelAccepted
Efficacy established in rabbit and monkey inhalational anthrax models under the Animal Rule instead of human efficacy trials
Why: Positive placebo-controlled rabbit and non-human primate trials plus safety in healthy animals and volunteers · Within the guideline · Serious disease
“Raxibacumab is the first monoclonal antibody antitoxin against anthrax to seek licensure under Animal Rule (21 CFR 601, Subpart H, 2002).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 44Source ↗
“When combined with safety data in healthy animals and human volunteers, as well as with positive results from previously conducted placebo trials with raxibacumab in rabbits and non-human primates, the complementary mechanism of action to the antibiotic appears to justify its use in patients diagnosed with inhalation anthrax disease.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 43Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
Reproductive toxicity limited to a single rabbit embryo-fetal development study with two IV doses
“A single embryonic-fetal development study was conducted in pregnant, healthy New Zealand White rabbits administered two intravenous doses of raxibacumab up to 120 mg/kg (three times the human dose on a mg/kg basis) on gestation days 7 and 14.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Similar precedents