Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Sephience

sepiapterin
small moleculeTetrahydrobiopterin precursorOral small-molecule BH4 precursor (PAH cofactor)Phenylketonuria (hyperphenylalaninemia)
Species
MonkeyRat
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and marmoset monkey
“repeated dose toxicity studies in rats (up to 6 months) and marmosets (up to 9 months)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 154Source ↗
Why that species
Similar PK and metabolic profiles to humans
“Rats and marmoset monkeys were selected as the primary species for toxicology studies based on similarities in their PK and metabolic profiles to humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“In the 26-week in rats, sepiapterin was tested at 30, 100 and 200 mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat (up to 6 months) and marmoset monkey (up to 9 months)
“(4) repeated dose toxicity studies in rats (up to 6 months) and marmosets (up to 9 months)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 154Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat (fertility, EFD, pre/postnatal, juvenile) and rabbit (EFD)
“Reproductive toxicity comprised studies on fertility and early embryonic development (rat), embryo-foetal development (rat and rabbit), pre- post-natal development (rat) and juvenile animal studies (rat).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mouse, 26-week
“In the submitted 26-week transgenic mouse carcinogenicity, a group of Tg.rasH2 mice administered sepiapterin doses of 0 (Water Control)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used; rats and marmosets chosen for human-like PK and metabolism
“Rats and marmoset monkeys were selected as the primary species for toxicology studies based on similarities in their PK and metabolic profiles to humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 (39-week marmoset)
“A 39-week study was performed in marmoset monkeys with a 4-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP rat 2-, 13- and 26-week and marmoset 2-, 13- and 39-week studies
“The GLP-compliant studies in rats comprised studies with 2- 13- and 26-weeks of treatment followed by, respectively, 2- , 4- and 4- weeks recovery periods. The studies in marmoset monkeys had treatment durations of 2- 13- and 39-weeks”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral gavage
“All studies were conducted with administration of sepiapterin once a day by oral gavage”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not genotoxic overall: Ames negative; in vitro chromosome aberration positive without (not with) metabolic activation; rat micronucleus and comet negative
“Based on the weight of evidence, SEPHIENCE is not genotoxic. SEPHIENCE was negative in the Ames assay. SEPHIENCE was positive in an in vitro chromosomal aberration assay without metabolic activation but not with metabolic activation. SEPHIENCE was negative in the in vivo (micronucleus and comet) assays in rats.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity
6-month transgenic mouse study negative; 2-year bioassay not submitted
“The 2-year carcinogenicity bioassay was not included in this submission. Even though there was a negative finding in the 6-month transgenic mouse carcinogenicity study”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 154Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: no maternal or embryo-fetal toxicity up to 1000 mg/kg/day (~9-fold MRHD exposure)
“There were no maternal or embryo-fetal developmental toxicities noted at doses up to 1000 mg/kg/day, which was the NOAEL of the study; the AUC0-24 at this dose is approximately 9-fold the exposure at the MRHD (Table 53).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 146Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No adverse effects; no cardiovascular effects in marmosets up to 1000 mg/kg/day
“In vivo studies in male and female marmoset monkeys showed no cardiovascular effects at doses up to 1000 mg/kg/day. Overall, no sepiapterin-related adverse effects were observed in these safety pharmacology studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“CNSA-001 (sepiapterin) was not mutagenic in the Ames test, the in vivo micronucleus (MN), and Comet assays in rats (Table 61).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 174Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Positive in vitro chromosome aberration test without S9 (3 h and 20 h)
“However, CNSA-001 showed a positive response in vitro chromosome aberration test at 3hr and 20hr treatment without S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 174Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Negative rat in vivo micronucleus and Comet assays
“CNSA-001 (sepiapterin) was not mutagenic in the Ames test, the in vivo micronucleus (MN), and Comet assays in rats (Table 61).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 174Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
26-week Tg mouse study: no carcinogenic effect at any dose
“Sepiapterin was administrated for 26 weeks in Tg mice at dose of 30, 100 and 300 mg/kg/day in males and 100, 300 and 1000 mg/kg/day in females. No carcinogenic effect related to sepiapterin administration was observed at any dose level in males or females in this study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse completed; 2-year rat study required after approval (PMR)
“Therefore, a postmarketing requirement for a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rats to evaluate the carcinogenicity risk is warranted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 139Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG effect at 30 µM, 2978× the free Cmax at 60 mg/kg/day
“Sepiapterin had no discernible effects at the highest tested concentration of 30 µM (or approximately 7117 ng/mL, which is 2978× the mean sepiapterin free Cmax of 2.39 ng/mL at the highest targeted therapeutic dose of 60 mg/kg/day)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Sephience don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 26-week rat NOAEL 30 mg/kg/day (1.5-fold human exposure); adverse kidney findings at 100 and 200 mg/kg/day (FDA integrated review, p. 101)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
26-week rat NOAEL 30 mg/kg/day (1.5-fold human exposure); adverse kidney findings at 100 and 200 mg/kg/day
“Based on the adverse kidney findings noted at 100 and 200 mg/kg/day in both sexes, the no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) was determined to be 30 mg/kg/day (1.5-fold the human exposure at the maximum recommended human dose)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 101Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No immune-system effects in repeat-dose studies; no immunotoxicity studies
“No immunotoxicity assessments were performed as no sepiapterin-related effects on the immune system were observed in repeat-dose mammalian toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 48Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Low, non-retained distribution to melanin-containing tissues (meninges, uveal tract); no melanin association
“Distribution of radioactivity to certain melanin-containing tissues, such as the meninges and uveal tract was low and there was no extended retention, indicating that [14C]-sepiapterin-derived radioactivity was most likely not associating with melanin in these tissues.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Dose-related reversible and non-reversible kidney toxicity in rat repeat-dose studies
“Dose-related reversible and non-reversible kidney toxicities were the main clinically relevant nonclinical safety signal identified from the rat repeat dose toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 100Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Label warnings
  • Increased Bleeding
  • Hypophenylalaninemia
  • Interaction with Levodopa
Bleeding
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Sephience don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 26-week rat NOAEL 30 mg/kg/day (1.5-fold human exposure); adverse kidney findings at 100 and 200 mg/kg/day (FDA integrated review, p. 101)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week marmoset monkey (oral) with 4-week recovery
“A 39-week study was performed in marmoset monkeys with a 4-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP rat 2-, 13- and 26-week and marmoset 2-, 13- and 39-week studies
“The GLP-compliant studies in rats comprised studies with 2- 13- and 26-weeks of treatment followed by, respectively, 2- , 4- and 4- weeks recovery periods. The studies in marmoset monkeys had treatment durations of 2- 13- and 39-weeks”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (fertility, EFD, pre/postnatal, juvenile) and rabbit (EFD)
“Reproductive toxicity comprised studies on fertility and early embryonic development (rat), embryo-foetal development (rat and rabbit), pre- post-natal development (rat) and juvenile animal studies (rat).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: no maternal or embryo-fetal toxicity up to 1000 mg/kg/day (~9-fold MRHD exposure)
“There were no maternal or embryo-fetal developmental toxicities noted at doses up to 1000 mg/kg/day, which was the NOAEL of the study; the AUC0-24 at this dose is approximately 9-fold the exposure at the MRHD (Table 53).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 146Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat PPND completed for the marketing application after FDA refused a waiver
“The Agency provided a response on January 30, 2023, conveying their disagreement with the request and stating that a pre- and post-natal developmental study to assess postnatal effects following in utero and lactational exposure would be needed to support a marketing application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 152Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mouse, 26-week
“In the submitted 26-week transgenic mouse carcinogenicity, a group of Tg.rasH2 mice administered sepiapterin doses of 0 (Water Control)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
26-week Tg mouse study: no carcinogenic effect at any dose
“Sepiapterin was administrated for 26 weeks in Tg mice at dose of 30, 100 and 300 mg/kg/day in males and 100, 300 and 1000 mg/kg/day in females. No carcinogenic effect related to sepiapterin administration was observed at any dose level in males or females in this study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse completed; 2-year rat study required after approval (PMR)
“Therefore, a postmarketing requirement for a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rats to evaluate the carcinogenicity risk is warranted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 139Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
26-week rat NOAEL 30 mg/kg/day, 1.5-fold human exposure at MRHD (kidney findings above)
“Based on the adverse kidney findings noted at 100 and 200 mg/kg/day in both sexes, the no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) was determined to be 30 mg/kg/day (1.5-fold the human exposure at the maximum recommended human dose)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 101Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
26-week rat NOAEL 30 mg/kg/day (1.5-fold human exposure); adverse kidney findings at 100 and 200 mg/kg/day
“Based on the adverse kidney findings noted at 100 and 200 mg/kg/day in both sexes, the no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) was determined to be 30 mg/kg/day (1.5-fold the human exposure at the maximum recommended human dose)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 101Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Pah-R261Q PKU mouse (single dose) plus COS-7 cells expressing PAH variants
“The potential effectiveness of sepiapterin was evaluated in three in vitro studies using COS-7 cells expressing different PAH protein variants and an in vivo single dose non-GLP study with a Pah-R261Q mouse model of human PKU disease.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 38Source ↗
Why that model
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: studies have limitations; in vitro non-GLP data insufficient to define the dual mechanism
“These studies have limitations in supporting sepiapterin effectiveness and mechanism of action. The in vitro non-GLP studies are not sufficient to clearly define a dual mechanism for sepiapterin.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 39Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No 2-year rat carcinogenicity study before approval; weight-of-evidence waiver refused and study deferred to a postmarketing requirement
Why: PKU causes significant morbidity with high unmet medical need, so the 2-year study is a postmarketing requirement rather than pre-approval · Rare disease / unmet need · Serious disease
“PTC also requested a carcinogenicity waiver on March 20, 2023. Following a review of PTC’s weight of evidence document which was proposed in lieu of conducting a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study, the Agency informed PTC on June 2, 2023, that the neoplastic and preneoplastic findings observed with sepiapterin in rats necessitated a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 152Source ↗
“Because PKU causes significant morbidity, and patients with PKU face substantial health complications, which leads to care and social burden and the high unmet medical need, the 2-year carcinogenicity study will not be required prior to approval but will be a post-marketing requirement study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 154Source ↗

Similar precedents