Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Xocova

ensitrelvir
small moleculeSARS-CoV-2 3CL proteaseOral small-molecule SARS-CoV-2 3CL protease inhibitorPost-exposure prophylaxis of COVID-19
Species
MonkeyRat
Longest study
4 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and cynomolgus monkey
“Evaluation of the safety of S-217622 (ensitrelvir) fumaric acid, included safety pharmacology in rats and dogs, repeat-dose oral toxicity studies in rats and monkeys (2- and 4-week), genotoxicity studies, reproductive and developmental toxicity studies in rats and rabbits, and other mechanistic studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“In a 4-week oral repeat-dose toxicology study in cynomolgus monkeys, ensitrelvir was administered at 0, 3, 10 or 30 mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat and cynomolgus monkey (oral, 2- and 4-week)
“Evaluation of the safety of S-217622 (ensitrelvir) fumaric acid, included safety pharmacology in rats and dogs, repeat-dose oral toxicity studies in rats and monkeys (2- and 4-week)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat (fertility, EFD, pre/postnatal, juvenile) and rabbit (EFD)
“Additionally, significant safety concerns were identified in the embryo-fetal development, pre- and post-natal development and juvenile toxicology studies in rabbits and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (short treatment duration)
“Carcinogenesis studies were not conducted due to the short duration of drug administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used
“In a 4-week oral repeat-dose toxicology study in cynomolgus monkeys, ensitrelvir was administered at 0, 3, 10 or 30 mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
4 (4-week rat and monkey)
“In a 4-week oral repeat-dose toxicology study in cynomolgus monkeys, ensitrelvir was administered at 0, 3, 10 or 30 mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
2- and 4-week oral studies in rats and cynomolgus monkeys
“Evaluation of the safety of S-217622 (ensitrelvir) fumaric acid, included safety pharmacology in rats and dogs, repeat-dose oral toxicity studies in rats and monkeys (2- and 4-week), genotoxicity studies, reproductive and developmental toxicity studies in rats and rabbits, and other mechanistic studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral
“In a 4-week oral repeat-dose toxicology study in cynomolgus monkeys, ensitrelvir was administered at 0, 3, 10 or 30 mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro TK6 micronucleus and in vivo rat micronucleus assays
“Ensitrelvir was not genotoxic in the reverse mutation bacterial (Ames) test, in vitro micronucleus assay using human lymphoblastoid TK6 cells, or the in vivo rat micronucleus assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (short treatment duration)
“Carcinogenesis studies were not conducted due to the short duration of drug administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rabbit EFD: axial skeletal malformations, embryofetal lethality and abortion with maternal toxicity (NOAEL 30 mg/kg/day, 3x)
“In rabbits, malformations and variations of the axial skeleton, embryofetal lethality, abortion, and post-implantation loss, accompanied by maternal toxicity were observed, with a NOAEL of 30 mg/kg/day and a safety margin of 3X.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No adverse CV, respiratory or CNS effects; hERG 39% inhibition at 100 µM, low QT risk
“There were no adverse effects in any of the cardiovascular, respiratory, and central nervous system assessments in dogs and rats. In the hERG assay, the maximum tested concentration of 100 µmol/L inhibited the hERG current by 39%, which was not considered significant and suggested a low risk for QT prolongation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“Ensitrelvir was not genotoxic in the reverse mutation bacterial (Ames) test, in vitro micronucleus assay using human lymphoblastoid TK6 cells, or the in vivo rat micronucleus assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
In vitro micronucleus (human TK6 cells): negative
“Ensitrelvir was not genotoxic in the reverse mutation bacterial (Ames) test, in vitro micronucleus assay using human lymphoblastoid TK6 cells, or the in vivo rat micronucleus assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Rat micronucleus: negative
“Ensitrelvir was not genotoxic in the reverse mutation bacterial (Ames) test, in vitro micronucleus assay using human lymphoblastoid TK6 cells, or the in vivo rat micronucleus assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (five-day human dosing)
“conducted due to the short duration (five days) of drug administration in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: short treatment duration
“Carcinogenesis studies were not conducted due to the short duration of drug administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
hERG / QT
39% hERG inhibition at 100 µM (highest tested); low QT risk
“In the hERG assay, the maximum tested concentration of 100 µmol/L inhibited the hERG current by 39%, which was not considered significant and suggested a low risk for QT prolongation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Xocova don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 4-week monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/day; reduced food intake, weight loss, clinical pathology and multi-organ histopathology at 30 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
4-week monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/day; reduced food intake, weight loss, clinical pathology and multi-organ histopathology at 30 mg/kg
“The NOAEL was 10 mg/kg/day based on adverse findings at 30 mg/kg, including decreased food consumption and body weight loss in females, changes in clinical pathology parameters, along with extensive histopathological changes in several organs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
20-40% decreases in T- and B-cell populations in 4-week monkey study
“Immunophenotyping revealed 20-40% decreases in various T-cell and B-cell populations (males and females).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Highly protein-bound; highest tissue levels in liver; minimal CNS penetration (rat)
“Ensitrelvir was highly protein-bound (97.4% to >98.9%) across all species, predominantly to albumin, with highest tissue concentrations in the liver and minimal CNS penetration (rat distribution study), with excretion occurring primarily through feces and urine.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Embryofetal, pre/postnatal and juvenile toxicity in rats and rabbits
“Additionally, significant safety concerns were identified in the embryo-fetal development, pre- and post-natal development and juvenile toxicology studies in rabbits and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Label warnings
  • Embryofetal Toxicity
  • Risk of Serious Adverse Reactions Due to Drug Interactions
  • Hypersensitivity Reactions Including Anaphylaxis
Embryo-fetal toxicityHypersensitivity & infusion reactions
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Xocova don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 4-week monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/day; reduced food intake, weight loss, clinical pathology and multi-organ histopathology at 30 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
4-week oral cynomolgus monkey study with 4-week recovery; a 4-week rat study with recovery ties
“Duration of study: 4 weeks plus 4-week recovery (control and high dose only)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
2- and 4-week oral studies in rats and cynomolgus monkeys
“Evaluation of the safety of S-217622 (ensitrelvir) fumaric acid, included safety pharmacology in rats and dogs, repeat-dose oral toxicity studies in rats and monkeys (2- and 4-week), genotoxicity studies, reproductive and developmental toxicity studies in rats and rabbits, and other mechanistic studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (fertility, EFD, pre/postnatal, juvenile) and rabbit (EFD)
“Additionally, significant safety concerns were identified in the embryo-fetal development, pre- and post-natal development and juvenile toxicology studies in rabbits and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rabbit EFD: axial skeletal malformations, embryofetal lethality and abortion with maternal toxicity (NOAEL 30 mg/kg/day, 3x)
“In rabbits, malformations and variations of the axial skeleton, embryofetal lethality, abortion, and post-implantation loss, accompanied by maternal toxicity were observed, with a NOAEL of 30 mg/kg/day and a safety margin of 3X.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in rat (oral) completed before the marketing application
“In a pre-and post-natal development study, ensitrelvir was administered to pregnant rats at oral doses of 20, 60 or 1000 mg/kg/day from GD 6 to post-natal day (PND) 20.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 15Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (short treatment duration)
“Carcinogenesis studies were not conducted due to the short duration of drug administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (five-day human dosing)
“conducted due to the short duration (five days) of drug administration in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: short treatment duration
“Carcinogenesis studies were not conducted due to the short duration of drug administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/day: 3x (shorter study) and 4x (4-week study) human exposure
“The no observable adverse effect level (NOAEL) was established at 10 mg/kg/day in both monkey studies and the safety margin was 3X and 4X, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
4-week monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/day; reduced food intake, weight loss, clinical pathology and multi-organ histopathology at 30 mg/kg
“The NOAEL was 10 mg/kg/day based on adverse findings at 30 mg/kg, including decreased food consumption and body weight loss in females, changes in clinical pathology parameters, along with extensive histopathological changes in several organs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Why that model
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Impurity or metaboliteCriticised but accepted
Eight drug-substance impurities with carcinogenic concern classified as ICH M7 Class 5 on lack of mutagenicity
Why: Sponsor cited ICH M7 and its Q&A; FDA read the guideline differently but agreed with the assessment · Within the guideline
“The Sponsor stated that for the 8 impurities in question, “in accordance with the ICH M7 guideline and its Q&A, substances that have sufficient data demonstrating lack of mutagenicity are classified as Class 5, even if the substances have potential for non-mutagenic carcinogenicity.””
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 57Source ↗
“We agreed with the Sponsor’s assessment and no further follow up is planned.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 57Source ↗

Similar precedents