Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Zulresso

brexanolone
small moleculeGABA-A receptor (positive modulator)IV-infused neuroactive steroid GABA-A receptor positive modulatorPostpartum depression (60-hour continuous IV infusion)
Species
RatDog
Longest study
4 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“General toxicology studies with up to 28-days of continuous IV administration in two species (rat and dog) were conducted to support acute use of brexanolone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“Sedative anesthesia was observed rapidly after single bolus IV doses of brexanolone in rats and dogs at 0.75- and 2-times, respectively, the MRHD based on body surface area, which were the lowest doses tested.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat and dog
“General toxicology studies with up to 28-days of continuous IV administration in two species (rat and dog) were conducted to support acute use of brexanolone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat and rabbit
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity was observed with brexanolone administration in rats and rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (short-term treatment, 2.5 days)
“Because brexanolone use for PPD is considered a short-term treatment (2.5 days), carcinogenicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used
“Sedative anesthesia was observed rapidly after single bolus IV doses of brexanolone in rats and dogs at 0.75- and 2-times, respectively, the MRHD based on body surface area, which were the lowest doses tested.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
4 weeks
“General toxicology studies with up to 28-days of continuous IV administration in two species (rat and dog) were conducted to support acute use of brexanolone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
28-day continuous IV infusion studies in rat and dog
“General toxicology studies with up to 28-days of continuous IV administration in two species (rat and dog) were conducted to support acute use of brexanolone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗
Route in tox
Continuous intravenous infusion
“General toxicology studies with up to 28-days of continuous IV administration in two species (rat and dog) were conducted to support acute use of brexanolone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro human lymphocyte micronucleus and in vivo rat bone marrow micronucleus assays
“Brexanolone was not genotoxic when tested in an in vitro microbial mutagenicity (Ames) assay, an in vitro micronucleus assay in human peripheral blood lymphocytes, and an in vivo rat bone marrow micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (acute treatment of PPD)
“Brexanolone was not assessed for carcinogenicity because the treatment of PPD with brexanolone infusion is considered acute.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat and rabbit EFD: no malformations up to 5-6x MRHD; developmental toxicity at 5x (rat) and >=3x (rabbit)
“In animal reproduction studies, malformations were not seen in rats or rabbits at plasma levels up to 5 and 6 times the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD), respectively. Developmental toxicities were seen in the fetuses of rats and rabbits at 5 and ≥3 times the plasma levels at the MRHD, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Safety pharmacology
CNS (rat FOB) and cardiovascular/respiratory (dog) endpoints embedded in 14-day toxicology studies
“CNS safety pharmacology was evaluated as part of the 14-day rat toxicology study using a Functional Observation Battery (FOB). Cardiovascular and respiratory safety pharmacology was evaluated as part of the 14-day dog toxicology study”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (Ames)
“SAGE-547 was negative for mutagenicity in bacterial cells in a valid Ames test.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 53Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
In vitro human lymphocyte micronucleus: negative
“SAGE-547 was negative for clastogenicity in human lymphocytes in a valid in vitro micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 53Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Rat bone marrow micronucleus: negative at 34x clinical exposure
“SAGE-547 was not clastogenic in a valid in vivo micronucleus assay at plasma concentrations 34-times clinical exposure.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (short-term treatment, 2.5 days)
“Because brexanolone use for PPD is considered a short-term treatment (2.5 days), carcinogenicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; acute treatment of postpartum depression
“Brexanolone was not assessed for carcinogenicity because the treatment of PPD with brexanolone infusion is considered acute.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗
hERG / QT
hERG IC50 >6.6 µM (solubility-limited), >28x clinical exposure at MRHD
“IC50 > 6.6 µM (SAGE-547 insoluble in assay vehicle at higher concentrations), which is greater than 28-times the clinical exposures at the MRHD.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Zulresso don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rat IV infusion NOAEL 60 mg/kg/day (5x human exposure at MRHD) (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 46)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Rat IV infusion NOAEL 60 mg/kg/day (5x human exposure at MRHD)
“NOAEL is 60 mg/kg/day based on the absence of adverse effects at this dose, which is 5- times the human exposure”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No dermal irritation, skin sensitization or hemolytic potential
“In addition, brexanolone showed no sign of dermal irritation, skin sensitization, or hemolytic potential.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
CNS tissue radioactivity above blood levels; low levels in testis
“Radioactivity concentrations were observed in CNS tissues at higher than blood concentrations and in testis at low levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Post-infusion convulsions in dogs, possibly from abrupt discontinuation of GABA-A modulation
“It is possible that the convulsions could be due to the rapid discontinuation of brexanolone, which is consistent with modulation of the GABAA receptor”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not applicable
“Immunogenicity Not applicable to this application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 149Source ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Zulresso don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rat IV infusion NOAEL 60 mg/kg/day (5x human exposure at MRHD) (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 46)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
28-day continuous IV infusion studies in rat and beagle dog, each with 28-day recovery
“A 28-Day Study of SAGE-547 by Intravenous Infusion in Beagle Dogs with a 28-Day Recovery Period”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 48Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
28-day continuous IV infusion studies in rat and dog
“General toxicology studies with up to 28-days of continuous IV administration in two species (rat and dog) were conducted to support acute use of brexanolone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat and rabbit
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity was observed with brexanolone administration in rats and rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat and rabbit EFD: no malformations up to 5-6x MRHD; developmental toxicity at 5x (rat) and >=3x (rabbit)
“In animal reproduction studies, malformations were not seen in rats or rabbits at plasma levels up to 5 and 6 times the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD), respectively. Developmental toxicities were seen in the fetuses of rats and rabbits at 5 and ≥3 times the plasma levels at the MRHD, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat PPND (continuous IV infusion) completed and reviewed with the marketing application
“A Continuous Intravenous Infusion Pre and Postnatal Study of SAGE-547 in the Rat”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 209Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (short-term treatment, 2.5 days)
“Because brexanolone use for PPD is considered a short-term treatment (2.5 days), carcinogenicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (short-term treatment, 2.5 days)
“Because brexanolone use for PPD is considered a short-term treatment (2.5 days), carcinogenicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 54Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; acute treatment of postpartum depression
“Brexanolone was not assessed for carcinogenicity because the treatment of PPD with brexanolone infusion is considered acute.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Rat NOAEL 60 mg/kg/day ~5x human AUC at MRHD (90 µg/kg/h)
“NOAEL is 60 mg/kg/day based on the absence of adverse effects at this dose, which is 5- times the human exposure (AUC24h = 1800 ng.h/mL; Css = 74.3 ng/mL) at the MRHD of 90 μg/kg/h.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Rat IV infusion NOAEL 60 mg/kg/day (5x human exposure at MRHD)
“NOAEL is 60 mg/kg/day based on the absence of adverse effects at this dose, which is 5- times the human exposure”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Behavioral depressant effects (sedation, muscle relaxation, decreased locomotion) in rats, dogs and mice; no PPD model
“In general animal behavioral studies, brexanolone produces dose-dependent depressant effects such as sedation and muscle relaxation in rats and dogs and decreased locomotion in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 161Source ↗
Why that model
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
CarcinogenicityVerdict not stated
No carcinogenicity studies
Why: Treatment of postpartum depression by infusion is acute · Within the guideline
“Brexanolone was not assessed for carcinogenicity because the treatment of PPD with brexanolone infusion is considered acute.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗
Juvenile toxAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Developmental neurotoxicity (apoptotic neurodegeneration) of GABAergic drugs not studied with brexanolone; animal study required post-marketing
Why: Unclear threshold for apoptotic neurodegeneration; post-marketing animal study to inform labeling
“Although allopregnanolone is an endogenous neuroactive steroid, it is not clear if there is a threshold effect above which increased apoptotic neurodegeneration would occur.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
“Additionally, a postmarketing requirement (PMR) to conduct an animal study to determine if these effects will be observed with brexanolone to allow for appropriate labeling and to reflect any risks to patients has been requested and accepted by the Applicant.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗

Similar precedents