Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Zycubo

copper histidinate
small moleculeCopper replacement (Menkes disease)Subcutaneous copper histidinate complex for copper replacementMenkes disease in pediatric patients
Species
Rat
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Not conducted Not conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Juvenile rat only
“A 13-week juvenile animal study in rats was conducted to evaluate the safety of CuHis and support administration of the product in a pediatric population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 120Source ↗
Why that species
Juvenile rats used to support administration in a pediatric population
“A 13-week juvenile animal study in rats was conducted to evaluate the safety of CuHis and support administration of the product in a pediatric population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 120Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“Juvenile rats with normal baseline copper levels were administered CuHis in a 13-week subcutaneous toxicity and toxicokinetic study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 80Source ↗
Species: general tox
Juvenile rat only (13-week)
“A 13-week juvenile animal study in rats was conducted to evaluate the safety of CuHis and support administration of the product in a pediatric population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 120Source ↗
Species: DART
Not conducted (Menkes disease affects predominantly male infants)
“DART studies, including FEED, EFD, and PPND studies to evaluate the reproductive toxicity potential of CuHis in patients with MD can be waived as MD manifests predominantly in male infants.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (limited life expectancy in Menkes disease)
“Rodent carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with CuHis. The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used
“Juvenile rats with normal baseline copper levels were administered CuHis in a 13-week subcutaneous toxicity and toxicokinetic study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 80Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 (13-week juvenile rat)
“Juvenile rats with normal baseline copper levels were administered CuHis in a 13-week subcutaneous toxicity and toxicokinetic study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 80Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
13-week subcutaneous juvenile rat study; no chronic rodent or nonrodent studies
“Repeat-dose chronic toxicity studies in rodents and nonrodents have not been conducted with CuHis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗
Route in tox
Subcutaneous
“Juvenile rats with normal baseline copper levels were administered CuHis in a 13-week subcutaneous toxicity and toxicokinetic study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 80Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro TK6 micronucleus and rat bone marrow micronucleus assays
“ZYCUBO was not mutagenic or clastogenic in a standard battery of genotoxicity tests [bacterial mutagenicity (Ames), micronucleus assay in TK6 cells (in vitro) , and rat bone marrow micronucleus assay (in vivo)] .”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (limited life expectancy in Menkes disease, ICH S1A waiver)
“Rodent carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with CuHis. The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; DART studies waived as Menkes disease affects predominantly male infants
“DART studies, including FEED, EFD, and PPND studies to evaluate the reproductive toxicity potential of CuHis in patients with MD can be waived as MD manifests predominantly in male infants.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted
“Safety pharmacology studies have not been conducted with CuHis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (Ames)
“ZYCUBO was not mutagenic or clastogenic in a standard battery of genotoxicity tests [bacterial mutagenicity (Ames), micronucleus assay in TK6 cells (in vitro) , and rat bone marrow micronucleus assay (in vivo)] .”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
In vitro TK6 cell micronucleus: negative
“Therefore, CuHis lyophilized powder was considered negative for inducing micronuclei in TK6 cells in the 4-hour treatments with and without metabolic activation and in the 27-hour treatment without metabolic activation under the conditions of the test system.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 132Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Rat bone marrow micronucleus: negative
“Therefore, under the experimental conditions used, CuHis was negative in the micronucleus study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (limited life expectancy in Menkes disease; ICH S1A waiver)
“Rodent carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with CuHis. The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; limited life expectancy in Menkes disease meets ICH S1A waiver criteria
“The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“Safety pharmacology studies have not been conducted with CuHis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Zycubo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Kidney, liver and spleen findings at all doses (from 1 mg/kg/day); NOAEL not determined (FDA integrated review, p. 150)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Kidney, liver and spleen findings at all doses (from 1 mg/kg/day); NOAEL not determined
“CuHis-related microscopic and clinical pathology in kidneys, liver, and spleen occurred as low as 1 mg/kg/day; thus, the no-observed-adverse-effect level could not be determined.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 150Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Modality-specific risk
Copper accumulation and toxicity (kidney, liver, spleen, hematology)
“A 13-week juvenile rat nonclinical toxicokinetic study revealed CuHis-related microscopic and clinical pathology findings in the kidneys, hematology, liver, and spleen (see Section 7.1).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 115Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Label warnings
  • Copper Accumulation and Risk of Toxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Zycubo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Kidney, liver and spleen findings at all doses (from 1 mg/kg/day); NOAEL not determined (FDA integrated review, p. 150)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week GLP subcutaneous juvenile rat study; recovery not stated
“A 14-day non-good laboratory practice dose-range-finding toxicity study in juvenile rats and a 13-week good laboratory practice toxicity study in juvenile rats using CuHis have been conducted by the Applicant.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
13-week subcutaneous juvenile rat study; no chronic rodent or nonrodent studies
“Repeat-dose chronic toxicity studies in rodents and nonrodents have not been conducted with CuHis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (Menkes disease affects predominantly male infants)
“DART studies, including FEED, EFD, and PPND studies to evaluate the reproductive toxicity potential of CuHis in patients with MD can be waived as MD manifests predominantly in male infants.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; DART studies waived as Menkes disease affects predominantly male infants
“DART studies, including FEED, EFD, and PPND studies to evaluate the reproductive toxicity potential of CuHis in patients with MD can be waived as MD manifests predominantly in male infants.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; DART waived as Menkes disease affects predominantly male infants
“DART studies, including FEED, EFD, and PPND studies to evaluate the reproductive toxicity potential of CuHis in patients with MD can be waived as MD manifests predominantly in male infants.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (limited life expectancy in Menkes disease)
“Rodent carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with CuHis. The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (limited life expectancy in Menkes disease; ICH S1A waiver)
“Rodent carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with CuHis. The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; limited life expectancy in Menkes disease meets ICH S1A waiver criteria
“The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
No NOAEL: juvenile rat kidney, liver, spleen findings at 1 mg/kg/day, equivalent to human Cmax at recommended dose
“renal, hepatic, and splenic histopathologic and clinical pathology changes occurred mainly at 5 mg/kg/day, but as low as 1 mg/kg/day (equivalent to the human plasma concentration at the recommended dose of CuHis [based on Cmax])”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 162Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Kidney, liver and spleen findings at all doses (from 1 mg/kg/day); NOAEL not determined
“CuHis-related microscopic and clinical pathology in kidneys, liver, and spleen occurred as low as 1 mg/kg/day; thus, the no-observed-adverse-effect level could not be determined.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 150Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Published Menkes mouse model only (CuHis with AAV9-ATP7A); CuHis alone gave no survival benefit
“CuHis administered alone did not provide a survival benefit in a mouse model of MD.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 74Source ↗
Why that model
Mouse studies did not mimic clinical dosing; gene therapy may mask CuHis benefit; SC distribution may differ in mice
“Some possibilities include: 1) the study designs did not mimic clinical administration of the drug; 2) gene therapy may have superseded any benefit of CuHis; 3) subcutaneous CuHis may not be readily distributed in mice compared to humans;”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 74Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: efficacy not determined in MD mouse models; nonclinical data cannot serve as confirmatory evidence
“Therefore, from a nonclinical perspective, the efficacy of CuHis was not determined in mouse models of MD, and the nonclinical data cannot serve as CE.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 74Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Study lengthAcceptedBeyond the letter
No chronic repeat-dose toxicity studies in rodents or nonrodents, and no safety pharmacology studies
Why: Short life expectancy of patients; studies unlikely to add information beyond what can be monitored clinically · Serious disease · Human data
“Repeat-dose chronic toxicity studies in rodents and nonrodents have not been conducted with CuHis. PMRs for conducting additional nonclinical studies have not been issued as nonclinical studies to evaluate safety of CuHis are unlikely to provide information beyond what is already known and can be monitored clinically.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗
“The short life expectancy of patients with MD negates the need for toxicity studies including safety pharmacology and chronic toxicology studies in animals.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAccepted
No rodent carcinogenicity studies
Why: Limited life expectancy meets ICH S1A waiver criteria · Within the guideline · Serious disease
“Rodent carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with CuHis. The limited life expectancy associated with classical MD is consistent with the International Council for Harmonisation S1A guidance criteria for waiving the requirement for carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 137Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No fertility, embryo-fetal or pre- and postnatal development studies
Why: Disease manifests predominantly in male infants; limited life expectancy · Serious disease · Other reason
“DART studies, including FEED, EFD, and PPND studies to evaluate the reproductive toxicity potential of CuHis in patients with MD can be waived as MD manifests predominantly in male infants. Further, the limited life expectancy of patients with MD negates the need for DART studies in animals to support its use in the clinic.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 138Source ↗
Efficacy modelQuestioned
No pharmacology studies in Menkes disease models; only published literature with combination gene therapy
“The Applicant has not conducted pharmacology studies using CuHis in animal models of MD. Instead, the Applicant has submitted published literature to support its efficacy in which CuHis was administered SC in combination with recombinant adeno-associated virus serotype 9-ATP7A delivered to the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) in a mouse model of MD”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 40Source ↗
“Therefore, from a nonclinical perspective, the efficacy of CuHis was not determined in mouse models of MD, and the nonclinical data cannot serve as CE.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 74Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
No NOAEL in juvenile rats: kidney, liver and spleen changes as low as 1 mg/kg/day, equivalent to human Cmax
“renal, hepatic, and splenic histopathologic and clinical pathology changes occurred mainly at 5 mg/kg/day, but as low as 1 mg/kg/day (equivalent to the human plasma concentration at the recommended dose of CuHis [based on Cmax])”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 162Source ↗

Similar precedents