Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Entyvio

vedolizumab
monoclonal antibodyα4β7-integrinHumanized IgG1 anti-α4β7 integrin monoclonal antibodyModerately to severely active ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease
Species
MonkeyRabbit
Longest study
26 wk
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rabbit and cynomolgus monkey
“Toxicology studies were conducted with MLN0002 in two species (rabbit and Cynomolgus monkeys) by intravenous (IV) route to support the chronic use of MLN0002.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Why that species
Similar binding affinity to rabbit, monkey and human leukocytes; no binding to mouse, rat or guinea pig leukocytes
“MLN0002 bound with similar affinity to leukocytes from rabbits, monkeys, and humans, but not from mice, rats, or guinea pigs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 129Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical antibody was tested in rabbits and cynomolgus monkeys
“Toxicology studies were conducted with MLN0002 in two species (rabbit and Cynomolgus monkeys) by intravenous (IV) route to support the chronic use of MLN0002.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rabbit and cynomolgus monkey
“Toxicology studies were conducted with MLN0002 in two species (rabbit and Cynomolgus monkeys) by intravenous (IV) route to support the chronic use of MLN0002.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Species: DART
Rabbit (embryo-fetal) and cynomolgus monkey (pre- and postnatal development)
“MLN0002 did not cause any adverse effect on embryofetal development in rabbits or on pre- and postnatal development in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no pharmacological activity in mice and rats; ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH Guideline S6(R1), conventional carcinogenicity studies (i.e., rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with MLN0002 to assess its carcinogenic potential as it lacks pharmacological activity in mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 129Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Yes: murine homologue Act-1 used for in vitro carcinogenic-potential assessment in human tumor cells
“However, carcinogenic potential of Act-1 (murine homologue of MLN0002) was assessed in an in vitro study using human tumor cells that expressed”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“repeated dose IV toxicology (14-day, 13-week, 26-week) in Cynomolgus monkeys and rabbits (3-month)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 155Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
3- and 6-month IV monkey studies (10, 30, 100 mg/kg every two weeks); 3-month IV rabbit study (30, 100 mg/kg)
“A 3-month IV toxicology study was conducted with MLN0002 in New Zealand white rabbits at 30 and 100 mg/kg and 3- and 6-month IV toxicology studies were conducted with MLN0002 in Cynomolgus monkeys at 10, 30 and 100 mg/kg administered once every two weeks.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravenous
“Toxicology studies were conducted with MLN0002 in two species (rabbit and Cynomolgus monkeys) by intravenous (IV) route to support the chronic use of MLN0002.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“Genotoxicity studies were not conducted as vedolizumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody and so are not required in-line with ICH Guideline S6(R1).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1)); no pharmacological activity in mice and rats
“In accordance with ICH Guideline S6(R1), conventional carcinogenicity studies (i.e., rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with MLN0002 to assess its carcinogenic potential as it lacks pharmacological activity in mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 129Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rabbit embryo-fetal and monkey pre-/postnatal development studies: no adverse effects
“MLN0002 did not cause any adverse effect on embryofetal development in rabbits or on pre- and postnatal development in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Telemetered cynomolgus monkey cardiovascular study: no effect on ECG, arterial blood pressure or heart rate
“In a cardiovascular safety pharmacology study in telemetered Cynomolgus monkeys, MLN0002 did not show any effect on ECG parameters, arterial blood pressure or heart rate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 156Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (humanized monoclonal antibody, ICH S6(R1))
“Genotoxicity studies were not conducted as vedolizumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody and so are not required in-line with ICH Guideline S6(R1).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (humanized monoclonal antibody, ICH S6(R1))
“Genotoxicity studies were not conducted as vedolizumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody and so are not required in-line with ICH Guideline S6(R1).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (humanized monoclonal antibody, ICH S6(R1))
“Genotoxicity studies were not conducted as vedolizumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody and so are not required in-line with ICH Guideline S6(R1).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (no rodent pharmacological activity); in vitro Act-1 tumor-cell growth study instead
“Conventional carcinogenicity studies (i.e., rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with MLN0002 to assess its carcinogenic potential as it lacks pharmacological activity in mice and rats. However, carcinogenic potential of Act-1 (murine homologue of MLN0002) was assessed in an in vitro study using human tumor cells that expressed”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (rodents not pharmacologically responsive; ICH S6(R1))
“Conventional carcinogenicity risk assessment studies (ie, rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with vedolizumab as rodents are not pharmacologically responsive to this mAb. This is consistent with ICH Guideline S6(R1).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
hERG / QT
No effect on ECG, arterial blood pressure or heart rate in telemetered cynomolgus monkeys
“In a cardiovascular safety pharmacology study in telemetered Cynomolgus monkeys, MLN0002 did not show any effect on ECG parameters, arterial blood pressure or heart rate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 156Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Entyvio don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 100 mg/kg in monkeys, about 18 times the human AUC at 300 mg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 100 mg/kg in monkeys, about 18 times the human AUC at 300 mg
“The exposure (AUC) at the NOAEL dose of 100 mg/kg in monkeys is approximately 18 times higher than the mean AUC at the recommended human dose of 300 mg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No T-lymphocyte activation or cytokine release in human whole blood in vitro
“MLN0002 did not induce T lymphocyte activation or cytokine release in whole human blood.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Tissue cross-reactivity: monkey staining similar to human, consistent with α4β7 expression; no off-target staining
“Vedolizumab staining pattern observed in Cynomolgus monkey tissues appeared to be similar to that observed in the human tissues and results were stated to be consistent with the pattern of expression of α4β7 integrin. No unanticipated tissue cross-reactivity or off-target staining was observed in TCR studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 157Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Loss of CNS immune surveillance (natalizumab-like): not seen in a rhesus monkey EAE model, whereas natalizumab blocked it
“MLN0002 did not appear to inhibit immune surveillance of the CNS as assessed in this model of EAE in Rhesus monkeys. In contrast, natalizumab blocked immune surveillance of the CNS in this model.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 155Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Variable RAHA/PAHA in rabbits and monkeys; neutralizing effect on PK and PD in some animals at 10 and 30 mg/kg
“In some animals, RAHA/PAHA had a neutralizing effect on the PK and PD of MLN0002 at the low and mid doses (10 and 30 mg/kg); however, saturation of receptors was achieved in animals that did not develop a neutralizing RAHA/PAHA effect.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 156Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
6% (86/1,427) over 52 weeks of IV treatment in UC and CD trials
“The incidence of anti-drug antibodies to intravenous ENTYVIO using a drug-tolerant electrochemiluminescence (ECL) method for patients in UC Trials I and II and CD Trials I and III who had continuous ENTYVIO treatment administered as an intravenous infusion for 52 weeks was 6% (86 out of 1,427 total ENTYVIO-treated patients).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Label warnings
  • Infusion-Related Reactions and Hypersensitivity Reactions
  • Infections
  • Progressive Multifocal Leukoencephalopathy
  • Liver Injury
  • Immunizations
Hypersensitivity & infusion reactionsInfectionsNeurotoxicityHepatotoxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Entyvio don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 100 mg/kg in monkeys, about 18 times the human AUC at 300 mg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week cynomolgus monkey (IV) study with 12-week recovery
“26-Week Toxicology Study of MLN0002 Administered by Intravenous Infusion to Cynomolgus Monkeys, with a 12-Week Recovery Period (KLA00290)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 107Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
3- and 6-month IV monkey studies (10, 30, 100 mg/kg every two weeks); 3-month IV rabbit study (30, 100 mg/kg)
“A 3-month IV toxicology study was conducted with MLN0002 in New Zealand white rabbits at 30 and 100 mg/kg and 3- and 6-month IV toxicology studies were conducted with MLN0002 in Cynomolgus monkeys at 10, 30 and 100 mg/kg administered once every two weeks.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rabbit (embryo-fetal) and cynomolgus monkey (pre- and postnatal development)
“MLN0002 did not cause any adverse effect on embryofetal development in rabbits or on pre- and postnatal development in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rabbit embryo-fetal and monkey pre-/postnatal development studies: no adverse effects
“MLN0002 did not cause any adverse effect on embryofetal development in rabbits or on pre- and postnatal development in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in cynomolgus monkey completed before the marketing application
“A pre and postnatal development study in monkeys showed no evidence of any adverse effect on pre and postnatal development at IV doses up to 100 mg/kg (about 6.5 times the recommended human dose based on the body surface area).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no pharmacological activity in mice and rats; ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH Guideline S6(R1), conventional carcinogenicity studies (i.e., rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with MLN0002 to assess its carcinogenic potential as it lacks pharmacological activity in mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 129Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (no rodent pharmacological activity); in vitro Act-1 tumor-cell growth study instead
“Conventional carcinogenicity studies (i.e., rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with MLN0002 to assess its carcinogenic potential as it lacks pharmacological activity in mice and rats. However, carcinogenic potential of Act-1 (murine homologue of MLN0002) was assessed in an in vitro study using human tumor cells that expressed”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (rodents not pharmacologically responsive; ICH S6(R1))
“Conventional carcinogenicity risk assessment studies (ie, rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with vedolizumab as rodents are not pharmacologically responsive to this mAb. This is consistent with ICH Guideline S6(R1).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Monkey NOAEL 100 mg/kg ~18x human AUC at 300 mg
“The exposure (AUC) at the NOAEL dose of 100 mg/kg in monkeys is approximately 18 times higher than the mean AUC at the recommended human dose of 300 mg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 100 mg/kg in monkeys, about 18 times the human AUC at 300 mg
“The exposure (AUC) at the NOAEL dose of 100 mg/kg in monkeys is approximately 18 times higher than the mean AUC at the recommended human dose of 300 mg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 158Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Spontaneous-colitis cotton-top tamarins treated with Act-1, the murine vedolizumab precursor (2.0 mg/kg for 8 days)
“In vivo, colitic cotton-top tamarins (these develop a type of colitis spontaneously) were used to determine the functional relevance of α4β7 in the pathogenesis of chronic inflammatory disease. Animals were given 2.0 mg/kg Act-1, the murine vedolizumab precursor, for 8 days.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
Why that model
Cotton-top tamarins develop colitis spontaneously, allowing in vivo test of α4β7 in chronic intestinal inflammation
“In vivo, colitic cotton-top tamarins (these develop a type of colitis spontaneously) were used to determine the functional relevance of α4β7 in the pathogenesis of chronic inflammatory disease.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: pharmacology results support the mechanism of action and proposed indication
“Overall, the results of pharmacology studies appear to support the mechanism of action and the proposed indication of MLN0002.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
CarcinogenicityAccepted
No rodent carcinogenicity bioassay for a chronic IBD therapy; in vitro tumour-cell study with murine homologue Act-1 instead
Why: No pharmacological activity in mice and rats (ICH S6(R1)); weight of evidence indicates no significant carcinogenic potential · Within the guideline · No relevant species · Weight of evidence
“In accordance with ICH Guideline S6(R1), conventional carcinogenicity studies (i.e., rodent bioassays) have not been conducted with MLN0002 to assess its carcinogenic potential as it lacks pharmacological activity in mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 129Source ↗
“Overall, MLN0002 does not appear to have significant carcinogenic potential.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
DARTAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No fertility studies; 26-week monkey study insufficient to exclude effects on male reproductive organs
Why: Effect on male fertility unlikely; uncertainty stated in the SmPC
“Concerning fertility, the 26 week general toxicity study in monkeys given vedolizumab is judged insufficient to conclude an absence of an effect, although an effect on male fertility is unlikely.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 46Source ↗
“However as no definitive conclusion can be drawn on the male reproductive organs in the cynomolgus monkey repeat dose general toxicity study the following wording has been included in the SmPC:”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 46Source ↗
Juvenile toxVerdict not stated
No juvenile animal toxicity studies; β7 integrin knockout mouse data used instead
Why: α4β7 integrin plays no role in growth and development; β7 knockout mice suffice to study developmental effects · Pharmacology or kinetics
“Toxicology studies in juvenile animals have not been conducted. The Applicant argued that α4β7 integrin does not play a role in mammalian growth and development (literature references have been provided) and that the developmental effects of inhibiting the α4β7 integrin can be studied sufficiently in mice with genetic ablation of the β7 integrin gene (Itgb7)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
OtherAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No animal model of PML; CNS immune surveillance tested in a rhesus EAE model instead
Why: PML handled as a potential risk in the RMP with postmarketing monitoring
“However, since EAE is not an animal model of PML; the results of this study do not directly demonstrate that MLN0002 has no potential to cause PML.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗
“The PML risk is considered a potential risk as described in the RMP and will be monitored in the post marketing setting.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 46Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyAcceptedBeyond the letter
No stand-alone gastrointestinal, urinary, pulmonary or CNS safety pharmacology; endpoints in repeat-dose toxicology studies
“The effects of vedolizumab on the gastrointestinal, urinary, pulmonary and central nervous systems were evaluated for functional and structural changes in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 26 weeks in pharmacologically responsive species. This is acceptable to the CHMP.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗

Similar precedents