Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec
gene therapyFactor IXAAV5 vector with liver-specific LP1 promoter expressing hFIX-Padua variantAdult hemophilia B (congenital factor IX deficiency)
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
26 wk
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Partial / alternative Partial / alternative
First dose
Partial / alternative Partly stated

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Mouse and cynomolgus monkey
“The toxicology data package of etranacogene dezaparvovec and AMT-060 included single IV dose toxicity studies up to duration of 6 months with 6 months observation period in C57Bl/6 mice and cynomolgus macaques, and a reproduction and developmental toxicity study in mice.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Why that species
NHP most relevant as natural AAV host; mouse and monkey hepatocytes transduced and express hFIX
“From the pharmacokinetic point of view, non-human primates were the most relevant species”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
Yes: predecessor vector AMT-060 (wild-type hFIX, differs by 2 nucleotides) used in several studies; AMT-061 also tested
“AMT-060 instead of etranacogene dezaparvovec was used in several toxicological studies provided.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Species: general tox
Mouse (C57Bl/6) and cynomolgus monkey; single IV dose studies up to 6 months
“The toxicology data package of etranacogene dezaparvovec and AMT-060 included single IV dose toxicity studies up to duration of 6 months with 6 months observation period in C57Bl/6 mice and cynomolgus macaques, and a reproduction and developmental toxicity study in mice.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Species: DART
Male mouse only (paternal germline transmission/fertility study with predecessor vector)
“The risk of germline transmission of the HEMGENIX predecessor was evaluated in healthy male mice administered 2.3x1014 gc/kg and mated with healthy naïve female mice on Day 6 post-dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Dedicated studies on carcinogenicity were not conducted with AMT-061 (nor AMT-060).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Yes: predecessor vector AMT-060 (differs by two base pairs/one amino acid) used in several toxicology studies
“AMT-060 instead of etranacogene dezaparvovec was used in several toxicological studies provided. This is regarded acceptable as AMT-060 differs only in two base pairs/one amino-acid to the final GTMP AMT-061”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“At 26 weeks following IV administration of 5x1012 to 9x1013 gc/kg HEMGENIX in NHPs, high levels of vector DNA were detected in a dose-dependent manner in the liver.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP single-dose IV studies in C57Bl/6 mice and cynomolgus monkeys (13-26 weeks observation); mouse paternal germline transmission study
“The single IV dose toxicology studies and the analysis of the safety parameters were performed under GLP compliance.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravenous (single dose), mimicking clinical route
“IV-route of administration, the clinical route, is used in all toxicological studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not conducted as standard battery; integration site analysis (LAM-PCR) in mouse and NHP liver showed low random integration
“For both species, the majority of the identified vector DNA sequences represented episomal forms that were not integrated into the host DNA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not warranted based on nonclinical safety profile)
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of HEMGENIX were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Liver integration site analysis in mice at 180 days and NHPs at 26 weeks given the predecessor vector
“Integration site analysis was performed on host genomic DNA isolated from liver tissue collected at 180 days (healthy mice) and 26 weeks (NHPs) following IV administration of the HEMGENIX predecessor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
DRG histopathology
Dorsal root ganglia toxicity not included in the histopathological analyses
“The applicant confirmed that dorsal root ganglia toxicity was not included in histopathological analyses.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Paternal germline transmission/fertility study in male mice only; no transmission, no fertility effects; EFD/PPND not required
“However, there were no adverse effects on mating rates or fertility indices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Incorporated into NHP toxicity studies (ECG); no test article effects
“With regard to ECG readings no effects related to the test article were observed with AMT-060.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (traditional mutagenicity studies not indicated)
“No traditional nonclinical carcinogenicity or mutagenicity studies were conducted with HEMGENIX; such studies were not indicated.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (traditional mutagenicity studies not indicated)
“No traditional nonclinical carcinogenicity or mutagenicity studies were conducted with HEMGENIX; such studies were not indicated.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (traditional mutagenicity studies not indicated)
“No traditional nonclinical carcinogenicity or mutagenicity studies were conducted with HEMGENIX; such studies were not indicated.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; replaced by liver integration-site analysis: low-level integration with no predilection for specific or cancer-associated sites
“A low level of integrated vector DNA was distributed throughout the host genome with no predilection to specific integration sites, including in genes associated with malignant transformation in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of HEMGENIX were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG assay; no test article-related ECG effects in monkey toxicity studies
“With regard to ECG readings no effects related to the test article were observed with AMT-060.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated for FIH; later clinical dosing informed by predecessor AMT-060 clinical data
“The supporting clinical data from the predecessor product that used a similar vector (AAV5) as HEMGENIX was used to inform dosing for later clinical studies, and assessments of vector viral kinetics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 9x10^13 gc/kg NHP (4.5x clinical), 5x10^13 mice; transient ALT/AST rise, clotting changes, mouse pulmonary thrombi
“The identified no-observed-adverse-effect-level was 9x1013 gc/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Anti-AAV5 capsid IgG persisting 6 months; anti-hFIX antibodies in 5/12 NHPs reducing FIX levels
“Antigenicity endpoints were included in single dose toxicity studies, capsid antigens generally caused high titres of anti AAV5 antibodies. In addition, anti-human FIX antibodies were observed inconsistently in NHP.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Liver highest, then adrenal, spinal cord; vector in testis/epididymis/semen at 26 wks; saliva/urine clear by ~week 8-12
“Vector DNA was also identified in the adrenal glands and spinal cord, followed by limited vector presence in various tissue types.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
AAV integration/insertional oncogenesis (dose-dependent), germline transmission, thrombosis from high FIX activity, DRG toxicity
“Dose is considered a pivotal factor with regards to the frequency of integration and with that a main contributor to the risk of insertional oncogenesis.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Anti-hFIX antibodies in 5 of 12 NHPs, correlating with declining circulating hFIX from 13 weeks
“Anti-hFIX antibodies developed in 5 out of 12 NHPs administered HEMGENIX, which correlated with a decline in circulating hFIX protein levels beginning at 13 weeks post-dose.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Sustained humoral response to AAV5 capsid in all patients (N=54)
“In the clinical efficacy study (N=54), sustained humoral immune response to infused AAV5 capsid was observed in all patients following treatment with HEMGENIX.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Label warnings
  • Hypersensitivity and Infusion-Related Reactions
  • Hepatotoxicity
  • Immune-mediated neutralization of the AAV5 vector capsid
  • Hepatocellular carcinogenicity
  • Monitoring Laboratory Tests
Hypersensitivity & infusion reactionsHepatotoxicityImmune-mediated reactions
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated for FIH; later clinical dosing informed by predecessor AMT-060 clinical data
“The supporting clinical data from the predecessor product that used a similar vector (AAV5) as HEMGENIX was used to inform dosing for later clinical studies, and assessments of vector viral kinetics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“No repeated dose toxicity studies were conducted. This is acceptable, as only a single etranacogene dezaparvovec administration is intended in patients”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP single-dose IV studies in C57Bl/6 mice and cynomolgus monkeys (13-26 weeks observation); mouse paternal germline transmission study
“The single IV dose toxicology studies and the analysis of the safety parameters were performed under GLP compliance.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Male mouse only (paternal germline transmission/fertility study with predecessor vector)
“The risk of germline transmission of the HEMGENIX predecessor was evaluated in healthy male mice administered 2.3x1014 gc/kg and mated with healthy naïve female mice on Day 6 post-dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Paternal germline transmission/fertility study in male mice only; no transmission, no fertility effects; EFD/PPND not required
“However, there were no adverse effects on mating rates or fertility indices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: not required; hemophilia B almost exclusively male and adult-only application
“As haemophilia B is almost exclusively limited to male patients, and as the current MAA only comprises adult patients, dedicated EFD and PPND studies are not required.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Dedicated studies on carcinogenicity were not conducted with AMT-061 (nor AMT-060).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; replaced by liver integration-site analysis: low-level integration with no predilection for specific or cancer-associated sites
“A low level of integrated vector DNA was distributed throughout the host genome with no predilection to specific integration sites, including in genes associated with malignant transformation in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of HEMGENIX were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
NHP no-adverse-effect dose (9x1013 gc/kg) is 4.5-fold the recommended human dose
“Findings in animals dosed at 9x1013 gc/kg included prolonged prothrombin time, decreased activated partial thromboplastin time, and decreased heart rates; however, these changes were not statistically significant, and no adverse effects were observed. This dose level is 4.5-fold higher than the recommended dose level for HEMGENIX.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 9x10^13 gc/kg NHP (4.5x clinical), 5x10^13 mice; transient ALT/AST rise, clotting changes, mouse pulmonary thrombi
“The identified no-observed-adverse-effect-level was 9x1013 gc/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Hemophilia B mouse (B6.129P2-F9tm1Dws) with predecessor vector AMT-060: dose-dependent liver transduction, hFIX protein and activity
“At 4 weeks following intravenous (IV) administration of 5x1011 to 2.3x1014 gc/kg of AMT-060 in the B6.129P2-F9tm1Dws mouse model of Hemophilia B, dose-dependent increases in vector transduction in the liver, plasma hFIX protein levels, and plasma hFIX activity were observed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 10Source ↗
Why that model
NHPs considered most relevant species for nonclinical efficacy and safety, as natural AAV hosts
“From the pharmacokinetic point of view, non-human primates were the most relevant species for nonclinical efficacy and safety studies, as natural hosts for AAVs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
Adequate evidence of efficient hepatocyte transduction and dose-dependent, durable hFIX activity in mice and monkeys
“Overall, the primary pharmacodynamic studies provided adequate evidence that murine and monkey hepatocytes are efficiently transduced by etranacogene dezaparvovec and produce hFIX dosedependently, enabling sustained and durable hFIX activity levels.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

Test articleopen answer page →

Test article vs clinical lot
Programme initiated with predecessor AMT-060, same vector backbone but lacking the 2-nucleotide change giving the Padua FIX variant. Bridging: Predecessor and clinical vector showed a comparable safety profile when tested side-by-side in mice and NHPs
“The non-clinical development programme was initiated with AMT-060, which has a similar vector backbone as etranacogene dezaparvovec (AMT-061), but lacks the 2-nucleotide change in the hFIX coding sequence (enhancing the FIX activity of Padua FIX variant).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
Vector and route
AAV5-based gene therapy, single intravenous infusion
“HEMGENIX is an adeno-associated virus serotype 5 (AAV5) based gene therapy designed to deliver a copy of a gene encoding the Padua variant of human coagulation Factor IX (hFIX-Padua). Single intravenous infusion of HEMGENIX results in cell transduction and increase in circulating Factor IX activity in patients with Hemophilia B.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
First approval
2022 (FDA)
“Initial U.S. Approval: 2022”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
Several toxicology studies used predecessor vector AMT-060 (wild-type hFIX) instead of the final product
Why: AMT-060 differs from the final product in only two base pairs/one amino acid · Other reason
“AMT-060 instead of etranacogene dezaparvovec was used in several toxicological studies provided. This is regarded acceptable as AMT-060 differs only in two base pairs/one amino-acid to the final GTMP AMT-061”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No embryo-fetal, pre/postnatal or juvenile toxicity studies; male mouse germline transmission study only
Why: Haemophilia B almost exclusively affects males and the application covers adults only · Other reason
“As haemophilia B is almost exclusively limited to male patients, and as the current MAA only comprises adult patients, dedicated EFD and PPND studies are not required. Assessment of juvenile toxicity is not warranted in the presented setting.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity or tumorigenicity studies; liver integration-site analysis in mice and monkeys instead
Why: Nonclinical safety profile; low-level random integration with no predilection for cancer-associated genes · Weight of evidence
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of HEMGENIX were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
“A low level of integrated vector DNA was distributed throughout the host genome with no predilection to specific integration sites, including in genes associated with malignant transformation in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
OtherAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Dorsal root ganglia not examined histologically in monkey toxicity study; deferred to juvenile NHP studies
Why: No adverse spinal cord findings up to the highest dose; DRG to be investigated in juvenile NHP studies under the PIP
“The dorsal root ganglia analysis was not included in the histopathology, but is to be investigated in juvenile NHP studies as part of the future PIP.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
“No adverse findings in spinal cord (cervical, lumbar, and thoracic) histopathology, including absence of spinal cord axonopathy, were reported in the NHP study with etranacogene dezaparvovec dose up to 9 × 1013 gc/kg, with a 26-week follow-up.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Similar precedents