Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Hemgenix: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated for FIH; later clinical dosing informed by predecessor AMT-060 clinical data
“The supporting clinical data from the predecessor product that used a similar vector (AAV5) as HEMGENIX was used to inform dosing for later clinical studies, and assessments of vector viral kinetics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“No repeated dose toxicity studies were conducted. This is acceptable, as only a single etranacogene dezaparvovec administration is intended in patients”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP single-dose IV studies in C57Bl/6 mice and cynomolgus monkeys (13-26 weeks observation); mouse paternal germline transmission study
“The single IV dose toxicology studies and the analysis of the safety parameters were performed under GLP compliance.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Male mouse only (paternal germline transmission/fertility study with predecessor vector)
“The risk of germline transmission of the HEMGENIX predecessor was evaluated in healthy male mice administered 2.3x1014 gc/kg and mated with healthy naïve female mice on Day 6 post-dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Paternal germline transmission/fertility study in male mice only; no transmission, no fertility effects; EFD/PPND not required
“However, there were no adverse effects on mating rates or fertility indices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: not required; hemophilia B almost exclusively male and adult-only application
“As haemophilia B is almost exclusively limited to male patients, and as the current MAA only comprises adult patients, dedicated EFD and PPND studies are not required.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Dedicated studies on carcinogenicity were not conducted with AMT-061 (nor AMT-060).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; replaced by liver integration-site analysis: low-level integration with no predilection for specific or cancer-associated sites
“A low level of integrated vector DNA was distributed throughout the host genome with no predilection to specific integration sites, including in genes associated with malignant transformation in humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of HEMGENIX were not conducted. These studies are not warranted based on the nonclinical safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Roctavian

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →