Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Hemlibra don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 30 mg/kg/wk SC (26-week), ~11x clinical AUC; findings limited to injection-site reactions and aPTT shortening (EMA assessment report, p. 35)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 30 mg/kg/wk SC (26-week), ~11x clinical AUC; findings limited to injection-site reactions and aPTT shortening
“This is approximately 11-fold above the clinical exposure in a 3 mg/kg QW dosing regimen which is the regimen that is anticipated to yield the highest exposure in patients.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
MABEL: monkey PK/PD IL-6 excursion model plus in vitro human/monkey whole-blood cytokine data; 5 ug flat dose

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
MABEL-type: EC20 from in vitro human PBMC cytokine release / T-cell activation assay

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Starting dose 0.5 mg/eye IVT supported by monkey tox data (6 mg/eye high dose not initially supported; dose escalation gated)

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
Not stated in public reviews

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →