Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Hemlibra: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

emicizumab · FIXa x FX

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Hemlibra don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for multispecifics

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 30 mg/kg/wk SC (26-week), ~11x clinical AUC; findings limited to injection-site reactions and aPTT shortening (EMA assessment report, p. 35)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week SC cynomolgus monkey study (weekly) with 13-week recovery
“A 26-week intermittent dose (once weekly, 27 doses) subcutaneous administration toxicity study of CH5534262 in mature cynomolgus monkeysfollowed by a 13-week recovery period / Study report no. 1060134”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus: 4-week IV (up to 100 mg/kg/wk), 4- and 13-week SC, 26-week SC weekly (1, 6, 30 mg/kg)
“Repeat-dose toxicity was also evaluated in cynomolgus monkeys dosed once weekly in a 4-week IV dose toxicity study (1060140) and 4- and 13-week SC dose toxicity studies (1060133 and 1060134).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (hemophilia A is X-linked recessive)
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicology studies were not conducted with emicizumab as hemophilia A is inherited in an X-linked recessive manner.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (99% of patients male); no reproductive organ effects in 26-week monkey study
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicology studies were not conducted with emicizumab as hemophilia A is inherited in an X-linked recessive manner.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND or other DART studies: hemophilia A is X-linked recessive (patients mostly male)
“Animal reproductive and developmental toxicology studies were not conducted with emicizumab as hemophilia A is inherited in an X-linked recessive manner.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no pharmacologically relevant rodent species)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted due to lack of a pharmacologically relevant rodent species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not active in mice or rats; restoring hemostasis not expected to increase tumorigenesis)
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with emicizumab because the product is not active in mice or rats; restoring hemostasis is not expected to increase the potential for tumorigenesis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; carcinogenicity assessment accepted and ECAC agreed no studies needed
“The ECAC agreed with the Division that there was no need for additional nonclinical carcinogenicity studies for emicizumab on August 7, 2015.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 155Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Hemlibra, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Vabysmo

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →