Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Lumakras

sotorasib
small moleculeKRAS G12COral small-molecule covalent KRAS G12C inhibitorKRAS G12C-mutated NSCLC after prior systemic therapy
Species
RatDog
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Partial / alternative Partly stated

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Why that species
Human metabolites formed in vitro were also produced by rat and dog liver microsomes/hepatocytes
“The human metabolites formed in vitro were also produced in the rat and dog in vitro (liver microsomes/hepatocytes).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 65Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat and dog (3-month GLP studies)
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (EFD)
“The Applicant conducted GLP-compliant embryo-fetal development studies in Sprague-Dawley rats and New Zealand White rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication, ICH S9)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted nor are any planned in accordance with International Council for Harmonisation (ICH) S9 (ICH, 2009).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used; sotorasib tested directly in rats and dogs
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 (3-month rat and dog)
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
3-month rat and dog GLP oral repeat-dose studies
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral
“The oral route of administration was chosen for in vivo nonclinical studies based on the intended clinical route of administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 65Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames and in vivo rat micronucleus and comet assays; some in vitro micronucleus induction
“Though both sotorasib and the M24 metabolite showed some potential for induction of micronuclei in vitro, neither was mutagenic in in vitro bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assays and sotorasib was not genotoxic in the in vivo erythrocyte micronucleus test and alkaline comet assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication)
“The Applicant did not conduct carcinogenicity or fertility studies to support the currently proposed indication (NSCLC), and these studies are not needed to support a marketing application for a drug intended to treat patients with advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat and rabbit EFD: no adverse developmental effects or embryolethality up to 4.6x human exposure
“In rat and rabbit embryo-fetal development studies, oral sotorasib did not cause adverse developmental effects or embryo-lethality at exposures up to 4.6 times the human exposure at the 960 mg clinical dose”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Safety pharmacology
hERG IC50 54.8 µM; no ECG or hemodynamic effects in telemetered dogs up to 300 mg/kg
“The sotorasib hERG IC50 was 54.8 µM (Study 150431); no clinically significant interaction with the hERG channel is expected over the proposed clinical dose range. In vivo, sotorasib at doses up to 300 mg/kg did not result in changes to qualitative ECG, quantitative ECG, or haemodynamic parameters”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 23Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“Sotorasib was negative for genotoxicity in the GLP bacterial mutation assay (Study 150436) and the combined in vivo mammalian erythrocyte micronucleus test and alkaline comet assay in the rat (Study 150435).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Human peripheral blood lymphocyte micronucleus (non-GLP, exploratory): positive
“Although sotorasib was positive for the induction of micronuclei in this exploratory in vitro assay, sotorasib was negative for genotoxicity in the GLP in vitro Ames assay (Study #150436)”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Rat erythrocyte micronucleus and alkaline comet assays: negative
“Sotorasib was negative for genotoxicity in the GLP bacterial mutation assay (Study 150436) and the combined in vivo mammalian erythrocyte micronucleus test and alkaline comet assay in the rat (Study 150435).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; not needed for advanced cancer indication per ICH S9
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for advanced cancer indication (ICH S9)
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
hERG / QT
hERG IC50 54.8 µM; minimal QT risk; no ECG effects in telemetered dogs
“The IC50 value of 54.8 μM (n=3) determined in this GLP-compliant in vitro hERG channel study suggests minimal risk of QT prolongation through this pathway in humans given sotorasib.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 55Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Derivation not stated; clinical exposures at 180-960 mg were below those at the rat STD10 but above those at the dog HNSTD
“The mean observed sotorasib clinical exposures from 180, 360, 720, and 960 mg once daily (QD) dosing in subjects (Study 20170543) were lower than the exposures observed at the STD10 of 180 mg/kg in rats in the 3-month GLP repeat-dose toxicology study (Study 150432), but higher than the exposures observed at the HNSTD of 1000 mg/kg/day in dogs”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Rat kidney tubular degeneration/necrosis with renal injury biomarkers at ≥0.5x clinical AUC
“In rats, renal toxicity including minimal to marked histologic tubular degeneration/necrosis and increased kidney weight, urea nitrogen, creatinine, and urinary biomarkers of renal tubular injury were present at doses resulting in exposures approximately ≥ 0.5 times the human AUC at the clinical dose of 960 mg.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Decreased thymus weight and lymphoid cellularity in dogs
“pituitary gland (increased weight and hypertrophy of pituitary basophils of the pars distalis), thymus (decreased weight and decreased lymphoid cellularity), and gallbladder (bile sludge).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Wide distribution, highest in liver, kidney, thyroid, pancreas, lacrimal and adrenal glands; low brain penetration
“Following single oral administration, 14C-sotorasib-derived radioactivity distributed widely to rat tissues especially the liver, kidney, thyroid, pancreas, exorbital lacrimal gland, intra-orbital lacrimal gland, and adrenal gland, but brain penetration appeared low.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Renal tubular toxicity in rats via β-lyase bioactivation to a sulfur-containing metabolite
“Increases in cysteine S-conjugate β-lyase pathway metabolism in the rat kidney compared to human may make rats more susceptible to renal toxicity due to local formation of a putative sulfur-containing metabolite than humans.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Label warnings
  • Hepatotoxicity
  • Interstitial Lung Disease (ILD)/Pneumonitis
HepatotoxicityImmune-mediated reactionsPulmonary toxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Derivation not stated; clinical exposures at 180-960 mg were below those at the rat STD10 but above those at the dog HNSTD
“The mean observed sotorasib clinical exposures from 180, 360, 720, and 960 mg once daily (QD) dosing in subjects (Study 20170543) were lower than the exposures observed at the STD10 of 180 mg/kg in rats in the 3-month GLP repeat-dose toxicology study (Study 150432), but higher than the exposures observed at the HNSTD of 1000 mg/kg/day in dogs”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
3-month rat (oral) with 2-month recovery; 3-month dog study of equal length
“In the GLP 3-month rat toxicology study with a 2-month recovery, higher dose levels were evaluated (60, 180, and 750 mg/kg/day), which were associated with systemic exposure that exceeded the human clinical exposures.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 65Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
3-month rat and dog GLP oral repeat-dose studies
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (EFD)
“The Applicant conducted GLP-compliant embryo-fetal development studies in Sprague-Dawley rats and New Zealand White rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat and rabbit EFD: no adverse developmental effects or embryolethality up to 4.6x human exposure
“In rat and rabbit embryo-fetal development studies, oral sotorasib did not cause adverse developmental effects or embryo-lethality at exposures up to 4.6 times the human exposure at the 960 mg clinical dose”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND not conducted: not needed for advanced NSCLC indication (ICH S9)
“Prenatal and postnatal development studies were not conducted or needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication (NSCLC) per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 84Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication, ICH S9)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted nor are any planned in accordance with International Council for Harmonisation (ICH) S9 (ICH, 2009).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; not needed for advanced cancer indication per ICH S9
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for advanced cancer indication (ICH S9)
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Clinical exposures exceed those at the dog HNSTD (1000 mg/kg/day) but are below the rat STD10 (180 mg/kg)
“The mean observed sotorasib clinical exposures from 180, 360, 720, and 960 mg once daily (QD) dosing in subjects (Study 20170543) were lower than the exposures observed at the STD10 of 180 mg/kg in rats in the 3-month GLP repeat-dose toxicology study (Study 150432), but higher than the exposures observed at the HNSTD of 1000 mg/kg/day in dogs”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Rat kidney tubular degeneration/necrosis with renal injury biomarkers at ≥0.5x clinical AUC
“In rats, renal toxicity including minimal to marked histologic tubular degeneration/necrosis and increased kidney weight, urea nitrogen, creatinine, and urinary biomarkers of renal tubular injury were present at doses resulting in exposures approximately ≥ 0.5 times the human AUC at the clinical dose of 960 mg.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Mice bearing KRAS G12C human tumor cell line xenografts (incl. NSCLC): ERK inhibition and tumor growth inhibition
“In vivo, sotorasib induced dose-dependent inhibition of ERK1/2 phosphorylation and tumor growth in mice bearing subcutaneously (SC)-implanted human tumor cell lines (including NSCLC) expressing KRASG12C but not KRASG12V or KRASG12D mutations”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗
Why that model
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
EMA: in vitro and in vivo pharmacology support intended use; in vivo models and doses mostly relevant clinically
“Overall, in vitro and in vivo primary pharmacology data support the intended clinical use. Moreover, the in vivo models and the sotorasib dose range studied are considered mostly relevant for the clinical situation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Impurity or metaboliteAccepted
Exposure to major human metabolite M10 not measured in any GLP toxicology study; extrapolated from rat mass balance data
Why: ICH S9 does not require metabolite studies for anticancer drugs; 3-month rat study judged to cover M10 · Within the guideline
“Non-clinical studies with metabolites for anticancer pharmaceuticals are not warranted based on ICH S9 (ICH S9, 2009) and ICH S9 Q&A clarification (ICH S9 Q&A, 2018). Therefore, exposures to key metabolites (including M10) were not directly measured within any GLP toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
“It is agreed that the 3-month repeat-dose toxicology study in the rat evaluated sufficiently the safety of not only unchanged sotorasib, but also human major metabolite M10.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Clinical exposures exceed those at the dog HNSTD (1000 mg/kg/day) in the 3-month study
“The mean observed sotorasib clinical exposures from 180, 360, 720, and 960 mg once daily (QD) dosing in subjects (Study 20170543) were lower than the exposures observed at the STD10 of 180 mg/kg in rats in the 3-month GLP repeat-dose toxicology study (Study 150432), but higher than the exposures observed at the HNSTD of 1000 mg/kg/day in dogs”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Similar precedents