Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Derivation not stated; clinical exposures at 180-960 mg were below those at the rat STD10 but above those at the dog HNSTD
“The mean observed sotorasib clinical exposures from 180, 360, 720, and 960 mg once daily (QD) dosing in subjects (Study 20170543) were lower than the exposures observed at the STD10 of 180 mg/kg in rats in the 3-month GLP repeat-dose toxicology study (Study 150432), but higher than the exposures observed at the HNSTD of 1000 mg/kg/day in dogs”
3-month rat (oral) with 2-month recovery; 3-month dog study of equal length
“In the GLP 3-month rat toxicology study with a 2-month recovery, higher dose levels were evaluated (60, 180, and 750 mg/kg/day), which were associated with systemic exposure that exceeded the human clinical exposures.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 65Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
3-month rat and dog GLP oral repeat-dose studies
“The Applicant evaluated the safety of sotorasib using Sprague-Dawley rats and Beagle dogs in GLP-compliant repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 3 months duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
DART package
Species: DART
Rat and rabbit (EFD)
“The Applicant conducted GLP-compliant embryo-fetal development studies in Sprague-Dawley rats and New Zealand White rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 44Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat and rabbit EFD: no adverse developmental effects or embryolethality up to 4.6x human exposure
“In rat and rabbit embryo-fetal development studies, oral sotorasib did not cause adverse developmental effects or embryo-lethality at exposures up to 4.6 times the human exposure at the 960 mg clinical dose”
PPND not conducted: not needed for advanced NSCLC indication (ICH S9)
“Prenatal and postnatal development studies were not conducted or needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication (NSCLC) per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 84Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication, ICH S9)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted nor are any planned in accordance with International Council for Harmonisation (ICH) S9 (ICH, 2009).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; not needed for advanced cancer indication per ICH S9
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for advanced cancer indication (ICH S9)
“FDA agrees that carcinogenicity studies are not needed to support the use of sotorasib in the currently proposed indication per ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 76Source ↗