Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Saphnelo

anifrolumab
monoclonal antibodyIFNAR1Human IgG1-kappa anti-IFNAR1 antibody with reduced Fc effector functionModerate to severe systemic lupus erythematosus
Species
Monkey
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Cynomolgus monkey only
“All in vivo toxicity studies were conducted in cynomolgus monkeys which can be considered as a relevant species for evaluation of safety of anifrolumab.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Why that species
Binding and neutralisation activity of anifrolumab in monkey cells
“Cynomolgus monkey was selected as the pharmacologically relevant toxicology model for nonclinical safety assessment based on binding and neutralisation activity of anifrolumab in monkey cells.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical antibody was tested in cynomolgus monkeys
“All in vivo toxicity studies were conducted in cynomolgus monkeys which can be considered as a relevant species for evaluation of safety of anifrolumab.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Species: general tox
Cynomolgus monkey only (single-dose and repeat-dose up to 39 weeks)
“The nonclinical safety profile of anifrolumab was characterised in single IV dose toxicity studies in cynomolgus monkeys, in repeat dose toxicity studies in cynomolgus monkeys for up to 39-weeks of duration”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
Species: DART
Cynomolgus monkey (ePPND only); no fertility or EFD studies, fertility assessed in repeat-dose study
“A pre- and post-natal developmental toxicity study was conducted with anifrolumab in cynomolgus monkeys. Fertility or embryo-foetal developmental toxicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (anifrolumab does not bind murine IFNAR1)
“Carcinogenicity studies with anifrolumab were not conducted. Anifrolumab does not bind to murine IFNAR1 and does not inhibit the biological activity of murine IFN-α.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Yes: anti-murine IFNAR1 mAb 5A3 in scleroderma and NZB/W F1 lupus mouse models (pharmacology only)
“Anti-murine IFNAR1 MAb 5A3 (anifrolumab surrogate) was effective in a murine model of scleroderma (Study# RIA546-0007) and an accelerated NZB/W F1 murine model of lupus”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“Repeat-dose toxicity of anifrolumab was evaluated in cynomolgus monkeys in 4-weeks and 39-weeks GLP toxicity studies with an additional recovery period of 7 or 12 weeks, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus monkey 4-week IV and 39-week IV/SC weekly GLP studies
“Repeat-dose toxicity of anifrolumab was evaluated in cynomolgus monkeys in 4-weeks and 39-weeks GLP toxicity studies with an additional recovery period of 7 or 12 weeks, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Route in tox
IV (30-minute infusion) and SC, once weekly
“In this study, cynomolgus monkeys were given 40 IV infusion (30 minutes) doses of anifrolumab at 5 and 50 mg/kg/week once a week (QW) or 40 subcutaneous (SC) injection doses of anifrolumab at 15 and 60 mg/kg/week QW.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“Genetic toxicity studies have not been conducted with anifrolumab. Genetic toxicity studies are generally not applicable for biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals such as anifrolumab, as discussed in the ICH S6(R1) guidance document.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted: anifrolumab does not bind murine IFNAR1 or inhibit murine IFN-α
“Carcinogenicity studies with anifrolumab were not conducted. Anifrolumab does not bind to murine IFNAR1 and does not inhibit the biological activity of murine IFN-α.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey ePPND: no maternal toxicity, embryo-fetal toxicity or postnatal developmental effects
“There was no evidence of anifrolumab-fnia related maternal toxicity, embryo-fetal toxicity, or post-natal developmental effects.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Safety pharmacology
No stand-alone studies; ECG and blood pressure in 4- and 39-week monkey studies, no adverse CV findings; CNS/respiratory via clinical signs
“No stand-alone safety pharmacology studies were conducted with anifrolumab. The effect of anifrolumab on the CV system was evaluated in a GLP-compliant 39-week general IV toxicity study in monkeys (Study# 7140-129).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 43Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Genetic toxicity studies have not been conducted with anifrolumab. Genetic toxicity studies are generally not applicable for biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals such as anifrolumab, as discussed in the ICH S6(R1) guidance document.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Genetic toxicity studies have not been conducted with anifrolumab. Genetic toxicity studies are generally not applicable for biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals such as anifrolumab, as discussed in the ICH S6(R1) guidance document.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6)
“Genetic toxicity studies have not been conducted with anifrolumab. Genetic toxicity studies are generally not applicable for biotechnology-derived pharmaceuticals such as anifrolumab, as discussed in the ICH S6(R1) guidance document.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight of evidence (literature on IFNAR-deficient mice and chronic monkey studies)
“Instead, a weight of evidence approach consisting of data from chronic toxicity studies with anifrolumab and literature data was presented to address the risk of carcinogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; risk addressed in the RMP, no further animal studies necessary
“Based on the weight of evidence, treatment with anifrolumab is likely associated with an increased carcinogenicity risk that has been followed throughout the clinical development programme and addressed in the RMP (see Section 2.7), and thus, no further animal studies are necessary (SmPC section 5.3).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
hERG / QT
No adverse ECG or blood pressure findings in 39-week monkey study (no hERG assay)
“Electrocardiography (ECG) parameters and blood pressure (BP) parameters were measured once during the predose phase, on Days 3 and 276 of the dosing phase, and on Day 83 of the recovery phase for these animals after they were anesthetized with ketamine. No drug-related adverse CV findings were noted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Saphnelo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 39-week males: NOAEL below 5 mg/kg IV and 15 mg/kg SC due to arteritis; at least 50 IV/60 SC if arteritis excluded (EMA assessment report, p. 33)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
39-week males: NOAEL below 5 mg/kg IV and 15 mg/kg SC due to arteritis; at least 50 IV/60 SC if arteritis excluded
“Based on the arterial inflammation observed, the NOAEL for males is less than 5 mg/kg IV and 15 mg/kg SC. If the observed arteritis is not factored into the NOAEL determination, the NOAEL of anifrolumab for males is at least 50 mg/kg IV and 60 mg/kg SC, the highest doses tested.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Arteritis in high-dose males attributed to ADA-mediated immune complex deposition (anifrolumab, IgM, C3b)
“The arteritis could be due to the deposit of ADA-mediated immunocomplexes based on positive staining of anifrolumab, monkey IgM, and complement component 3b (C3b) but not monkey IgG from kidney samples of 2 HD-IV monkeys with arteritis.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Infant monkey serum on day 30 after birth 4.2-9.7% of maternal concentrations
“In the infants, mean serum concentrations of anifrolumab‑fnia on Day 30 after birth increased with dose and were approximately 4.2% to 9.7% of the respective maternal concentrations.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Modality-specific risk
Type I IFN blockade: plausible increased cancer risk given IFN anti-tumour role
“Type I interferons have a role in the anti-tumour response. Thus, it is plausible that blockade of IFNAR1 responses would potentially increase the risk of”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
39-week study: ADA in 11/48 (22.9%) treated monkeys, higher incidence at lower doses
“Anti-drug antibodies were detected in 11/48 (22.9%) animals treated with anifrolumab with higher incidence observed in animals receiving lower doses.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
ADA 2.6% (9/350) with recommended IV dosing for up to 4 years
“In Trials 2, 3, and the long-term extension trial, treatment emergent anti-anifrolumab-fnia antibodies were detected in 9 of 350 patients (ADA incidence 2.6%) who received SAPHNELO at the recommended intravenous dosing regimen for up to 4 years.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Label warnings
  • Serious Infections
  • Hypersensitivity Reactions Including Anaphylaxis
  • Malignancy
  • Immunizations
  • Not Recommended for Concomitant Use with Other Biologic Therapies
InfectionsHypersensitivity & infusion reactionsSecondary malignancy
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Saphnelo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

Use pharmacology data (target binding, receptor occupancy, in vitro human cells, PK/PD modelling) to estimate the lowest dose expected to have any biological effect (MABEL) and the active dose (PAD), and, for healthy volunteers, start at an exposure below the PAD unless robustly justified.

“these data should be used to determine the minimal anticipated biological effect level (MABEL) in humans and an estimation of the pharmacologically active dose (PAD) and/or anticipated therapeutic dose range (ATD) in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA 2017: Guideline on strategies to identify and mitigate risks for…, p. 11Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 39-week males: NOAEL below 5 mg/kg IV and 15 mg/kg SC due to arteritis; at least 50 IV/60 SC if arteritis excluded (EMA assessment report, p. 33)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week GLP cynomolgus monkey study with 12-week recovery
“Repeat-dose toxicity of anifrolumab was evaluated in cynomolgus monkeys in 4-weeks and 39-weeks GLP toxicity studies with an additional recovery period of 7 or 12 weeks, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus monkey 4-week IV and 39-week IV/SC weekly GLP studies
“Repeat-dose toxicity of anifrolumab was evaluated in cynomolgus monkeys in 4-weeks and 39-weeks GLP toxicity studies with an additional recovery period of 7 or 12 weeks, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Cynomolgus monkey (ePPND only); no fertility or EFD studies, fertility assessed in repeat-dose study
“A pre- and post-natal developmental toxicity study was conducted with anifrolumab in cynomolgus monkeys. Fertility or embryo-foetal developmental toxicity studies were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey ePPND: no maternal toxicity, embryo-fetal toxicity or postnatal developmental effects
“There was no evidence of anifrolumab-fnia related maternal toxicity, embryo-fetal toxicity, or post-natal developmental effects.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
GLP ePPND in cynomolgus monkey: completed before the marketing application
“In the GLP-compliant enhanced prenatal and postnatal development (ePPND) study in pregnant cynomolgus monkeys, no drug-related adverse effects in maternal animals or infants (body growth, behavior, functional, morphological, and skeletal development”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (anifrolumab does not bind murine IFNAR1)
“Carcinogenicity studies with anifrolumab were not conducted. Anifrolumab does not bind to murine IFNAR1 and does not inhibit the biological activity of murine IFN-α.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight of evidence (literature on IFNAR-deficient mice and chronic monkey studies)
“Instead, a weight of evidence approach consisting of data from chronic toxicity studies with anifrolumab and literature data was presented to address the risk of carcinogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; risk addressed in the RMP, no further animal studies necessary
“Based on the weight of evidence, treatment with anifrolumab is likely associated with an increased carcinogenicity risk that has been followed throughout the clinical development programme and addressed in the RMP (see Section 2.7), and thus, no further animal studies are necessary (SmPC section 5.3).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
General toxicity NOAEL >59x human AUC at MRHD (ePPND NOAEL 28x)
“The plasma exposures of anifrolumab at the no-observed-adverse-effect levels (NOAELs) for general toxicity and reproductive and developmental toxicity are >59- and 28-fold higher than the human exposure (AUC) at the MRHD.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
39-week males: NOAEL below 5 mg/kg IV and 15 mg/kg SC due to arteritis; at least 50 IV/60 SC if arteritis excluded
“Based on the arterial inflammation observed, the NOAEL for males is less than 5 mg/kg IV and 15 mg/kg SC. If the observed arteritis is not factored into the NOAEL determination, the NOAEL of anifrolumab for males is at least 50 mg/kg IV and 60 mg/kg SC, the highest doses tested.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Mouse surrogate anti-IFNAR1 mAb in spontaneous SLE mouse model (prevented proteinuria)
“The in vivo proof-of-concept was investigated in a mouse disease model of lupus, using a mouse surrogate anti-IFNAR1 mAb.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗
Why that model
Anifrolumab does not bind murine IFNAR1 or inhibit murine IFN-α
“Anifrolumab does not bind to murine IFNAR1 and does not inhibit the biological activity of murine IFN-α.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
EMA: surrogate lupus-model data supported the therapeutic rationale for type I IFN blockade in SLE
“The data generated with a mouse surrogate anti-IFNAR1 mAb in the in vivo proof-of-concept lupus disease models, supported the therapeutic rationale for blockade of type I interferon signalling in the treatment of SLE.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies for chronic SLE therapy; literature weight of evidence suggests increased malignancy risk from IFNAR blockade
Why: No binding to murine IFNAR1; likely increased carcinogenicity risk followed clinically and addressed in the RMP · No relevant species · Weight of evidence · Human data
“Carcinogenicity studies with anifrolumab were not conducted. Anifrolumab does not bind to murine IFNAR1 and does not inhibit the biological activity of murine IFN-α.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
“Based on the weight of evidence, treatment with anifrolumab is likely associated with an increased carcinogenicity risk that has been followed throughout the clinical development programme and addressed in the RMP (see Section 2.7), and thus, no further animal studies are necessary (SmPC section 5.3).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
DARTCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No dedicated embryo-foetal development study, and no justification provided for omitting it
Why: Limitations of the NHP model, no other pharmacologically responsive species and confounding SLE disease background · No relevant species
“A justification for not performing embryo-foetal developmental toxicity evaluation with anifrolumab was not provided.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
“Due to limitations of the NHP model, lack of other pharmacologically responsive species, possible species-differences, and the underlying confounding disease background in SLE patients, the CHMP concluded that further animal studies are unlikely to provide clinically meaningful data to inform about the risk to reproduction in this patient population.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗

Similar precedents