Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Trodelvy don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for ADCs

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Acute study HNSTD 60 mg/kg (no NOAEL); 13-week NOAEL/HNSTD 50 mg/kg; bone marrow, lymphoid, GI, liver, skin, female reproductive organs (EMA assessment report, p. 30)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Acute study HNSTD 60 mg/kg (no NOAEL); 13-week NOAEL/HNSTD 50 mg/kg; bone marrow, lymphoid, GI, liver, skin, female reproductive organs
“In the absence of a NOAEL, the HNSTD in this study was 60 mg/kg/dose.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗

Same question, other ADCs

Elahere

mirvetuximab soravtansine · FRα
Rationale not stated; FIH Study 0401 escalated from 0.15 mg/kg (TBW) to 7.0 mg/kg

Enhertu

fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan · HER2
1/12 HED of monkey HNSTD (0.8 mg/kg), also matching minimum effective trough concentration

Kadcyla

ado-trastuzumab emtansine · HER2
HNSTD-based: monkey HNSTD 10 mg/kg (q3w x4), below 1/10 rat severely toxic dose, used to set Phase I start

Zynlonta

loncastuximab tesirine · CD19
1/6 HNSTD in cynomolgus monkey cited as rationale for species choice; actual FIH calculation not detailed

Adcetris

brentuximab vedotin · CD30
Not stated in public reviews

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin · CD22
Not stated in public reviews

Datroway

datopotamab deruxtecan · Trop-2
Not stated in public reviews

Decnupaz

pivekimab sunirine · CD123
Not stated in public reviews

Emrelis

telisotuzumab vedotin · c-Met
Not stated in public reviews

Mylotarg

gemtuzumab ozogamicin · CD33
Not stated in public reviews

Padcev

enfortumab vedotin · Nectin-4
Not stated in public reviews

Polivy

polatuzumab vedotin · CD79b
Not stated in public reviews

Tivdak

tisotumab vedotin · Tissue factor
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 14 ADCs →