Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Wayrilz

rilzabrutinib
small moleculeBTK (reversible covalent)Oral small-molecule reversible covalent BTK inhibitorPersistent or chronic immune thrombocytopenia (ITP)
Species
RatDog
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“the rat and dog were considered appropriate primary models for nonclinical safety studies, based on the similarity of oral bioavailability and metabolite profiles in these species to”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 50Source ↗
Why that species
BTK ~99% homologous between human and mouse, rat, dog and rabbit, with identical binding sites
“This is because mouse, rat, dog, and rabbit BTK are nearly identical to the human version of the protein (approximately 99% homologous amino acid sequence), with no differences in the sites where rilzabrutinib binds.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 50Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“Study 1281-16100: Nine-Month Oral GLP Toxicity Study of Rilzabrutinib in Beagle Dogs”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 127Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat (up to 6 months) and dog (up to 9 months)
“repeat-dose toxicity studies in rats (13-day; 2-week; 1-, 3-, and 6-month), and dogs (4-day; 2- and 12-week, 1-, 3-, and 9-month)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat (fertility, EFD, pre/postnatal) and rabbit (EFD)
“reproductive toxicology studies (male and female fertility study in rats; embryo-fetal toxicity in rats and rabbits, pre- and postnatal development toxicity study in rats)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Tg rasH2 mouse (6-month) and rat (2-year)
“Rilzabrutinib was not carcinogenic in a 6-month study in Tg.rasH2 mice at doses up to 300 mg/kg/day. In a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study at doses of 10, 30 or 100 and 5, 15 or 50 mg/kg/day in males and females, respectively, there were no rilzabrutinib-related tumors.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used; rodent and dog BTK nearly identical to human at the binding site
“This is because mouse, rat, dog, and rabbit BTK are nearly identical to the human version of the protein (approximately 99% homologous amino acid sequence), with no differences in the sites where rilzabrutinib binds.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 50Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 (9-month dog)
“Study 1281-16100: Nine-Month Oral GLP Toxicity Study of Rilzabrutinib in Beagle Dogs”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 127Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
6-month rat and 9-month dog studies
“repeat-dose toxicity studies in rats (13-day; 2-week; 1-, 3-, and 6-month), and dogs (4-day; 2- and 12-week, 1-, 3-, and 9-month)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral gavage
“Dose and frequency of dosing 0, 15, 30, and 50 mg/kg/day Route of administration Oral gavage”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 127Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro human lymphocyte chromosome aberration and rat bone marrow micronucleus assays
“Rilzabrutinib was not mutagenic in an in vitro bacterial reverse mutagenicity (Ames) assay, was not clastogenic in an in vitro human peripheral lymphocyte chromosomal aberration assay, nor was it clastogenic in an in vivo bone marrow micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity
6-month Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat: no drug-related tumors
“Rilzabrutinib was not carcinogenic in a 6-month study in Tg.rasH2 mice at doses up to 300 mg/kg/day. In a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study at doses of 10, 30 or 100 and 5, 15 or 50 mg/kg/day in males and females, respectively, there were no rilzabrutinib-related tumors.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Adverse visceral and skeletal fetal findings in rats at a maternally toxic dose (22x human exposure)
“However, adverse visceral and skeletal findings occurred in rat fetuses at a maternally toxic dose at exposures 22 times the human exposure (based on AUC) at the MRHD (see Animal Data).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 99Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No adverse CNS, respiratory or cardiovascular (including QTc) effects at doses up to 500 mg/kg
“The in vivo studies were conducted at doses up to 500 mg/kg, which did not show any adverse rilzabrutinib-related effects in the CNS, respiratory or cardiovascular systems (including QTc).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 115Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (not mutagenic in Ames assay)
“Rilzabrutinib was not mutagenic in an in vitro bacterial reverse mutagenicity (Ames) assay, was not clastogenic in an in vitro human peripheral lymphocyte chromosomal aberration assay, nor was it clastogenic in an in vivo bone marrow micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Human peripheral lymphocyte chromosomal aberration assay: negative
“Rilzabrutinib was not mutagenic in an in vitro bacterial reverse mutagenicity (Ames) assay, was not clastogenic in an in vitro human peripheral lymphocyte chromosomal aberration assay, nor was it clastogenic in an in vivo bone marrow micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Rat bone marrow micronucleus assay: negative
“Rilzabrutinib was not mutagenic in an in vitro bacterial reverse mutagenicity (Ames) assay, was not clastogenic in an in vitro human peripheral lymphocyte chromosomal aberration assay, nor was it clastogenic in an in vivo bone marrow micronucleus assay in rats.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
6-month Tg rasH2 mouse (up to 300 mg/kg/day); 2-year rat; no drug-related tumors
“Rilzabrutinib was not carcinogenic in a 6-month study in Tg.rasH2 mice at doses up to 300 mg/kg/day. In a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study at doses of 10, 30 or 100 and 5, 15 or 50 mg/kg/day in males and females, respectively, there were no rilzabrutinib-related tumors.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
2-year rat and 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse studies completed and submitted with the marketing application
“In this submission the sponsor included reports of two animal carcinogenicity studies, one in rats and one in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 284Source ↗
hERG / QT
hERG IC50 ~621-fold above projected free Cmax (3.75 ng/mL) at 400 mg BID; adequate margin
“At a projected Cmax of 150 ng/mL, corresponding to a 400 mg BID dose, the estimated maximum free drug concentration would be only 3.75 ng/mL (assuming a free fraction of 2.5%). This free drug concentration is approximately 621-fold below the hERG IC50, providing an adequate safety margin.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 115Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Wayrilz don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rat NOAEL 50 mg/kg/day; mortality, meninges/neuropil inflammation and stomach hemorrhage/inflammation at higher doses (FDA integrated review, p. 121)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Rat NOAEL 50 mg/kg/day; mortality, meninges/neuropil inflammation and stomach hemorrhage/inflammation at higher doses
“The no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) was defined at 50 mg/kg/day based on mortality, inflammation of meninges/neuropil and hemorrhage/inflammation of stomach at higher doses”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 121Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No dedicated immunotoxicity studies submitted
“No dedicated immunotoxicity studies were submitted in Module 4.2.3.7.2 of this dossier.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 43Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Higher concentrations in pigmented tissues (uveal tract, skin) than non-pigmented, suggesting melanin binding
“Rilzabrutinib concentrations in the pigmented tissues (eye uveal, skin) were higher than nonpigmented tissues suggesting rilzabrutinib may interact with melanin.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 118Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Neurotoxicity in rats: neutrophil influx into meninges and neuropil, with unknown long-term clinical effects
“Deficiencies included findings of neurotoxicity in animal models based on influx of neutrophils into meninges and neuropil and the unknown long-term clinical effects when considering the potential for chronic use in ITP.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 101Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Label warnings
  • Serious Infections
  • Hepatotoxicity, Including Drug-Induced Liver Injury
  • Embryo-Fetal Toxicity
InfectionsHepatotoxicityEmbryo-fetal toxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human study in healthy volunteers (PRN1008-001)
“Study PRN1008-001 (FIH study in HV): Mean apparent volume of distribution (Vz/F) ranged from 6720 to 4890 L.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 61Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Wayrilz don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rat NOAEL 50 mg/kg/day; mortality, meninges/neuropil inflammation and stomach hemorrhage/inflammation at higher doses (FDA integrated review, p. 121)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week (9-month) dog study with 4-week recovery
“For the 9-month dog study with a 4-week recovery period (study DVR0377) Beagle dogs were treated”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
6-month rat and 9-month dog studies
“repeat-dose toxicity studies in rats (13-day; 2-week; 1-, 3-, and 6-month), and dogs (4-day; 2- and 12-week, 1-, 3-, and 9-month)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (fertility, EFD, pre/postnatal) and rabbit (EFD)
“reproductive toxicology studies (male and female fertility study in rats; embryo-fetal toxicity in rats and rabbits, pre- and postnatal development toxicity study in rats)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Adverse visceral and skeletal fetal findings in rats at a maternally toxic dose (22x human exposure)
“However, adverse visceral and skeletal findings occurred in rat fetuses at a maternally toxic dose at exposures 22 times the human exposure (based on AUC) at the MRHD (see Animal Data).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 99Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in rat completed before the marketing application
“In a pre- and postnatal developmental toxicity study, pregnant rats were given rilzabrutinib by oral gavage at doses of 50, 150, or 300 mg/kg/day during the periods of gestation, parturition, and lactation (gestation day 7 to lactation day 21).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 99Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Tg rasH2 mouse (6-month) and rat (2-year)
“Rilzabrutinib was not carcinogenic in a 6-month study in Tg.rasH2 mice at doses up to 300 mg/kg/day. In a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study at doses of 10, 30 or 100 and 5, 15 or 50 mg/kg/day in males and females, respectively, there were no rilzabrutinib-related tumors.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
6-month Tg rasH2 mouse (up to 300 mg/kg/day); 2-year rat; no drug-related tumors
“Rilzabrutinib was not carcinogenic in a 6-month study in Tg.rasH2 mice at doses up to 300 mg/kg/day. In a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study at doses of 10, 30 or 100 and 5, 15 or 50 mg/kg/day in males and females, respectively, there were no rilzabrutinib-related tumors.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
2-year rat and 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse studies completed and submitted with the marketing application
“In this submission the sponsor included reports of two animal carcinogenicity studies, one in rats and one in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 284Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Chronic rat NOAEL (50 mg/kg/day) exposure approximated clinical AUC at MRHD 400 mg BID
“The no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) was defined at 50 mg/kg/day based on mortality, inflammation of meninges/neuropil and hemorrhage/inflammation of stomach at higher doses with corresponding AUC0-24 2060 and 5760 ng*h/mL in males and females. Exposures at the NOAEL approximated the clinical exposures at the MRHD of 400 mg BID, based on AUC.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 121Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Rat NOAEL 50 mg/kg/day; mortality, meninges/neuropil inflammation and stomach hemorrhage/inflammation at higher doses
“The no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) was defined at 50 mg/kg/day based on mortality, inflammation of meninges/neuropil and hemorrhage/inflammation of stomach at higher doses”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 121Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Mouse anti-CD41 antibody-induced ITP model; also rat collagen-induced arthritis and canine pemphigus
“In a murine model for ITP, rilzabrutinib pretreated animals were stressed with an intraperitoneal injection of an anti-CD41 antibody to induce thrombocytopenia (DVR0288).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Why that model
BTK ~99% conserved across mouse, rat, dog, rabbit and human, with identical binding sites
“This is because mouse, rat, dog, and rabbit BTK are nearly identical to the human version of the protein (approximately 99% homologous amino acid sequence), with no differences in the sites where rilzabrutinib binds.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 50Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
EMA: in the pivotal ITP model, drug did not prevent the platelet drop or accelerate recovery
“Hence, in the pivotal animal model, rilzabrutinib was not able to prevent full drop in platelets, was not able to reduce the drop velocity of platelets and was not able to significantly accelerate the recovery in platelet numbers.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Chronic rat NOAEL exposure only approximated clinical AUC at the maximum recommended dose
“Exposures at the NOAEL approximated the clinical exposures at the MRHD of 400 mg BID, based on AUC.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 121Source ↗
Impurity or metaboliteCriticised but accepted
Impurities qualified with a generic 4-fold dose margin, which the reviewer found unexplained
Why: Dose margins revised from results of study TXC1711 (ICH Q3A(R2)) · Within the guideline
“A generic acceptability criterium of 4 to regard impurities as qualified is not explained any further.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 56Source ↗
“Dose margins of rilzabrutinib impurities qualified under ICH Q3A(R2) were revised based on the results from study TXC1711. This is acknowledged and listed impurities (specifically PRN3232, PRN3590 and PRN1418) are considered qualified at their respective proposed specification levels.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 56Source ↗
Juvenile toxAcceptedBeyond the letter
Juvenile rat study programme dropped from the paediatric plan
Why: Paediatric waiver extended; not needed for an adult indication · Other reason
“A programme of juvenile animal studies was initiated in rats aged 10 days to support paediatric development of rilzabrutinib from 1 year of age, but subsequently deleted from the PIP due to extension of the waiver to patients below 10 years of age.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
“It is agreed that additional JAS is not needed to support the current MAA for the treatment of adult patients.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 55Source ↗
DARTAccepted
Milk transfer and offspring toxicokinetics not assessed in the pre- and postnatal study
Why: ICH S5 does not strictly demand toxicokinetic assessment in maternal milk · Within the guideline
“Transfer of Rilzabrutinib into maternal milk was not assessed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
“It is agreed that ICH S5 (see 3.5.) does not strictly demand the toxicokinetic assessment of substances in maternal milk.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 55Source ↗

Similar precedents