Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Tryngolza

olezarsen
oligonucleotideAPOC3 (ASO)GalNAc3-conjugated 2'-MOE ASO targeting apoC-III mRNA (SC monthly)Familial chylomicronemia syndrome (FCS), adjunct to diet
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Mouse (with surrogate) and cynomolgus monkey
“The general toxicity of olezarsen has been characterized in repeat-dose toxicity studies in CD-1 mice and cynomolgus monkeys in studies of up to 26- and 39-weeks duration, respectively, with once-weekly SC injections.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 220Source ↗
Why that species
Full sequence complementarity to human and cynomolgus apoC-III mRNA; mouse sequence diverges
“Olezarsen exhibits full complementarity to the apoC-III mRNA transcript of humans and cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 44Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
Yes: mouse-specific GalNAc3 ASO ISIS 838707 in mouse pharmacology and 26-week mouse tox
“In wild-type mice, a mouse-specific apoC-III surrogate ASO was used (ISIS 838707, a murine”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 43Source ↗
Species: general tox
CD-1 mouse and cynomolgus monkey
“The general toxicity of olezarsen has been characterized in repeat-dose toxicity studies in CD-1 mice and cynomolgus monkeys in studies of up to 26- and 39-weeks duration, respectively, with once-weekly SC injections.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 220Source ↗
Species: DART
Mice and/or rabbits for EFD and pre-/postnatal studies with the unconjugated ASO (volanesorsen)
“The Agency agreed that embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development evaluations conducted with the unconjugated active ASO component of olezarsen in mice and/or rabbits were adequate to support a marketing application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 200Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse and rat lifetime studies with unconjugated volanesorsen; none with olezarsen
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Yes: mouse-specific apoC-III surrogate ASO for mouse pharmacology and repeat-dose toxicity
“Non-clinical studies were mainly conducted in monkeys, except for some cases where a mouse specific surrogate inhibitor of apoC-III mRNA was used for pharmacodynamic (PD) and repeated-dose toxicity studies in mouse.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 22Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“In a 39-week monkey toxicity study that included a 26-week recovery period, olezarsen induced a marked reduction in platelet count (>98% decrease) in a single male animal at the 12 mg/kg/wk”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 102Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP weekly SC: CD-1 mouse 26 weeks (13-wk recovery); cynomolgus monkey 39 weeks (26-wk recovery)
“The nonclinical evaluation of the safety of olezarsen included repeat-dose general toxicology studies of up to 26 and 39-weeks in duration with 13 and 26-week recovery periods in mice and monkeys, respectively”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 102Source ↗
Route in tox
Subcutaneous (once weekly)
“once-weekly SC injections. These studies included 13- and 26-week recovery periods in the mouse and monkey, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 220Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted; negative (Ames, chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“Olezarsen was not mutagenic in vitro or in vivo.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted with olezarsen; relied on volanesorsen lifetime mouse/rat studies (tumors of uncertain relevance)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse FEED study with olezarsen; EFD and PPND bridged from volanesorsen (mice/rabbits)
“The Agency agreed that embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development evaluations conducted with the unconjugated active ASO component of olezarsen in mice and/or rabbits were adequate to support a marketing application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 200Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Stand-alone in vitro hERG and single ascending-dose SC monkey CV/respiratory/CNS study; no relevant effects
“Other than a transient increase in heart rate at the highest dose at 360 minutes, there were no effects on cardiovascular, respiratory, or central nervous system functioning observed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 213Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (no mutagenic potential in bacterial systems)
“Overall, this test concluded that olezarsen does not possess mutagenic potential in bacterial systems.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Chromosome aberration in CHL cells: negative
“Consequently, olezarsen was considered negative for clastogenicity, meaning it did not cause chromosomal damage in CHL cells up to the highest concentration tested.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
In vivo micronucleus assay: negative
“For genotoxicity, the studies conducted did not show any mutagenic or clastogenic potential, with negative results in the Ames test, chromosome aberration assay, and in vivo micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted with olezarsen; lifetime mouse and rat studies of unconjugated volanesorsen relied on
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for olezarsen: volanesorsen carcinogenicity data accepted by FDA and EMA
“they determined that no additional carcinogenicity studies were required for olezarsen, and that the data from volanesorsen’s carcinogenicity studies were sufficient to support olezarsen.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
hERG / QT
Minimal hERG reduction (<2%) at 30 and 300 µM; IC50 >300 µM
“At concentrations of 30 and 300 µM, minimal reductions (<2%) in hERG current were noted. The IC50 was considered >300µM (greater than 1000 times the human exposure).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 213Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Tryngolza don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk (6x BSA margin); mouse NOAEL 2 mg/kg/wk; liver, kidney, injection site, thrombocytopenia (FDA integrated review, p. 220)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk (6x BSA margin); mouse NOAEL 2 mg/kg/wk; liver, kidney, injection site, thrombocytopenia
“Drug-related effects consistent with the expected toxicities of an ASO with a phosphorothioate backbone were evident in the liver, kidney, and spleen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 220Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Complement activation (Bb up, C3 down) in monkeys; MCP-1/CRP/IFN-gamma increases; ADAs in 25-62.5% of monkeys
“Dose-dependent increases in complement Bb were seen at all dosages.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Rapid distribution to liver and kidney; ASGPR-mediated liver uptake saturates at high doses
“Distribution to tissues in mouse and monkey was responsible for the initial rapid plasma clearance, with the highest concentrations present in liver and kidney.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 217Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
ASO class: thrombocytopenia, hepatic effects, injection site reactions, hypersensitivity/complement activation
“Potentially clinically relevant observations from repeat-dose toxicity studies with olezarsen (also observed with volanesorsen, the unconjugated ASO) included thrombocytopenia, effects on the liver, injection site reactions, and hypersensitivity/inflammatory responses”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 102Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
ADAs in 25.0-62.5% of monkeys after 9 months (2-30 mg/kg)
“However, regarding immunogenicity, the incidence of anti-drug antibodies (ADA) was notable, with 25.0% to 62.5% of monkeys developing antibodies after 9 months of treatment at doses between 2 to 30 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
42% (18/43) of FCS patients developed treatment-emergent ADAs through 53 weeks
“In Trial 1, among patients with FCS treated with TRYNGOLZA, 18 of 43 patients (42%) developed treatment-emergent anti-drug antibodies (ADAs) through 53 weeks of treatment.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Label warnings
  • Hypersensitivity Reactions
  • Liver Enzyme Abnormalities
Hypersensitivity & infusion reactionsHepatotoxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Tryngolza don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk (6x BSA margin); mouse NOAEL 2 mg/kg/wk; liver, kidney, injection site, thrombocytopenia (FDA integrated review, p. 220)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week monkey study with 26-week recovery
“In a 39-week monkey toxicity study that included a 26-week recovery period, olezarsen induced a marked reduction in platelet count (>98% decrease)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 102Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP weekly SC: CD-1 mouse 26 weeks (13-wk recovery); cynomolgus monkey 39 weeks (26-wk recovery)
“The nonclinical evaluation of the safety of olezarsen included repeat-dose general toxicology studies of up to 26 and 39-weeks in duration with 13 and 26-week recovery periods in mice and monkeys, respectively”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 102Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mice and/or rabbits for EFD and pre-/postnatal studies with the unconjugated ASO (volanesorsen)
“The Agency agreed that embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development evaluations conducted with the unconjugated active ASO component of olezarsen in mice and/or rabbits were adequate to support a marketing application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 200Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse FEED study with olezarsen; EFD and PPND bridged from volanesorsen (mice/rabbits)
“The Agency agreed that embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development evaluations conducted with the unconjugated active ASO component of olezarsen in mice and/or rabbits were adequate to support a marketing application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 200Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted with olezarsen: waived; mouse PPND with unconjugated volanesorsen relied on
“Studies evaluating embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development were not conducted with olezarsen as there were no effects on parameters evaluated in these studies conducted with the unconjugated ASO volanesorsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 230Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse and rat lifetime studies with unconjugated volanesorsen; none with olezarsen
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted with olezarsen; lifetime mouse and rat studies of unconjugated volanesorsen relied on
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for olezarsen: volanesorsen carcinogenicity data accepted by FDA and EMA
“they determined that no additional carcinogenicity studies were required for olezarsen, and that the data from volanesorsen’s carcinogenicity studies were sufficient to support olezarsen.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk ~6x MRHD (80 mg/month) by BSA
“This NOAEL of 6 mg/kg/wk gives a 6x safety margin based on BSA relative to maximum recommended human dose of 80 mg/month.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 225Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk (6x BSA margin); mouse NOAEL 2 mg/kg/wk; liver, kidney, injection site, thrombocytopenia
“Drug-related effects consistent with the expected toxicities of an ASO with a phosphorothioate backbone were evident in the liver, kidney, and spleen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 220Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Human apoC-III transgenic mice, wild-type CD-1 mice (mouse surrogate) and cynomolgus monkeys; primary hepatocytes in vitro
“Olezarsen was evaluated in vitro in primary hepatocytes, transgenic mice expressing human apoC-III, wild-type (normal) CD-1 mice and cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 22Source ↗
Why that model
Surrogate needed in wild-type mice due to mouse/human apoC-III mRNA sequence divergence
“due to the divergence in sequence between mouse and human apoC-III mRNA”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 44Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: animal models gave reasonable proof-of-concept supporting human trials
“Results from these animal models provide reasonable proof-of-concept that supported the initiation of human trials as assessed using a clinically translatable and monitorable pharmacological endpoint, plasma TG.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 44Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
CarcinogenicityCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies with olezarsen; lifetime mouse and rat studies of unconjugated same-sequence ASO volanesorsen relied on
Why: Volanesorsen data accepted by FDA and EMA as applicable; absence of direct olezarsen data leaves some uncertainty · Class precedent
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
“This rationale was accepted by both regulatory authorities (US FDA and EMA CHMP) and is considered applicable to humans, though the absence of direct carcinogenicity data for olezarsen itself does leave some uncertainty.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No embryofetal or pre-/postnatal development studies with olezarsen; bridged from volanesorsen mouse/rabbit studies
Why: No effects in the same studies with unconjugated active ASO volanesorsen · Class precedent
“Studies evaluating embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development were not conducted with olezarsen as there were no effects on parameters evaluated in these studies conducted with the unconjugated ASO volanesorsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 230Source ↗
“The Agency agreed that embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development evaluations conducted with the unconjugated active ASO component of olezarsen in mice and/or rabbits were adequate to support a marketing application.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 200Source ↗
Juvenile toxAcceptedBeyond the letter
No juvenile animal toxicity studies with olezarsen; volanesorsen data relied on
Why: Available volanesorsen data considered sufficient · Class precedent
“In conclusion, based on the available data from volanesorsen, no additional juvenile toxicity studies for olezarsen are warranted at this time.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Similar precedents