Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Kynamro

mipomersen
oligonucleotideAPOB (ASO)20-mer 2'-MOE gapmer phosphorothioate antisense oligonucleotide, subcutaneousHomozygous familial hypercholesterolemia
Species
MonkeyRatMouse
Longest study
52 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Partial / alternative Partly stated

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Mouse, rat and cynomolgus monkey (clinical ASO plus rodent surrogates)
“Mipomersen toxicity has been assessed primarily in the mouse, rat and monkey, with studies of up to 2-years duration (carcinogenicity studies) available for evaluation in the rodents and up to 1-year for the monkey.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
Why that species
Monkey ~95% apoB sequence match (reduced activity); rodents/dog/rabbit inactive; monkey chosen for class PK similarity
“Species-specific differences in the nucleotide sequence of apoB mRNA caused a reduction (monkey) or complete loss (mouse, rat, dog and rabbit) of the intended pharmacological activity of mipomersen in these species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
Yes: species-specific surrogate ASOs (mouse ISIS 147764, rat, rabbit ISIS 233183) included in pivotal rodent studies
“For this reason, most pharmacology studies have been conducted with surrogate molecules that optimize base pairing between the ASO and the species-specific apoB target mRNA. Pivotal toxicology studies in rodents have also included an arm with the species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Species: general tox
Mouse, rat and cynomolgus monkey
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies with mipomersen were performed using a subcutaneous injection for time intervals of 3 and 6 months in mice, 13 weeks and 5 months in rats, and 5 weeks, 13 weeks, and 12 months in cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Species: DART
Mouse, rat and rabbit (plus juvenile rat)
“The toxicology programme of mipomersen includes repeat dose studies in mouse, rat and monkey, in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity studies, reproductive and developmental studies in mouse, rat and rabbit, carcinogenicity studies in mouse and rat, and special toxicity studies such as immunotoxicity in mouse and juvenile toxicology in rat.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse and rat (2-year), with species-specific surrogate arm
“2-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in both the mouse and the rat with mipomersen and the relevant species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Yes: species-specific surrogate ASOs for most pharmacology studies and a surrogate arm in pivotal rodent toxicology studies
“For this reason, most pharmacology studies have been conducted with surrogate molecules that optimize base pairing between the ASO and the species-specific apoB target mRNA. Pivotal toxicology studies in rodents have also included an arm with the species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
52 weeks
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies with mipomersen were performed using a subcutaneous injection for time intervals of 3 and 6 months in mice, 13 weeks and 5 months in rats, and 5 weeks, 13 weeks, and 12 months in cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
SC: 3- and 6-month mouse, 5-month rat, 13-week (SC/IV) and 1-year monkey; 2-year mouse and rat carcinogenicity
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies with mipomersen were performed using a subcutaneous injection for time intervals of 3 and 6 months in mice, 13 weeks and 5 months in rats, and 5 weeks, 13 weeks, and 12 months in cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Route in tox
Subcutaneous (clinical route); IV infusion arm in 13-week monkey study
“A 13-Week Toxicity Study and Pharmacokinetic Study of ISIS 301012 Administered by Intravenous Infusion or Subcutaneous Injection to Cynomolgus Monkeys, with a 13-Week Recovery Period”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 35Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted; negative (Ames, mouse lymphoma, mouse micronucleus)
“Mipomersen sodium did not exhibit genotoxic potential in a battery of studies, including the in vitro Bacterial Reverse Mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro cytogenetics assay using a mouse lymphoma cell line, and an in vivo micronucleus assay in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
2-year SC mouse and rat: hepatocellular adenomas (mouse), skin/subcutis fibrosarcoma/histiocytoma, hemangiosarcoma
“The Committee concluded that hepatocellular adenomas and combined hepatocellular adenomas or carcinomas were drug-related in female mice administered 60 mg/kg/week mipomersen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility/EFD and rabbit EFD (not teratogenic); rat PPND pup effects; juvenile rat study
“Mipomersen was not teratogenic in mice or rabbits at doses providing modest margins of exposure (2 to 5 times) compared to humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
hERG, mouse respiratory and Irwin studies; CV telemetry within 13-week monkey tox study
“Heart rate, mean arterial pressure and EKG were evaluated by telemetry in monkeys after single and repeat doses of 3 to 35 mg/kg/wk for 13 weeks (Study AS02).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 39Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“Mipomersen sodium did not exhibit genotoxic potential in a battery of studies, including the in vitro Bacterial Reverse Mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro cytogenetics assay using a mouse lymphoma cell line, and an in vivo micronucleus assay in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Mouse lymphoma cytogenetics assay: negative
“Mipomersen sodium did not exhibit genotoxic potential in a battery of studies, including the in vitro Bacterial Reverse Mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro cytogenetics assay using a mouse lymphoma cell line, and an in vivo micronucleus assay in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Mouse micronucleus: negative
“Mipomersen sodium did not exhibit genotoxic potential in a battery of studies, including the in vitro Bacterial Reverse Mutation (Ames) assay, an in vitro cytogenetics assay using a mouse lymphoma cell line, and an in vivo micronucleus assay in mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year mouse and rat (mipomersen plus species-specific surrogate)
“2-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in both the mouse and the rat with mipomersen and the relevant species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
2-year rat and mouse studies completed before the marketing application and found adequate by ECAC
“Two year carcinogenicity studies of mipomersen were conducted in rats and mice. The Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee found the studies adequate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
hERG / QT
Negative in hERG assay
“Conclusion was mipomersen was negative in hERG assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 39Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Applicant estimated safe starting dose from nonclinical results; method not specified
“In addition, on the basis of these non-clinical studies the applicant estimated an acceptable safe starting dose for humans based on the results observed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
1-year monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/week (vascular intimal hyperplasia at 30); kidney NOAEL 3 mg/kg/week; liver, kidney, thrombocytopenia
“In a chronic monkey study, multi-focal intimal hyperplasia with mixed inflammatory infiltrates was evident in vascular beds in 2 of 6 monkeys treated for 12 months with 30 mg/kg/week with a no-observed-adverse-effect-level (NOAEL) of 10 mg/kg/week”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Class proinflammatory effects (MCP-1, IL-1b, CRP); alternative complement activation, C3 depletion in monkeys; no clear ADA
“Complement activation was apparent in monkeys at SC doses of > 20 mg/kg (~7x clinical exposure) and at intravenous (IV) doses as low as 12 mg/kg, as evidenced by transient rises in the level of the complement factor B split product, Bb, and the depletion of complement factor C3 with repeated dosing.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Highest in kidney and liver, also spleen, lymph nodes, bone marrow; little in muscle, eye, brain; steady state 3-6 months
“The organs showing the highest tissue levels in all species are kidney, liver, spleen, lymph nodes and bone marrow, with the kidney and liver showing the highest concentrations. Little to no drug distributes to skeletal muscle, eye or the brain.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
PS-ASO class effects: complement activation, inflammation, vascular lesions, thrombocytopenia, renal/hepatic accumulation, rodent tumors
“The major findings observed in repeat-dose toxicity studies were similar to the toxicity profile previously observed with other antisense oligodeoxynucleotides: poor local tolerance, increased coagulation time, complement activation, haematotoxicity, stimulation of the immune system, and uptake of the test article in kidney and liver with subsequent lesions.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
No antigenicity in mice; 5 of 54 monkeys potentially positive, random and not dose-dependent
“In the mouse, there was no evidence of antigenicity. In the 54 tested monkeys, the majority of samples tested were negative for anti-mipomersen Ab. Potentially positive responses were observed in 5 monkeys, but these occurred randomly across dose groups, at scattered time-points, and were not dose-dependent.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Applicant estimated safe starting dose from nonclinical results; method not specified
“In addition, on the basis of these non-clinical studies the applicant estimated an acceptable safe starting dose for humans based on the results observed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
12-month cynomolgus monkey (SC, weekly) with 6-month recovery
“As it was commented above the primary effects of mipomersen after 12 months of dosing were limited to the 30 mg/kg/week dose group and included decreases in platelet count, a decrease in total complement factor C3, as well as minimal degenerative changes Kynamro Page 26/114 and vacuolation in tubular epithelial cells in the kidney, most of which were recovered to baseline levels during a 6 month recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
SC: 3- and 6-month mouse, 5-month rat, 13-week (SC/IV) and 1-year monkey; 2-year mouse and rat carcinogenicity
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies with mipomersen were performed using a subcutaneous injection for time intervals of 3 and 6 months in mice, 13 weeks and 5 months in rats, and 5 weeks, 13 weeks, and 12 months in cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse, rat and rabbit (plus juvenile rat)
“The toxicology programme of mipomersen includes repeat dose studies in mouse, rat and monkey, in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity studies, reproductive and developmental studies in mouse, rat and rabbit, carcinogenicity studies in mouse and rat, and special toxicity studies such as immunotoxicity in mouse and juvenile toxicology in rat.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility/EFD and rabbit EFD (not teratogenic); rat PPND pup effects; juvenile rat study
“Mipomersen was not teratogenic in mice or rabbits at doses providing modest margins of exposure (2 to 5 times) compared to humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat PPND completed and reviewed before the marketing application; NOAEL 7 mg/kg/week
“The NOAEL for pre- and post-natal development in the rat is considered to be 7 mg/kg/week based on reduced bodyweight gain and impaired performance in the visual placing response and grip strength.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 262Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse and rat (2-year), with species-specific surrogate arm
“2-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in both the mouse and the rat with mipomersen and the relevant species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year mouse and rat (mipomersen plus species-specific surrogate)
“2-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in both the mouse and the rat with mipomersen and the relevant species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
2-year rat and mouse studies completed before the marketing application and found adequate by ECAC
“Two year carcinogenicity studies of mipomersen were conducted in rats and mice. The Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee found the studies adequate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Monkey chronic (12-month) NOAEL 10 mg/kg/week approximates clinical exposure at 200 mg/wk (body surface area)
“In a chronic monkey study, multi-focal intimal hyperplasia with mixed inflammatory infiltrates was evident in vascular beds in 2 of 6 monkeys treated for 12 months with 30 mg/kg/week with a no-observed-adverse-effect-level (NOAEL) of 10 mg/kg/week (clinical exposures anticipated from a 200 mg/wk dose based on body surface area comparisons across species).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
1-year monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/week (vascular intimal hyperplasia at 30); kidney NOAEL 3 mg/kg/week; liver, kidney, thrombocytopenia
“In a chronic monkey study, multi-focal intimal hyperplasia with mixed inflammatory infiltrates was evident in vascular beds in 2 of 6 monkeys treated for 12 months with 30 mg/kg/week with a no-observed-adverse-effect-level (NOAEL) of 10 mg/kg/week”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Species-specific surrogate apoB ASOs in mouse, hamster, rabbit and monkey lipid models (mouse atherosclerosis models)
“Nonclinical pharmacology studies with these apoB antisense inhibitors have shown rapid reduction of hepatic apoB mRNA and protein, and reductions in serum apoB, LDL-C and total-C in mouse, hamster, rabbit and monkey models.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Why that model
apoB mRNA sequence differences reduce (monkey) or abolish (mouse, rat, dog, rabbit) mipomersen activity
“Species-specific differences in the nucleotide sequence of apoB mRNA caused a reduction (monkey) or complete loss (mouse, rat, dog and rabbit) of the intended pharmacological activity of mipomersen in these species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: surrogate studies provide proof-of-concept for targeting apoB100 with antisense
“These studies provide proof-of-concept support for the utility of targeting apoB100 using antisense molecules.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
SpeciesAcceptedBeyond the letter
Mipomersen inactive in rodents and only partly active in monkey; pivotal rodent studies added a species-specific surrogate arm
Why: apoB mRNA sequence differences abolish or reduce mipomersen activity in animal species · No relevant species · Pharmacology or kinetics
“Species-specific differences in the nucleotide sequence of apoB mRNA caused a reduction (monkey) or complete loss (mouse, rat, dog and rabbit) of the intended pharmacological activity of mipomersen in these species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
“In general, the nonclinical program has not identified any toxicity specifically associated with reduction in apoB100 expression (via use of species-specific surrogates) that was not also seen with mipomersen (which is only partially active in monkeys and not active in rodents or rabbits).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 254Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyAcceptedBeyond the letter
Cardiovascular safety study conducted in monkeys instead of dogs
Why: Monkey model shown to be suitable for the preclinical development · Other reason
“The CHMP noted that monkeys instead of dogs were used in the cardiovascular safety study. However, taking into account the suitability of the monkey model showed for the preclinical development it is considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 19Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Chronic monkey NOAEL (10 mg/kg/week) corresponds to anticipated clinical exposure at 200 mg/week; no margin
“In a chronic monkey study, multi-focal intimal hyperplasia with mixed inflammatory infiltrates was evident in vascular beds in 2 of 6 monkeys treated for 12 months with 30 mg/kg/week with a no-observed-adverse-effect-level (NOAEL) of 10 mg/kg/week (clinical exposures anticipated from a 200 mg/wk dose based on body surface area comparisons across species).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Efficacy modelQuestioned
Hepatic lipids not measured in the most hypercholesterolaemic mouse models despite steatosis concern
“While none of the pharmacology studies revealed a clear potential for apoB antisense inhibitors to cause or exacerbate hepatic steatosis, it is notable that studies in the models that have the greatest degree of hypercholesterolemia (the LDLr- Deficient Mouse, the Human ApoB transgenic/LDLr-Deficient Mouse, and the ApoE-Deficient Mouse) failed to assess hepatic lipid levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗

Similar precedents