Not conducted with olezarsen; relied on volanesorsen lifetime mouse/rat studies (tumors of uncertain relevance)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse FEED study with olezarsen; EFD and PPND bridged from volanesorsen (mice/rabbits)
“The Agency agreed that embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development evaluations conducted with the unconjugated active ASO component of olezarsen in mice and/or rabbits were adequate to support a marketing application.”
Stand-alone in vitro hERG and single ascending-dose SC monkey CV/respiratory/CNS study; no relevant effects
“Other than a transient increase in heart rate at the highest dose at 360 minutes, there were no effects on cardiovascular, respiratory, or central nervous system functioning observed.”
“Consequently, olezarsen was considered negative for clastogenicity, meaning it did not cause chromosomal damage in CHL cells up to the highest concentration tested.”
“For genotoxicity, the studies conducted did not show any mutagenic or clastogenic potential, with negative results in the Ames test, chromosome aberration assay, and in vivo micronucleus assay.”
Not conducted with olezarsen; lifetime mouse and rat studies of unconjugated volanesorsen relied on
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
Not required for olezarsen: volanesorsen carcinogenicity data accepted by FDA and EMA
“they determined that no additional carcinogenicity studies were required for olezarsen, and that the data from volanesorsen’s carcinogenicity studies were sufficient to support olezarsen.”
Minimal hERG reduction (<2%) at 30 and 300 µM; IC50 >300 µM
“At concentrations of 30 and 300 µM, minimal reductions (<2%) in hERG current were noted. The IC50 was considered >300µM (greater than 1000 times the human exposure).”