Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Viltepso

viltolarsen
oligonucleotideDMD exon 53 (PMO)21-mer phosphorodiamidate morpholino oligomer (PMO), exon 53 skipping, IVDMD amenable to exon 53 skipping
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Partial / alternative Partial / alternative
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Male CD-1 mouse and male cynomolgus monkey (plus juvenile male mouse)
“Repeat-dose studies in adult male CD1 mice, and single and repeat-dose studies in adult male cynomolgus monkeys were conducted to evaluate the general toxicology of vitolarsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗
Why that species
Exon 53 skipping shown in monkey; not pharmacologically active in rodents (mouse used for general/juvenile tox)
“In vivo assessment of exon 53 skipping was included in the 12- and 39-week toxicity studies in monkey; viltolarsen is not pharmacologically active in rodents.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate in tox; mouse-specific PMO (NDK-73) used only for mdx52 proof-of-concept
“In male mdx52 mice, IV administration of a mouse surrogate (NDK-73) as well as an additional morpholine oligonucleotide (NDK-33), which targets the Exon 53 3’ end of the mouse dystrophin gene”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 46Source ↗
Species: general tox
Male CD-1 mouse and male cynomolgus monkey
“The pivotal IV toxicity studies were conducted in male CD-1 mouse (13 and 26 weeks) and male cynomolgus monkey (12 and 39 weeks).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Species: DART
Male CD-1 mouse fertility and early embryonic development only; EFD and pre/postnatal studies not conducted (male population)
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male. A fertility and early embryonic development study was conducted in male CD-1 mice, which were mated with untreated females.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat required as PMRs
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Surrogate used in
Pharmacology only: mouse surrogate NDK-73 (with NDK-33) in mdx52 mouse, 4.8% exon skipping; toxicity studies used viltolarsen
“In male mdx52 mice, IV administration of a mouse surrogate (NDK-73) as well as an additional morpholine oligonucleotide (NDK-33), which targets the Exon 53 3’ end of the mouse dystrophin gene, resulted in 4.8% skipping efficiency in the gastrocnemius muscle 2 weeks after administration of 1280 mg/kg combination (640 mg/kg of each oligonucleotide).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 46Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“Viltolarsen was administered by IV injection for 12 weeks (+4-week recovery) and 39 weeks (+8-week recovery) at doses of 0, 60, 200, and 600 mg/kg QW and 0, 10, 60, and 360 mg/kg QW, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Weekly IV: male mouse 13 and 26 weeks; male monkey 12 and 39 weeks; juvenile male mouse PND 7-70
“The pivotal IV toxicity studies were conducted in male CD-1 mouse (13 and 26 weeks) and male cynomolgus monkey (12 and 39 weeks).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Route in tox
IV weekly (clinical route); juvenile mouse SC on PND 7 then IV; single IM in monkey
“In the pivotal study, viltolarsen (0, 15, 60, 240, and 1200 mg/kg) was administered weekly by SC injection on PND 7 and by IV injection on PNDs 14 through 70.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted; negative (Ames, CHL chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“Viltolarsen was negative in a standard battery of in vitro (Ames, chromosomal aberration in CHL cells) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval (agreed); rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat studies as PMRs
“Carcinogenicity studies of viltolarsen were not submitted to the NDA, as agreed to by the Division.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Male mouse fertility study only (no effects); EFD/PPND waived for male population; juvenile mouse study
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Dedicated single-dose studies: rat CNS (FOB), monkey CV/respiratory, in vitro hERG; no effects
“Dedicated single dose studies in rat (CNS) and monkey (cardiovascular and respiratory) did not indicate drug effects on safety pharmacology endpoints, and there was no effect on QT prolongation in CHO cell cultures exposed to up to 3 mg/mL vitolarsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“Viltolarsen was negative for genotoxicity in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation, chromosomal aberration in Chinese hamster lung cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Chromosomal aberration in Chinese hamster lung cells: negative
“Viltolarsen was negative for genotoxicity in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation, chromosomal aberration in Chinese hamster lung cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Mouse bone marrow micronucleus: negative
“Viltolarsen was negative for genotoxicity in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation, chromosomal aberration in Chinese hamster lung cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; SPA protocols for 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat reviewed by the Division and Executive CAC
“Protocols for a 26-week study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year study in rat were submitted for review under Special Protocol Assessment and were reviewed by the Division and the Executive CAC under IND 127474 (Minutes dated July 12, 2018, and August 9, 2019, respectively).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted before approval; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat studies are postmarketing requirements
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG/QT effect in CHO cells up to 3 mg/mL; no effects in rat CNS and monkey CV/respiratory studies
“Dedicated single dose studies in rat (CNS) and monkey (cardiovascular and respiratory) did not indicate drug effects on safety pharmacology endpoints, and there was no effect on QT prolongation in CHO cell cultures exposed to up to 3 mg/mL vitolarsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Viltepso don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 60 mg/kg/wk IV in monkey (39-wk) and mouse (26-wk); renal tubular vacuolation/dilation; mouse deaths at 1000 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 60 mg/kg/wk IV in monkey (39-wk) and mouse (26-wk); renal tubular vacuolation/dilation; mouse deaths at 1000 mg/kg
“Based on the 39-week study, the NOAEL for IV administration of vitolarsen in male cynomolgus monkeys was 60 mg/kg (Cmax = 613.9 µg/mL; AUC0-24h = 261.1 µg*h/mL).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No cytokine or immunophenotype effects; transient ~2-fold C3 rise at high dose in mouse; no anti-drug antibodies
“There were no drug effects on C3 after dosing on Day 0; however, on Day 175, there was an approximate 2-fold elevation in serum C3 24 h after dosing in HDM.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Radiolabel in monkey: highest in kidney cortex, low skeletal muscle levels; low protein binding
“With multiple doses (20 mg/kg/week for 8 weeks), highest levels of dose radioactivity were in kidney cortex (819 µg-Eq/g), with concentrations in skeletal muscle of 0.331- 0.479 µg-Eq/g.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
PMO renal tubular toxicity (nephrotoxicity, deaths in mouse); off-target hybridization (APCDD1) assessed in silico
“Kidney toxicity in the pivotal study, which resulted in unscheduled death of two HDM, was characterized by slight increases in urea nitrogen and creatinine, increases in kidney weight in HDM, and histologic findings of intratubular dilation and epithelial vacuolation in the distal tubule and collecting duct in MDM and HDM.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Anti-drug antibodies not detected in the 26-week mouse study
“Increases in Cmax and AUC were dose-proportional. Anti-drug antibodies were not detected.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
No anti-viltolarsen antibodies: all samples from 16 patients negative in Study 1
“For Study 1, samples collected from all 16 patients at Day 1 (pre-dose), Week 5, Week 13, and Week 24 were assessed for anti-viltolarsen antibodies. All samples were determined to be antibody negative.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Label warnings
  • Kidney Toxicity
Nephrotoxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Viltepso don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 60 mg/kg/wk IV in monkey (39-wk) and mouse (26-wk); renal tubular vacuolation/dilation; mouse deaths at 1000 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week IV cynomolgus monkey study with 8-week recovery
“Monkey: Viltolarsen was administered by IV injection for 12 weeks (+4-week recovery) and 39 weeks (+8-week recovery)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Weekly IV: male mouse 13 and 26 weeks; male monkey 12 and 39 weeks; juvenile male mouse PND 7-70
“The pivotal IV toxicity studies were conducted in male CD-1 mouse (13 and 26 weeks) and male cynomolgus monkey (12 and 39 weeks).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Male CD-1 mouse fertility and early embryonic development only; EFD and pre/postnatal studies not conducted (male population)
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male. A fertility and early embryonic development study was conducted in male CD-1 mice, which were mated with untreated females.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Male mouse fertility study only (no effects); EFD/PPND waived for male population; juvenile mouse study
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: waived because the patient population is almost exclusively male
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat required as PMRs
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; SPA protocols for 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat reviewed by the Division and Executive CAC
“Protocols for a 26-week study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year study in rat were submitted for review under Special Protocol Assessment and were reviewed by the Division and the Executive CAC under IND 127474 (Minutes dated July 12, 2018, and August 9, 2019, respectively).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted before approval; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat studies are postmarketing requirements
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 60 mg/kg/wk IV in monkey (39-wk) and mouse (26-wk); renal tubular vacuolation/dilation; mouse deaths at 1000 mg/kg
“Based on the 39-week study, the NOAEL for IV administration of vitolarsen in male cynomolgus monkeys was 60 mg/kg (Cmax = 613.9 µg/mL; AUC0-24h = 261.1 µg*h/mL).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
DMD patient fibroblasts differentiated into myotubes: exon 53 skipping (EC50 0.63-2.3 µM) and dystrophin production
“Primary: In vitro proof-of-concept studies, conducted primarily in DMD patient fibroblasts differentiated into myotubes, demonstrated viltolarsen-induced exon 53 skipping (EC50 values of 0.63-0.90 µM and 2.3 µM) and production of dystrophin protein in cells from DMD patients with deletion of exons 45-52 and exons 48-52, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Why that model
Viltolarsen not pharmacologically active in rodents; in vivo exon skipping assessed only in monkey toxicity studies
“In vivo assessment of exon 53 skipping was included in the 12- and 39-week toxicity studies in monkey; viltolarsen is not pharmacologically active in rodents.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
Human relevance judged from human rhabdomyosarcoma cells (EC50 3.4-5.9 nM) and DMD patient-derived myoblasts (83.1% skipping, presumably truncated dystrophin)
“Potential effects in humans were evaluated in using isolated human rhabdomyosarcoma cells, in which the EC50 for exon 53 skipping by vitolarsen ranged from 3.4 to 5.9 nM. Additionally, 83.1% exon 53 skipping efficiency was observed 1 week after transfection of myoblasts derived from DMD patient fibroblasts with 10 uM vitolarsen, correlating with expression of a presumably truncated dystrophin protein.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 46Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; Tg.rasH2 mouse and two-year rat studies required as postmarketing requirements
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
“Carcinogenicity was not evaluated but is to be assessed as a postmarketing requirement. The nonclinical data support approval vitolarsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No embryo-fetal or pre/postnatal development studies; male mouse fertility study only
Why: Patient population almost exclusively male · Other reason
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Similar precedents