Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Viltepso: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Viltepso don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL 60 mg/kg/wk IV in monkey (39-wk) and mouse (26-wk); renal tubular vacuolation/dilation; mouse deaths at 1000 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week IV cynomolgus monkey study with 8-week recovery
“Monkey: Viltolarsen was administered by IV injection for 12 weeks (+4-week recovery) and 39 weeks (+8-week recovery)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Weekly IV: male mouse 13 and 26 weeks; male monkey 12 and 39 weeks; juvenile male mouse PND 7-70
“The pivotal IV toxicity studies were conducted in male CD-1 mouse (13 and 26 weeks) and male cynomolgus monkey (12 and 39 weeks).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Male CD-1 mouse fertility and early embryonic development only; EFD and pre/postnatal studies not conducted (male population)
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male. A fertility and early embryonic development study was conducted in male CD-1 mice, which were mated with untreated females.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Male mouse fertility study only (no effects); EFD/PPND waived for male population; juvenile mouse study
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: waived because the patient population is almost exclusively male
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat required as PMRs
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; SPA protocols for 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat reviewed by the Division and Executive CAC
“Protocols for a 26-week study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year study in rat were submitted for review under Special Protocol Assessment and were reviewed by the Division and the Executive CAC under IND 127474 (Minutes dated July 12, 2018, and August 9, 2019, respectively).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted before approval; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat studies are postmarketing requirements
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →