Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Spinraza

nusinersen
oligonucleotideSMN2 (ASO)Fully modified 18-base 2'-MOE phosphorothioate splice-switching ASO, intrathecalSpinal muscular atrophy (pediatric and adult)
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
53 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Juvenile cynomolgus monkey (IT) and CD-1 mouse (SC, systemic effects)
“Based on the intended patient population (neonates to adolescents), 14- and 53-week repeat dose toxicology studies were conducted in juvenile cynomolgus monkeys using IT dose administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 74Source ↗
Why that species
No animal has SMN2; monkey used for clinical IT route/CNS exposure, transgenic SMA mice for pharmacology
“Since humans are the only species known to have the SMN2 gene, in vivo pharmacology was examined in mouse models of SMA in which the endogenous mouse gene has been removed and the human SMN2 gene is expressed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; clinical ASO tested; human-SMN2 transgenic mice used for pharmacology only
“In vivo studies (using intracerebroventricular and intrathecal [IT] administration) were conducted in transgenic mouse models of SMA because only humans are known to have the SMN2 gene.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 79Source ↗
Species: general tox
Mouse and juvenile cynomolgus monkey
“Toxicity studies of nusinersen were conducted in mice and juvenile cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Species: DART
Mouse and rabbit
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity studies in mice and rabbit showed no fetal effects related to treatment with nusinersen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse (2-year SC study, conducted after approval)
“Administration of nusinersen (0, 5, 15, or 50 mg/kg) to male and female mice by subcutaneous injection, once every two weeks for 2 years, resulted in an increase in the incidence of vascular tumors (combined hemangioma and hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose tested.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Surrogate used in
Transgenic models only: human-SMN2 SMA mice for in vivo pharmacology; no surrogate molecule
“In vivo studies (using intracerebroventricular and intrathecal [IT] administration) were conducted in transgenic mouse models of SMA because only humans are known to have the SMN2 gene.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 79Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
53 weeks
“A one year (53 weeks) repeat dose toxicity study in juvenile cynomolgus monkeys with a 26-week recovery phase”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 33Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
14- and 53-week IT bolus juvenile monkey; 13-week SC juvenile mouse; single-dose IT adult monkey
“The toxicity and pharmacokinetics (PK) of ISIS 396443 were evaluated following single IT bolus doses (up to 7 mg) in adult monkeys or following repeated IT bolus doses (weekly or every other week) for 14 (0.3, 1, or 3 mg/dose) and 53 (0.3, 1, or 4 mg/dose) weeks in juvenile monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Route in tox
Intrathecal lumbar bolus (monkey, clinical route); subcutaneous (mouse, rabbit) for systemic exposure
“CNS safety was assessed as part of the acute and subchronic toxicity studies in monkeys using IT lumbar bolus injection, the intended route of administration in man.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 71Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted; negative (Ames, CHO chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval (IT route infeasible); SC carcinogenicity study as postmarketing requirement
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with nusinersen at this time. The Division has recommended that a carcinogenicity study be conducted after approval.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility/EFD and rabbit EFD (SC): no clear toxicity; PPND ongoing as PMR
“No clear evidence of reproductive or developmental toxicity was seen in mouse and rabbit studies, and ISIS 396443 was negative for genotoxicity in a standard battery of in vitro and in vivo assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Rat IT-infusion respiratory/CV study; CNS endpoints incorporated into monkey IT tox studies
“Safety pharmacology consisted of a respiratory and cardiovascular safety pharmacology study in rats treated by continuous intrathecal (IT) infusion.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 71Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (Ames)
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Chromosomal aberration in CHO cells: negative
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Mouse micronucleus: negative
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year SC mouse study: increased vascular tumors (hemangioma/hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose
“Administration of nusinersen (0, 5, 15, or 50 mg/kg) to male and female mice by subcutaneous injection, once every two weeks for 2 years, resulted in an increase in the incidence of vascular tumors (combined hemangioma and hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose tested.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
No carcinogenicity study before approval; 2-year carcinogenicity study is a postmarketing requirement
“the sponsor should conduct a 2-year carcinogenicity study as a post￾marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
hERG / QT
No ECG effects in repeat-dose IT monkey studies; no cardiovascular effects in rats with 25-day IT infusion
“In safety pharmacology studies, there were no pulmonary or cardiovascular effects in rats using continuous intrathecal (IT) infusion for 25 days, or effects on ECG in the repeat-dose IT toxicology studies in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Spinraza don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey neurotoxicity NOAEL 0.3 mg/dose; hippocampal neuronal vacuolation/necrosis; no CSF-based safety margin (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Monkey neurotoxicity NOAEL 0.3 mg/dose; hippocampal neuronal vacuolation/necrosis; no CSF-based safety margin
“The no-effect dose (0.3 mg) for neurotoxicity in the 53-week monkey study was associated with csf levels (12 ng/mL) generally less than that in SMA patients (7-35 ng/mL); therefore, there is no safety margin based on csf levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No complement activation or systemic inflammation in IT monkey studies; proinflammatory effects in mice
“In the 14- and 53-week juvenile monkey studies, no drug-related mortality or effects on body weight, ECG, CSF chemistry/cell counts, clinical pathology, or complement activation (as measured by concentrations of Bb split product) were observed”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Substantial CSF-to-systemic transfer; liver/kidney levels similar to spinal cord; CSF t1/2 ~102-111 days
“Concentrations in systemic tissues like liver and kidney following IT administration were similar to those seen in the spinal cord indicating that a substantial proportion of the administered dose was transferred from CSF to the systemic circulation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 71Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
CNS neurotoxicity (hippocampal vacuolation, possible learning deficit) after IT ASO; renal/macrophage PS-oligo accumulation
“Taken together, these considerations as well as the data suggesting a neurobehavioral deficit indicate that the hippocampal vacuolation observed in monkeys following IT administration of ISIS 396443 should be considered an adverse neurotoxic effect.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 75Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
10% treatment-emergent ADA with low dose regimen (16 transient, 22 persistent)
“Thirty eight patients (10%) developed treatment-emergent ADAs, of which 16 were transient and 22 were considered to be persistent.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Label warnings
  • Thrombocytopenia and Coagulation Abnormalities
  • Renal Toxicity
ThrombocytopeniaNephrotoxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Spinraza don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey neurotoxicity NOAEL 0.3 mg/dose; hippocampal neuronal vacuolation/necrosis; no CSF-based safety margin (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
53-week (one year) juvenile cynomolgus monkey study with 26-week recovery
“ISIS 396443: A one year (53 weeks) repeat dose toxicity study in juvenile cynomolgus monkeys with a 26-week recovery phase”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 33Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
14- and 53-week IT bolus juvenile monkey; 13-week SC juvenile mouse; single-dose IT adult monkey
“The toxicity and pharmacokinetics (PK) of ISIS 396443 were evaluated following single IT bolus doses (up to 7 mg) in adult monkeys or following repeated IT bolus doses (weekly or every other week) for 14 (0.3, 1, or 3 mg/dose) and 53 (0.3, 1, or 4 mg/dose) weeks in juvenile monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse and rabbit
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity studies in mice and rabbit showed no fetal effects related to treatment with nusinersen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility/EFD and rabbit EFD (SC): no clear toxicity; PPND ongoing as PMR
“No clear evidence of reproductive or developmental toxicity was seen in mouse and rabbit studies, and ISIS 396443 was negative for genotoxicity in a standard battery of in vitro and in vivo assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND study ongoing at approval; submission is a postmarketing requirement
“A pre- and postnatal development study is ongoing; submission of the study should be a post-marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse (2-year SC study, conducted after approval)
“Administration of nusinersen (0, 5, 15, or 50 mg/kg) to male and female mice by subcutaneous injection, once every two weeks for 2 years, resulted in an increase in the incidence of vascular tumors (combined hemangioma and hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose tested.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year SC mouse study: increased vascular tumors (hemangioma/hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose
“Administration of nusinersen (0, 5, 15, or 50 mg/kg) to male and female mice by subcutaneous injection, once every two weeks for 2 years, resulted in an increase in the incidence of vascular tumors (combined hemangioma and hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose tested.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
No carcinogenicity study before approval; 2-year carcinogenicity study is a postmarketing requirement
“the sponsor should conduct a 2-year carcinogenicity study as a post￾marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
No margin: monkey 53-week neurotoxicity no-effect dose 0.3 mg gave CSF 12 ng/mL, within patient levels (7-35 ng/mL)
“The no-effect dose (0.3 mg) for neurotoxicity in the 53-week monkey study was associated with csf levels (12 ng/mL) generally less than that in SMA patients (7-35 ng/mL); therefore, there is no safety margin based on csf levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey neurotoxicity NOAEL 0.3 mg/dose; hippocampal neuronal vacuolation/necrosis; no CSF-based safety margin
“The no-effect dose (0.3 mg) for neurotoxicity in the 53-week monkey study was associated with csf levels (12 ng/mL) generally less than that in SMA patients (7-35 ng/mL); therefore, there is no safety margin based on csf levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Transgenic SMA mouse models expressing human SMN2 (ICV and IT dosing)
“In vivo studies (using intracerebroventricular and intrathecal [IT] administration) were conducted in transgenic mouse models of SMA because only humans are known to have the SMN2 gene.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 79Source ↗
Why that model
SMN2 exists only in humans, so in vivo pharmacology required mice with mouse Smn removed and human SMN2 expressed
“Since humans are the only species known to have the SMN2 gene, in vivo pharmacology was examined in mouse models of SMA in which the endogenous mouse gene has been removed and the human SMN2 gene is expressed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: nusinersen increased SMN2 exon 7 inclusion in cells and animals with beneficial effects in SMA mouse models
“In cell culture and animals, ISIS 396443 increased SMN2 exon 7 inclusion and had beneficial effects in mouse models of SMA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 71Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Study lengthAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No chronic rodent toxicity study to assess systemic exposure
Why: Postmarketing carcinogenicity study in one species to provide chronic toxicity data
“A less-than standard battery of nonclinical studies (no chronic toxicity study in rodent [to assess systemic exposure], pre- and postnatal development (PPND) study in rodent, or carcinogenicity studies in mouse and rat) was conducted to support approval of nusinersen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗
“Completion of the ongoing PPND study and a carcinogenicity study in one species (which will provide chronic toxicity data) should be post-marketing requirements.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; waiver requested, parenteral study in one species required postmarketing
Why: Lifetime intrathecal rodent studies infeasible; waiver rejected because of significant systemic exposure in patients · Other reason
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted. The sponsor has requested a waiver based on the infeasibility of conducting lifetime studies in rodents by the IT route, but given the significant systemic exposure documented in clinical studies, it is recommended that a parenteral study in one species be conducted postmarketing.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
DARTAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Pre- and postnatal development study incomplete at approval; deferred to postmarketing requirement
“A pre- and postnatal development study is ongoing; submission of the study should be a post-marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Safety marginCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No CSF-based safety margin for hippocampal neurotoxicity in the 53-week juvenile monkey study
Why: Seriousness of the indication and apparently substantial clinical efficacy · Serious disease
“The no-effect dose (0.3 mg) for neurotoxicity in the 53-week monkey study was associated with csf levels (12 ng/mL) generally less than that in SMA patients (7-35 ng/mL); therefore, there is no safety margin based on csf levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗
“However, considering the seriousness of the indication and the apparently substantial evidence of efficacy in the clinical trials in SMA patients, there is no objection to approval of the NDA from a pharmacology/toxicology standpoint.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗

Similar precedents