Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Xpovio

selinexor
small moleculeXPO1Oral small-molecule selective inhibitor of nuclear export (XPO1)Relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma, with dexamethasone
Species
MonkeyRat
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Partial / alternative Partly stated

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and cynomolgus monkey
“Rats were chosen as the rodent species and cynomolgus monkeys as the non-rodent species.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Why that species
Both species pharmacologically relevant
“Based on available data, both species were determined to be pharmacologically relevant for toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“Thirteen-week repeat-dose oral toxicity and toxicokinetic studies were conducted in the rat (0, 0.25, 1, or 4 mg/kg selinexor; 5 total doses given every 2-week period) and monkey (0, 0.1, 0.3, 1 mg/kg selinexor; 2 to 3 times/week) to support the NDA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Species: general tox
Rat and cynomolgus monkey (13-week oral studies)
“Thirteen-week repeat-dose oral toxicity and toxicokinetic studies were conducted in the rat (0, 0.25, 1, or 4 mg/kg selinexor; 5 total doses given every 2-week period) and monkey (0, 0.1, 0.3, 1 mg/kg selinexor; 2 to 3 times/week) to support the NDA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Species: DART
Rat (EFD only); no fertility study and no second species
“No carcinogenicity study was conducted, and only maternal and embryo-foetal development toxicity were carried out, indicating a NOAEL value at 0.25 mg/Kg/day for rats. No data for a second species were provided.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted to support the use of selinexor for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used
“Based on available data, both species were determined to be pharmacologically relevant for toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 (13-week rat and monkey)
“Thirteen-week repeat-dose oral toxicity and toxicokinetic studies were conducted in the rat (0, 0.25, 1, or 4 mg/kg selinexor; 5 total doses given every 2-week period) and monkey (0, 0.1, 0.3, 1 mg/kg selinexor; 2 to 3 times/week) to support the NDA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
13-week oral studies in rat (5 doses per 2 weeks) and monkey (2-3 times/week)
“Thirteen-week repeat-dose oral toxicity and toxicokinetic studies were conducted in the rat (0, 0.25, 1, or 4 mg/kg selinexor; 5 total doses given every 2-week period) and monkey (0, 0.1, 0.3, 1 mg/kg selinexor; 2 to 3 times/week) to support the NDA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral
“Thirteen-week repeat-dose oral toxicity and toxicokinetic studies were conducted in the rat (0, 0.25, 1, or 4 mg/kg selinexor; 5 total doses given every 2-week period) and monkey (0, 0.1, 0.3, 1 mg/kg selinexor; 2 to 3 times/week) to support the NDA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro human lymphocyte cytogenetic and in vivo rat micronucleus assays
“Selinexor was not mutagenic in vitro in a bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay and was not clastogenic in both the in vitro cytogenetic assay in human lymphocytes or in the in vivo rat micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted to support the use of selinexor for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: reduced fetal weight and delayed or incomplete ossification at >=0.75 mg/kg/day
“Adverse developmental outcomes occurred at ≥ 0.75 mg/kg/day and included alterations to growth (e.g., fetal weights in the 0.75 and 2 mg/kg/day groups were 13.5% and 32.4% lower than controls) and structural abnormalities (such as incomplete or delayed ossification of sternebra(e) and/or vertebral arches, and/or unossified and bent ribs).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
hERG IC50 20.6 μM (HEK293 patch clamp)
“Selinexor was evaluated for its ability to inhibit the hERG channel (IC50 = 20.6 μM) using whole cell patch clamp in stably-transfected HEK293 cells (Study: KS-0055).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 33Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (bacterial reverse mutation)
“Selinexor was not mutagenic in vitro in a bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay and was not clastogenic in both the in vitro cytogenetic assay in human lymphocytes or in the in vivo rat micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Human lymphocyte cytogenetic (chromosomal aberration) assay: negative
“Selinexor was not mutagenic in vitro in a bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay and was not clastogenic in both the in vitro cytogenetic assay in human lymphocytes or in the in vivo rat micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Rat micronucleus assay: negative
“Selinexor was not mutagenic in vitro in a bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay and was not clastogenic in both the in vitro cytogenetic assay in human lymphocytes or in the in vivo rat micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; not needed for the proposed indication
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted to support the use of selinexor for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for the proposed indication
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted to support the use of selinexor for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
hERG / QT
hERG IC50 20.6 µM; >250x human free Cmax at 80 mg; no ECG effects in monkeys
“The IC50 for the inhibitory effect of selinexor on hERG potassium current was 20.6 µM (Hill coefficient=1.1). The Applicant estimated >250 times safety margins based on the human free unbound Cmax following an 80 mg dose”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
3 mg/m2 starting dose in Phase 1 3+3 dose escalation
“Study treatment on Arm 1 during the dose escalation phase followed a standard 3+3 design with a starting dose of selinexor 3 mg/m2.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 81Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Rat: hematopoietic/lymphoid hypoplasia, reproductive organ toxicity; monkey: GI effects, lymphoid/hematologic depletion
“Rats exhibited toxicological sequalae due to hematopoietic/lymphoid hypoplasia and male/female reproductive organ effects. Female rats also exhibited higher liver weights and/or centrilobular hepatocellular hypertrophy and/or increased mitotic figures. Monkeys exhibited gastrointestinal effects and lymphoid/hematologic depletion.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Mild grade II dermal contact sensitivity response
“Selinexor was also identified as non-phototoxic and to induce mild-grade II dermal contact sensitivity response at 24 and 48 hours.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Highest in kidney, liver and small intestine; no specific binding to pigmented tissues
“The highest concentrations of radioactivity were observed in the kidneys, liver, and small intestine. There was no specific binding to pigmented tissues.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
High toxicity: reproductive organs, CNS-mediated GI effects, reduced food intake and body weight, mortality
“Non-clinical safety program revealed a high toxicity of selinexor. Some tissues were mainly affected (reproductive systems, CNS-mediated gastrointestinal system…) and clinical findings reported (food consumption and body weight reduction, mortality).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Label warnings
  • Thrombocytopenia
  • Neutropenia
  • Gastrointestinal Toxicity
  • Hyponatremia
  • Serious Infection
  • Neurological Toxicity
  • Embryo-Fetal Toxicity
  • Cataract
ThrombocytopeniaCytopeniasGastrointestinalInfectionsNeurotoxicityEmbryo-fetal toxicityOcular toxicity
US prescribing information, Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗

Tox packageopen answer page →

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
3 mg/m2 starting dose in Phase 1 3+3 dose escalation
“Study treatment on Arm 1 during the dose escalation phase followed a standard 3+3 design with a starting dose of selinexor 3 mg/m2.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 81Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week (13-cycle) oral rat study with 4-week recovery; 13-week cynomolgus monkey study with 4-week recovery ties
“Study title/ number: A 13-Week (13-Cycle) Oral Gavage Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study of KPT-330 in Sprague Dawley Rats with a 4-Week Recovery Period/ KNC-G-13-001”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
13-week oral studies in rat (5 doses per 2 weeks) and monkey (2-3 times/week)
“Thirteen-week repeat-dose oral toxicity and toxicokinetic studies were conducted in the rat (0, 0.25, 1, or 4 mg/kg selinexor; 5 total doses given every 2-week period) and monkey (0, 0.1, 0.3, 1 mg/kg selinexor; 2 to 3 times/week) to support the NDA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (EFD only); no fertility study and no second species
“No carcinogenicity study was conducted, and only maternal and embryo-foetal development toxicity were carried out, indicating a NOAEL value at 0.25 mg/Kg/day for rats. No data for a second species were provided.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: reduced fetal weight and delayed or incomplete ossification at >=0.75 mg/kg/day
“Adverse developmental outcomes occurred at ≥ 0.75 mg/kg/day and included alterations to growth (e.g., fetal weights in the 0.75 and 2 mg/kg/day groups were 13.5% and 32.4% lower than controls) and structural abnormalities (such as incomplete or delayed ossification of sternebra(e) and/or vertebral arches, and/or unossified and bent ribs).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND conducted; only rat embryo-fetal development study performed (advanced-cancer program)
“No carcinogenicity study was conducted, and only maternal and embryo-foetal development toxicity were carried out, indicating a NOAEL value at 0.25 mg/Kg/day for rats.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted to support the use of selinexor for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; not needed for the proposed indication
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted to support the use of selinexor for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for the proposed indication
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted to support the use of selinexor for the proposed indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
No margin: monkey 13-week NOAEL exposure below human exposure at 80 mg
“The exposure levels at the identified NOAEL in the 13-week study in monkeys is less than the measured exposure at the clinical dose of 80 mg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
Rat: hematopoietic/lymphoid hypoplasia, reproductive organ toxicity; monkey: GI effects, lymphoid/hematologic depletion
“Rats exhibited toxicological sequalae due to hematopoietic/lymphoid hypoplasia and male/female reproductive organ effects. Female rats also exhibited higher liver weights and/or centrilobular hepatocellular hypertrophy and/or increased mitotic figures. Monkeys exhibited gastrointestinal effects and lymphoid/hematologic depletion.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
Mouse xenograft models of multiple myeloma (selinexor alone and with dexamethasone)
“The in vivo antitumor activity of selinexor was evaluated alone and in combination with dexamethasone in mouse xenograft models of multiple myeloma.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗
Why that model
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
EMA: tumour growth the only endpoint; methodology concerns in a pivotal study; xenograft models of limited clinical relevance
“The only endpoint investigated in these studies was tumour growth and therefore it is unclear if the effects on tumour growth translate into increased survival.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Flexibilityopen answer page →

Flexibility accepted
Safety marginVerdict not stated
No safety margin: toxicity in rats and monkeys at exposures below clinical exposure
“Non-clinical safety program revealed a high toxicity of selinexor. Some tissues were mainly affected (reproductive systems, CNS-mediated gastrointestinal system…) and clinical findings reported (food consumption and body weight reduction, mortality). No safety margin could be established for human studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
Embryo-fetal development studied in rat only (NOAEL at 0.02x clinical exposure); no second species and no fertility study
Why: Findings in rats make a second species unnecessary (applicant)
“In an embryofoetal developmental toxicity study in rats the NOAEL value for maternal toxicity and embryo-foetal development was established at 0.25 mg/Kg/day and the resultant exposures measured represent a margin of exposure of 0.02 from the clinical dose. The Applicant has suggested that based on the findings in rats that studies in a second species are not warranted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
OtherQuestioned
Rat 13-week NOAEL set by the applicant considered poorly justified given severity of findings
“As such, NOAEL was reported to be 0.25 mg/Kg/day for males and 1 mg/Kg/day for females, which was hardly justified given the severity of the findings reported in the study report.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗
Impurity or metaboliteAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Metabolite structures only partly characterised; confirmation study committed post-authorisation
“As of metabolites, partial information was provided. Therefore, the applicant committed to conduct additional post-authorisation studies to confirm the structure of the metabolites.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
“The Applicant has committed to submit results from a metabolite characterisation study, by Q1 2021 (CHMP Recommendation).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Similar precedents