Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

How was the first-in-human dose set for approved vaccines?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 13 approved vaccines. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
Rarely public: 0 of 13 reviews say even partly how the first human dose was set.
Not stated publicly13/13

Precedent by precedent

13 approved vaccines, with the reviewers' own words.

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated for first-in-human; final 120 µg RSVPreF3 + 50 µg AS01E dose selected on clinical data
“The final formulation, antigen and adjuvant doses (120 µg RSVPreF3 with 50 µg AS01E) was selected based on clinical data.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL set; immune-stimulation findings in rabbits: WBC/neutrophil changes, lower albumin, larger iliac/popliteal lymph nodes, raised CRP and fibrinogen
“The vaccine resulted in effects on clinical pathology parameters and histopathology that are consistent with immune stimulation following administration of a vaccine, amongst others changes in white blood cell and absolute neutrophil counts, minimally to mildly decreased albumin, increased lymph node weights (ileac and popliteal), CRP and fibrinogen.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for oncology vaccines (ICH S9) →
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; vaccine and AS04 well tolerated with no consistent systemic findings in rabbits
“The HPV-16 /18 L1 VLP AS04 vaccine and the AS04 adjuvant were well tolerated. The organ-weight data, macroscopic pathology evaluation, and evaluation of systemic effects showed no consistent treatment-related findings.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 11Source ↗

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology →
NOAEL / key findings
Injection-site necrosis and granulomatous inflammation judged adverse but expected to resolve
“The necrosis and granulomatous inflammation at the injection sites were considered adverse reactions and were expected to resolve over time.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology →
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; minor dose-related immunostimulatory effects with MPL; minor reversible injection-site inflammation in rabbit
“The effects seen were minor and consistent with an immunostimulatory action. The minor effects seen were dose-related.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
First-in-human starting dose
Antigen content of quadrivalent product matched licensed trivalent vaccine plus a second B strain; no separate dose-finding
“The quantity of each HA antigen and excipients of RIV4 was equivalent to that of the US licensed trivalent recombinant influenza vaccine manufactured by PSC with the addition of the second B strain.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; no systemic toxicity in rats, only transient injection-site microscopic changes
“There were no local reactions and no signs of systemic toxicity including clinical pathology parameters, organ weights and macroscopic findings. The main related findings were transient microscopic changes at the injection sites, which is expected.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for oncology vaccines (ICH S9) →
NOAEL / key findings
No systemic toxicity; iliac lymph node enlargement/hyperplasia and injection-site inflammation in mice
“There was a treatment-related enlargement of the iliac lymph nodes. Treatment-related microscopic changes were noted in lymph nodes (hyperplasia) and in the muscle at the injection sites (inflammation).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 8Source ↗

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for oncology vaccines (ICH S9) →
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; only immune-response and injection-site effects in rats
“The only treatment-related effects were indicative of the immune response and injection site reactions.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology →
NOAEL / key findings
No toxicologically significant findings in rat; changes attributed to the vaccine properties of test and reference vaccines
“revealed changes attributed to the vaccine properties of the reference and tested vaccines. None of these findings had a toxicological significance.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 4Source ↗

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology →
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey NOAEL 0.5 mg/kg CpG 1018 (>10-fold clinical) for systemic immunostimulation; spleen and lymph node hyperplasia, liver inflammation at higher doses
“It should be noted that other systemic manifestations of TLR9 immunostimulation were seen in monkeys (i.e. spleen hyperplasia from 2.5 mg/kg/w and lymph node hyperplasia and liver inflammation at 12.5 mg/kg/w). Of importance, a NOAEL of 0.5 mg/kg 1018 ISS (>10-fold the clinical dose on mg/kg basis) for systemic immunostimulatory effects was identified in this study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology →
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; dose-related acute injection-site inflammation, fully recovered 28 days after last dose; no systemic toxicity
“In conclusion, intramuscular administration of RTS,S/AS01B on four occasions at 2-week intervals triggered an acute inflammatory response at injection sites that increased with the vaccine dose and volume administered. Nonetheless, full recovery was observed 28 days after the last administration.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 51Source ↗

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology →
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; transient CRP and fibrinogen elevations and injection-site inflammation in rabbits, as expected for a vaccine
“Transient elevations of C-reactive protein (CRP) and fibrinogen and local inflammation reactions were observed at the injection sites, indicative of acute reactions as expected.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 17Source ↗

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
First-in-human starting dose
Selection not stated; legacy dose-ranging studies (5 and 10 µg), one with an initial first-in-human part up to 20 µg
“The studies were conducted inIsrael, Thailand, and Singapore. They were open-label, comprising two dose regimens, 5 and 10 µg. One had a preliminary phase 1 FIH part with a dosage up to 20 µg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; injection-site reactions and expected lymphoid hyperplasia only, no other systemic effects
“Based on the limited data submitted, the vaccine caused typical location reactions at the injection sites but did not cause any systemic effects other than the expected lymphoid hyperplasia.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Not public: the starting-dose rationale sits in the confidential IND. How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology →
NOAEL / key findings
No vaccine NOAEL stated; rabbit CRP up to 9-fold (males) and 5-fold (females), transient
“A transient but statistically significant increase in C-Reactive Protein (CRP) levels was observed in rabbits receiving SHINGRIX with levels up to 9 times (male animals) and 5 times (female animals) higher compared to control animals.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗