Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

What flexibility did FDA and EMA accept for approved vaccines?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 13 approved vaccines. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
12 of 13 approved vaccines had at least one departure from the guideline that regulators accepted.
Other7/13
DART3/13
Efficacy model2/13
Safety margin2/13
Biodistribution2/13
Species2/13
Safety pharmacology1/13
Recovery1/13
Study length1/13
GLP1/13

Precedent by precedent

13 approved vaccines, with the reviewers' own words.

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
Toxicity studies used AS01B adjuvant (double immunoenhancer dose) instead of the clinical AS01E formulation
Why: AS01B contains double the immunoenhancers, so the adjuvant dose exceeds the clinical dose · Other reason
“AS01B contains a double dose of (the same) immuno-enhancers compared to AS01E; therefore, the adjuvant dose can be considered more than the clinical dose. This is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Efficacy modelAcceptedBeyond the letter
No animal efficacy or challenge model; only immunogenicity in RSV-naive young mice
Why: No good animal model mimics the non-naive elderly target population and its sensitivity to RSV disease · Other reason
“Therefore, the Applicant stated that the non-clinical PD package was only aiming “to evaluate the need for an adjuvant system in the protein vaccine, and to support the choice of the AS01 adjuvant system in the vaccine formulation with the PreF antigen to elicit potent F-specific CD4+ T cell responses and RSV neutralising antibodies”.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
Reproductive toxicity studies not required for the elderly indication; DART data supplied only on request
Why: Age of the (elderly) target population · Other reason
“Considering the age of the target population, in principle, the absence of reproductive and developmental toxicity studies is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Safety marginAcceptedBeyond the letter
No NOAEL-based safety margin; NOAEL and allometric margins judged inappropriate for local vaccine immune responses
Why: Injection-site inflammation is needed for an immune response; full or twice the human dose tested instead · Other reason
“However, common allometric rules do not apply to a local immune response. Moreover, the analysis of a NOAEL is not an adequate approach, as inflammatory reactions at the site of injection will occur and will be needed for an adequate immune response (i.e., absence of toxicity is not the intention of a vaccine-related toxicity study).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
No AS01 adjuvant study reports in the application; cross-reference to the Shingrix dossier
Why: AS01 is not a new adjuvant; assessed in detail for Shingrix · Class precedent
“GSK refers to their dossier of Shingrix, for which the adjuvant system was assessed in detail. Considering that AS01 in the currently proposed RSV vaccine is not a new adjuvant, the absence of study reports in this MAA but reference to the Shingrix MAA is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
OtherAccepted
No nonclinical toxicity or pharmacology studies with the quadrivalent vaccine; package bridged from trivalent RIV3
Why: Same manufacturing process, no novel excipients or residuals, no post-marketing safety concerns with RIV3; consistent with EMA influenza guidelines · Within the guideline · Human data
“The omission of non-clinical toxicity studies with RIV4 for the licensure of RIV4 in Europe is consistent with the CHMP Scientific Advice (EMEA/H/SA/3849/1/2018/III) and the EMA guidelines on influenza vaccines.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
OtherCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Pivotal repeat-dose study by SC route with weekly dosing instead of the clinical IM route and 2-3-week interval
Why: Extensive clinical and post-marketing experience with RIV3 identified no unexpected safety signal · Human data
“It is noteworthy that use of an alternative administration route (SC) rather than the clinically intended IM route for a pivotal toxicity study is uncommon, as is the short dosing interval of 7-days rather than a classic 2-3-weeks interval.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Efficacy modelAcceptedBeyond the letter
No challenge-protection studies in animals; mouse immunogenicity only
Why: Mouse immunogenicity data provide proof-of-concept · Pharmacology or kinetics
“These data provide important proof-of-concept and support omission of the protection studies in animals.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Efficacy modelAcceptedBeyond the letter
No nonclinical immunogenicity data for the added B/Yamagata strain
Why: Extensive clinical experience showed immunogenicity of each antigen in the vaccine · Human data
“Although these non-clinical data do not address immunogenicity of the 4th strain in the context of RIV4, the CHMP acknowledged the extensive clinical experience with RIV4 that showed immunogenicity of each of the 4 antigen compositions within the vaccine.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Safety pharmacology by SC route instead of IM; dog of questionable relevance without immunogenicity evidence
Why: Extensive clinical and post-marketing experience with RIV3 identified no unexpected safety signal · Human data
“However, there are limitations of this study due to the use of SC route instead of the intended IM administration in humans. In addition, relevance of the dog can be questioned due to absence of immunogenicity evidence from the model.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
Rat DART used Matrix-M1 below the absolute human dose (maximum volume of clinical formulation)
Why: Dose exceeds the human dose 40-fold on a weight-adjusted basis and induced an immune response in rats · Pharmacology or kinetics
“The administered dose was the maximum volume of clinical formulation (used for the early clinical studies) and, although the dose is smaller than the absolute dose that will be administered to humans, it does exceed the human dosage on a weight-adjusted basis by 40-fold.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 54Source ↗
OtherVerdict not stated
Rabbit repeat-dose study used antigen/adjuvant 50/50 µg instead of the clinical 5/50 µg ratio
“Of note, the dosing schedule used was not in accordance with the proposed clinical schedule (the dose ratio of SARS-CoV-2 rS nanoparticle/Matrix-M1 used is different: 50/50 in the study vs 5/50 in the clinical situation).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 51Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
DART done in rat although rabbit placental antibody transfer is more similar to humans
Why: Fetal titers about 8.0% and pup titers 70-82% of maternal levels showed sufficient antibody transfer · Pharmacology or kinetics
“For the evaluation of reproduction toxicology, the applicant has used the rat as animal model. It is noted that placental transfer of antibodies in rabbits is more similar to humans compared to rodents.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 54Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
No male fertility study
Why: No adverse findings in male reproductive organs in the GLP repeat-dose study · Weight of evidence
“No male fertility studies were performed given no adverse observations in male reproductive organs were observed in the GLP repeat-dose toxicology study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 52Source ↗
BiodistributionAcceptedBeyond the letter
Matrix-M1 adjuvant biodistribution study not completed before approval
Why: Extensive clinical package at initial marketing approval · Human data
“Considering the extensive clinical package available at the time of initial marketing approval, the safety profile of the adjuvanted vaccine was considered acceptable without finalisation of the biodistribution study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 53Source ↗

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
GLPCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Pivotal repeat-dose toxicity study in rats not GLP-compliant
Why: Study reliable on audit; considerable safe human experience with the vaccine, including infants · Human data
“The Applicant provided a clear justification for the absence of GLP for the pivotal 4-week repeat-dose toxicity study in rats and potential consequences of non-compliance. The study was considered to be reliable without restrictions.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
OtherCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Main repeat-dose study lacked full-organ histology and reversibility assessment; groups not adequately sized
Why: Considerable human experience showing a safe, well-tolerated profile · Human data
“The CHMP considered that the main repeat-dose toxicity study did not include histology analysis of the full list of organs and tissues or assessment of reversibility of the microscopic changes in selected vital organs, and study groups were not adequately sized.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
OtherCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Two of three toxicity studies used a non-clinical formulation and dosing regimen; no conclusions could be drawn
Why: Prior clinical experience outside the U.S. for several years · Human data
“In the first two toxicity studies, the dosing regimen did not mimic the proposed trial and the test article was not the intended clinical formulation, therefore no conclusions could be drawn.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyAccepted
No safety pharmacology, secondary pharmacodynamic or drug interaction studies
Why: In line with applicable regulatory guidelines · Within the guideline
“The omission of secondary pharmacodynamic and safety pharmacology studies and of the pharmacodynamic drug interaction studies are in line with the applicable regulatory guidelines.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
BiodistributionAccepted
No pharmacokinetic studies
Why: Not a new vaccine (antigens described in Ph. Eur.); in accordance with CPMP, WHO and ICH S6 guidelines · Within the guideline · Class precedent
“According to the Applicant, pharmacokinetic studies were not performed or required, as this vaccine is not considered a new vaccine (containing antigens that have been previously described in the European Pharmacopoeia (Ph. Eur.)).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
No dedicated nonclinical studies with HBVaxPro; data extrapolated from HEXAVAC, PROCOMVAX and the thiomersal-containing vaccine
Why: Separate studies would not provide new knowledge on the preclinical safety profile · Class precedent · Weight of evidence
“Pre-clinical data are considered to be sufficent. The data from the HEXAVAC and PROCOMVAX studies can be extrapolated to the monovalent, thiomersal-free hepatitis B vaccine. Separate studies would not provide any new knowledge on the pre-clinical safety profile of HBVAXPRO.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 4Source ↗
Study lengthAcceptedBeyond the letter
Rat repeat-dose study omitted the fourth (booster) dose of the human schedule
Why: Second and third injections sufficient to boost the immune response and reveal adverse reactions · Pharmacology or kinetics
“The fourth dose which was administered 6 months to 1 year after the third dose in the human vaccination scheme for HEXAVAC® was not included in this toxicology study design. However, it is considered that the second and the third injections were sufficient to boost the immune response and to reveal potential adverse reactions.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 4Source ↗
OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
Repeat-dose toxicity given subcutaneously rather than by the intramuscular clinical route
Why: Subcutaneous route considered equivalent in bioavailability to the intramuscular route · Pharmacology or kinetics
“The subcutaneous route was considered equivalent in terms of bioavailability to the intramuscular clinical route and a dose level of 5 human doses per kg was tested (human dose level: 0.17 human dose/kg of human body weight).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 4Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
No animal reproduction studies
“Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted. This information has been included in the SPC.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
Safety pharmacologyAccepted
No safety pharmacology study
Why: WHO vaccine guidance; no CNS, respiratory, cardiovascular or renal signs in nonclinical or clinical studies · Within the guideline · Human data
“Therefore, given that there were no signs of CNS, respiratory, cardiovascular and renal effects for the 9vHPV vaccine, a nonclinical safety pharmacology study was deemed to be not necessary for the 9vHPV vaccine. This was found acceptable by the CHMP under the current requirements.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
OtherVerdict not stated
AAHS adjuvant not tested alone
Why: Adjuvant used in several other Merck vaccines with an established safety profile · Class precedent
“Toxicology studies of AAHS alone were not performed because this adjuvant has been used before in several other Merck vaccines and has an established safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
RecoveryCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
21-day recovery too short to show recovery of injection-site inflammation and lymph node hyperplasia at the higher alum content
Why: No myofibre degeneration and reduced inflammation at end of recovery suggest ongoing resolution · Weight of evidence
“Given a total amount of 500 µg Alum within the 9vHPV vaccine formulation (instead of 225 µg in GARDASIL), a 21-day recovery period appears not sufficiently long to allow detection of fully or partial recovery of the effect when evaluated by muscle inflammation and lymph node hyperplasia.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
SpeciesAcceptedBeyond the letter
All toxicology studies in one species (rat); safety assessment leans on the 4-valent Gardasil database
Why: Large safety database for the 4-valent vaccine; no important difference in safety anticipated · Class precedent · Human data
“Non-clinical toxicological testing of the 9vHPV vaccine includes 3 GLP-compliant studies in Sprague-Dawley rats, consisting of a repeat-dose toxicity study (complete toxicity with local tolerance and non-GLP immunogenicity assessments), a female fertility and embryo-foetal developmental toxicity study, and a postnatal developmental toxicity study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
OtherVerdict not stated
Autoimmunity risk from lymphoid stimulation not characterisable in animals; deferred to post-marketing in humans
Why: Can only be characterised in the post-marketing setting in humans · Human data
“Theoretically, lymphoid stimulatory effect seen in repeat-dose toxicity study might cause/exacerbate autoimmune diseases, but such a risk can only be characterized in post-marketing setting in humans.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
OtherCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Adjuvant-alone 8-week repeat-dose study designs not representative of the clinical dose regimen
Why: Acceptable when all safety data are taken into account · Weight of evidence
“According to EMA guidelines on adjuvants the study designs were not representative for the clinical dose regime of Heplisav B.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Safety marginCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No NOAEL in the mouse repeat-dose study of the adjuvanted vaccine; adjuvant dose did not match the clinical dose
Why: High dose 42-fold the clinical dose; numerous clinical studies at intended and greater doses provide a basis to evaluate safety · Human data
“While the adjuvant dose does not provide the direct toxicologic support (lack of NOAEL) intended by matching the clinical dose, on a mg/kg basis the highest adjuvant dose in the mouse toxicology study (2.5 mg/kg) was approximately 42-fold greater than the intended clinical dose of 0.06 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
Safety pharmacologyAccepted
No dedicated safety pharmacology studies; physical signs monitored within toxicity studies
Why: In accordance with the vaccine preclinical testing guidance (CPMP/SWP/465/95) · Within the guideline
“Safety pharmacology studies were not performed. However in the toxicological studies safety daily monitoring for physical signs did not reveal any notable respiratory problems. This approach is in accordance with Note for guidance on preclinical pharmacological and toxicological testing of vaccines (CPMP/SWP/465/95).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 8Source ↗
OtherAccepted
Aluminium adjuvant not tested alone; already used in approved vaccines
Why: Adjuvant used in other vaccines approved in Europe; adjuvant guideline · Class precedent · Within the guideline
“The Merck Aluminium Adjuvant (aluminium hydroxyphosphate sulphate adjuvant) is used in other vaccines, which are approved in Europe, and it is agreed that no further studies on the adjuvant are required according Guideline on adjuvants in vaccines for human use (CHMP/VEG/134716/2004).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 8Source ↗
SpeciesAcceptedBeyond the letter
Limited toxicology programme: repeat-dose toxicity in mouse only
Why: No toxicological concerns arising from the nonclinical studies · Weight of evidence
“A limited toxicological program has been performed with Gardasil. There are no toxicological concerns arising from the non-clinical studies with the vaccine.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
OtherVerdict not stated
Autoimmunity from cross-reactive antibodies not assessed in animals
Why: Not readily studied in animal models; can only be studied clinically · Human data
“Theoretically, the vaccine could give rise to antibodies, which cross-react to self-structures, resulting in autoimmune events. Such possibility is not readily studied in experimental animal models, but can only be studied in the clinical situation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
DARTCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Vaccine DART only in rats at 40% of the human dose; no full-human-dose rabbit study
Why: Rabbit full-dose study only considered warranted if recommended for females of child bearing age · Other reason
“Treatment of female CD rats with the candidate vaccine at 40% of the full human dose per occasion was well tolerated, did not lead to maternal toxicity, and did not adversely affect embryo-fetal or pre- and post-natal survival, growth or development of the offspring.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗
SpeciesAccepted
Vaccine repeat-dose toxicity in one relevant species (rabbit)
Why: Conducted per WHO and EMA guidelines: full human dose, more doses than clinical, clinical route · Within the guideline
“Repeated dose toxicity has thus been evaluated in one relevant animal species (rabbits) and the studies have been conducted according to the relevant WHO and EMA guidelines, including recommendations on dose (full human dose), number of doses (exceeding proposed number in the clinic) and of route of administration (IM is proposed route of administration for licensure).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyAccepted
Vaccine cardiovascular safety pharmacology in rat, not an appropriate QT species per ICH S7B
Why: Justification no longer needed given the pivotal conscious dog study · Within the guideline · Weight of evidence
“Previous CHMP scientific advice pointed out that a justification for the choice of the rat should be provided as according to ICH S7B the rat is not considered being an appropriate species for investigation for the potential to prolong the QT interval (the ionic mechanisms of repolarization in adult rats and mice differ from larger species). This is no longer needed in view of the pivotal dog study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
OtherAccepted
No toxicokinetic data
Why: Circulating antigen levels not required for vaccines (WHO adjuvant guideline) · Within the guideline
“Toxicokinetic data were not generated since the determination of circulating levels of antigens is not required for vaccines. This is in line with the Guideline on the nonclinical evaluation of vaccine adjuvants and adjuvanted vaccines (WHO, 2013). The absence of toxicokinetic data is considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
CarcinogenicityAccepted
No genotoxicity or carcinogenicity studies with the vaccine (MPL adjuvant genotoxicity tested only)
Why: L1 protein vaccine without HPV oncoproteins; not usually required for recombinant protein vaccines (WHO) · Within the guideline · Low-risk modality
“The mutagenic and carcinogenic potential of the Cervarix vaccine was not further evaluated, which is accepted since the vaccine is based on L1 protein and HPV oncoproteins are absent.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 53Source ↗
OtherCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
MPL-alone repeat-dose toxicity only from short intravenous studies done before Cervarix development, not by the intramuscular clinical route
Why: MPL adsorbed to aluminium has an acceptable safety margin at the proposed dose, route and regimen · Pharmacology or kinetics
“While the repeat-dose toxicity studies of MPL were performed following intravenous administrations of MPL, they can be viewed as providing limited supportive toxicity information for administration of MPL via the intramuscular (IM) route of administration intended for Cervarix.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
Ventricular septal defects in rat vaccine/AS04 DART and rabbit MPL studies above historical controls; treatment relation unclear
Why: Sponsor attributes defects to spontaneous delay in normal development
“However, concerning is that the incidence of ventricular septal defect in both studies is higher than in the historical control and did not occur in concurrent control groups.”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 40Source ↗

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
DARTVerdict not stated
No reproductive and developmental toxicity studies
Why: Vaccine not intended for administration to women of childbearing potential · Other reason
“and developmental toxicity studies were not included in this Application since the RTS,S/ AS01E candidate vaccine containing, AS01E, MPL, QS-21 is not intended for administration to women of childbearing potential.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 55Source ↗
OtherAcceptedBeyond the letter
Toxicity studies used RTS,S/AS01B, with twice the antigen and adjuvant amounts of the marketed AS01E formulation
Why: Higher-content formulation well tolerated, supporting safe use of Mosquirix
“The tested RTS,S/AS01B formulation consists of 50 μg of RTS,S antigen combined with AS01B containing 50 μg of MPL and 50 μg of QS-21 in liposomes and therefore contains twice the amounts of these constituents than the RTS,S/AS01E (Mosquirix) candidate vaccine.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 58Source ↗
BiodistributionAccepted
No pharmacokinetic study of the vaccine antigen
Why: Pharmacokinetic studies are normally not required for a vaccine · Within the guideline
“Pharmacokinetic studies are normally not required for a vaccine. Pharmacokinetic study of the vaccine antigen was not studied which is considered acceptable by the CHMP.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 57Source ↗

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
BiodistributionAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No distribution or excretion data for the final vaccine or AS04C adjuvant
Why: Applicant assumes adsorbed materials follow unadsorbed aluminium particle distribution and elimination; applicant committed to report study results · Pharmacology or kinetics
“Only limited pharmacokinetic data were generated in this study. Neither distribution nor excretion data are available for the final HB-AS04C vaccine or the AS04C adjuvant. The Applicant committed to report the results of this study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Efficacy modelAccepted
Effectiveness established from animal post-exposure survival studies under the Animal Rule instead of human efficacy trials
Why: Rapidly progressing, fatal inhalational anthrax makes clinical efficacy trials not feasible or ethical; Animal Rule applies · Within the guideline · Serious disease
“Because of the rapid progression and fatal nature of inhalational anthrax, clinical trials to demonstrate effectiveness of a PEP anthrax vaccine are not feasible or ethical. Therefore, animal post-exposure survival data were used as the basis for demonstration of effectiveness of CYFENDUS for the proposed indication, under the Animal Rule”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 4Source ↗