Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

What tox package did approved vaccines have, from first-in-human to approval?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 13 approved vaccines. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
2 of 13 ran first-in-human outside the US (where the reviews say so); 8 had a recovery phase in the longest repeat-dose study; 0 finished PPND after the marketing application.
First-in-human: outside the US2/13
First-in-human: not stated11/13
Longest repeat-dose: with recovery phase8/13
Longest repeat-dose: recovery not stated5/13
PPND: completed before the marketing application11/13
PPND: not conducted2/13
Carcinogenicity: not conducted1/13
Carcinogenicity: not required10/13
Carcinogenicity: not stated2/13

Precedent by precedent

13 approved vaccines, with the reviewers' own words.

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
First-in-human: where
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020
“2019nCoV-101 Part 1 (completed) Australia Initiated: May 6, 2020”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 20Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
57-day IM rabbit study with 4 doses of adjuvanted vaccine or Matrix-M alone
“In the 57-day repeat intramuscular toxicity study, rabbits were administered intramuscularly 4 doses (3 weekly and one additional 21 days later) of 50 ug SARS-CoV-2 rS with 50 ug Matrix-M or 50 ug Matrix-M alone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 17Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat combined DART with postnatal follow-up to day 21, completed before the marketing application
“The DART study confirmed that SARS-CoV-2 rS + Matrix-M1 or Matrix-M1 does not affect reproductive or developmental parameters and no adverse findings on pregnancy/lactation, or development of the embryo/foetus and offspring through post-natal Day 21 were identified.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 52Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required under WHO vaccine and adjuvanted vaccine guidelines
“No carcinogenicity studies have been performed with the SARS-CoV-2 rS vaccine and Matrix-M1 adjuvant in accordance with the WHO Guidelines on Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccines (2005) and Guidelines on the Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccine Adjuvants and Adjuvanted Vaccines (2014).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 51Source ↗

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
First-in-human: where
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg
“The studies were conducted inIsrael, Thailand, and Singapore. They were open-label, comprising two dose regimens, 5 and 10 µg. One had a preliminary phase 1 FIH part with a dosage up to 20 µg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Non-GLP rat IM study: necropsy 2 days after last dose (week 4) or at 8 weeks after recovery
“Animals were sacrificed 2 days after the last dose (= 4-week time point) or at 8 weeks following recovery.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Combined embryo-fetal and pre/postnatal study in rat (GLP) completed before the marketing application
“A GLP-compliant embryo-fetal and pre/post-natal reproductive toxicity study was conducted with the current vaccine formulation of PreHevbri in female Sprague-Dawley rats.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (in line with applicable guidelines)
“There were no studies on genotoxicity and carcinogenicity, which is in line with applicable guidelines.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Two GLP rabbit IM studies: injections on Days 1, 15 and 29, then 4-week recovery
“Two GLP-compliant repeated dose toxicity studies (and) were conducted in New Zealand White rabbits (10/sex/group), which received three intramuscular injections (Day 1, Day 15 and Day 29, followed by a 4- week recovery period.)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rabbit (RSVPreF3 or AS01B) and rat (RSVPreF3) developmental studies with postnatal phase, completed before the marketing application
“Study number 3: A Developmental Toxicity Study (Including Teratogenicity and Postnatal Investigations) of RSVPreF3 or AS01B by Intramuscular Injection in Rabbits. Study number: 20152506. Performing laboratory: . Study initiation date: November 08, 2018 Final report date: September 17, 2019”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 126Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for vaccines
“The absence of carcinogenicity studies is accepted and not required for vaccines.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Rabbit IM repeat-dose, 4 injections (days 1, 15, 29, 57), with 13-week recovery
“and included a 13-week recovery period. Animals were allocated randomly to 4 groups of 10 animals each, and received intramuscular injections in the paravertebral muscles on Days 1, 15, 29 and 57.”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 15Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat pre- and postnatal study with fertility assessment completed before the marketing application (protocol to IND in 2002)
“For this purpose, a pre- and post-natal toxicity study in rats, including an assessment of the potential impact of vaccination on fertility was performed. The protocol for the investigation was submitted to IND -(b)(4)- (Serial No. 0065, December 9, 2002).”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (L1 protein vaccine without HPV oncoproteins)
“The mutagenic and carcinogenic potential of the Cervarix vaccine was not further evaluated, which is accepted since the vaccine is based on L1 protein and HPV oncoproteins are absent.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 53Source ↗

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Adult rat IM repeat-dose study (about 4 weeks of dosing) with a recovery period
“Following the recovery period, there was no evidence of progression of the necrosis or inflammation noted on SD 31, and there was no evidence of delayed toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 28Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat pre- and postnatal DART study completed before the marketing application
“Emergent has completed a single-dose acute toxicity study, a repeat-dose safety toxicity study in adult rats, a pre- and postnatal developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART) study in rats, as well as a juvenile repeat-dose toxicology study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 53Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not evaluated for carcinogenicity in animals
“CYFENDUS has not been evaluated for carcinogenicity, mutagenic potential, or male infertility in animals.”
✓ VerifiedUS package insert, p. 9Source ↗

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
14-day IV MPL study in Beagle dog; rabbit IM vaccine study duration not stated
“Repeated-dose toxicity studies were presented, up to 7 days in rats and 14 days in Beagle dogs, where MPL was given once daily by the intravenous route, maximising the exposure.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat pre- and postnatal study completed before the marketing application
“Reproductive toxicity studies including a teratogenicity study in the rabbit and a pre-and postnatal study in the rat showed no evidence of maternal toxicity, teratogenicity or any effect on the in utero development of the F1 offspring.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Rat, five weekly SC injections of RIV3; recovery phase not stated
“The pivotal repeat-dose toxicity study was conducted with the SC route. Results showed that five weekly SC injections with RIV3 were locally and systemically well tolerated in rats.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat reproductive study with pre- and postnatal phase completed; final report reviewed for the original licence
“Reproductive toxicity study for FluBLOk, recombinant trivalent influenza vaccine: final report, review memorandum”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: viral vaccine without adjuvant or novel excipients
“Studies evaluating genotoxicity and carcinogenicity are normally not required for viral vaccines. Since no adjuvants or novel excipients are used in this product absence of those studies is considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
10-week IM BALB/c mouse study (1 or 3 doses); recovery phase not stated
“A 10-week repeat-dose toxicity study was performed in BALB/c mice. Vaccine-treated mice received 1 or 3 doses of Gardasil at a concentration of 160/160/80/160 μg/ml of the HPV types 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 8Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat reproductive and developmental study covering all phases (including lactation) completed before the marketing application
“The reproductive and developmental toxicity was assessed in a study in female Sprague-Dawley rats addressing all phases of reproduction and foetal development. An immune response to the vaccine was observed, and antibodies were shown to be transferred to the offspring during gestation and also lactation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required under vaccine guidance (CPMP/SWP/465/95)
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted, and this is in line with CPMP/SWP/465/95.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
13-week IM rat study (4 doses every 21 days) with 21-day recovery
“A recovery group consisting of 10 males and 10 females rats per group were sacrificed 21 days after the interim necropsy (day 67). Study duration was 13 weeks.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 40Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat postnatal developmental study (dosing to lactation day 7) completed before the marketing application
“In the second developmental toxicity study, female rats (F0) received 0.5 mL (0.25 mL administered to each quadriceps muscle) intramuscular injection with 9vHPV vaccine on 4 occasions (Premating Week -5 and -2 plus GD 6 and LD 7).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for vaccines
“The oncogenic/carcinogenic potential of the 9vHPV vaccine in long and short-term studies was not evaluated. According to current requirements as mentioned above, carcinogenicity studies are generally not required for vaccines and this is acceptable also for Gardasil 9.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Rat repeat-dose study (HEXAVAC), 3 injections at monthly intervals; duration and recovery not stated
“The absence of toxicity was evaluated after repeated administrations in the rat according to treatment schedules mimicking a human vaccination scheme (i.e., 3 injections at monthly intervals).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 4Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Animal reproduction studies not conducted
“Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
8-week SC cynomolgus monkey and rat (CpG 1018 adjuvant alone), each with 4-week recovery
“Study no. 00-157 “A 8-Week Subcutaneous Toxicity Study of 1018 ISS Adjuvant in Cynomolgus Monkeys, with a 4-Week Recovery Period” 7. Study no. 00-158 “An 8-Week Subcutaneous Toxicity Study of 1018 ISS Adjuvant in Rats, with a 4-Week Recovery Period””
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Combined developmental and perinatal/postnatal study in rat (HBsAg + 1018 ISS) completed before the marketing application
“Study title: Developmental and Perinatal/Postnatal Reproduction Toxicity Study of Intramuscularly Administered HBsAg + 1018 ISS in Rats, Including a Postnatal Behavioral/Functional and Immunological Evaluation”
✓ VerifiedFDA toxicology review, p. 18Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for this type of product (vaccine, sporadic exposure; ICH S1A)
“No studies assessing the carcinogenicity of Heplisav B or 1018 ISS adjuvant have been performed. This is acceptable for this type of product in line with EMAs guidelines for vaccines and adjuvants and compliant with ICH S1A, considering that the exposure to this vaccine will be sporadic.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Rabbit RTS,S/AS01B IM, 4 doses; necropsy Day 45 or after 28-day recovery (Day 70)
“Five males and five females from each group were killed on Day 45 (3 days after the last injection) and the remainder on Day 70 of study (28 days after the last injection) in order to study recovery.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 50Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: vaccine not intended for women of childbearing potential
“and developmental toxicity studies were not included in this Application since the RTS,S/ AS01E candidate vaccine containing, AS01E, MPL, QS-21 is not intended for administration to women of childbearing potential.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 55Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for vaccines, adjuvant systems or immunoenhancers (WHO/EMA guidance)
“According to the WHO Guidelines on Nonclinical Evaluation of Vaccines (WHO, 2005), the EMEA Note for Guidance on Preclinical Pharmacological and Toxicological testing of Vaccines (CPMP/SWP/465/95) and the Guideline on adjuvants in vaccines for human use (EMEA/CHMP/VEG/134716/2004), carcinogenicity studies are not required for final vaccine formulations, Adjuvants Systems and/or immunoenhancers.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 54Source ↗

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
AS01B alone in rabbit: seven IM doses 14 days apart, necropsy 3 or 28 days after last dose
“Group of 10 male and 10 female rabbits were treated with AS01B by intramuscular injection into the muscles of each hind limb on seven occasions 14 days apart. They were given a dose volume of 500 µL of the formulation and thus received 50 µg MPL and 50 µg QS-21 in a liposomal formulation per dose. Five rabbits per sex per group (including control group) were euthanized 3 or 28 days after the last dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 175Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Combined EFD and pre/postnatal study in rat (gE/AS01B) completed before the marketing application
“Treatment of female CD rats with the candidate vaccine at 40% of the full human dose per occasion was well tolerated, did not lead to maternal toxicity, and did not adversely affect embryo-fetal or pre- and post-natal survival, growth or development of the offspring.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for vaccines, adjuvant systems or immunoenhancers
“Carcinogenicity studies were not performed. As carcinogenicity studies are not required for final vaccine formulations, adjuvants systems and/or immunoenhancers based on current guidelines, this was considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗