Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Kynamro: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Applicant estimated safe starting dose from nonclinical results; method not specified
“In addition, on the basis of these non-clinical studies the applicant estimated an acceptable safe starting dose for humans based on the results observed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
12-month cynomolgus monkey (SC, weekly) with 6-month recovery
“As it was commented above the primary effects of mipomersen after 12 months of dosing were limited to the 30 mg/kg/week dose group and included decreases in platelet count, a decrease in total complement factor C3, as well as minimal degenerative changes Kynamro Page 26/114 and vacuolation in tubular epithelial cells in the kidney, most of which were recovered to baseline levels during a 6 month recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
SC: 3- and 6-month mouse, 5-month rat, 13-week (SC/IV) and 1-year monkey; 2-year mouse and rat carcinogenicity
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies with mipomersen were performed using a subcutaneous injection for time intervals of 3 and 6 months in mice, 13 weeks and 5 months in rats, and 5 weeks, 13 weeks, and 12 months in cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse, rat and rabbit (plus juvenile rat)
“The toxicology programme of mipomersen includes repeat dose studies in mouse, rat and monkey, in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity studies, reproductive and developmental studies in mouse, rat and rabbit, carcinogenicity studies in mouse and rat, and special toxicity studies such as immunotoxicity in mouse and juvenile toxicology in rat.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility/EFD and rabbit EFD (not teratogenic); rat PPND pup effects; juvenile rat study
“Mipomersen was not teratogenic in mice or rabbits at doses providing modest margins of exposure (2 to 5 times) compared to humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat PPND completed and reviewed before the marketing application; NOAEL 7 mg/kg/week
“The NOAEL for pre- and post-natal development in the rat is considered to be 7 mg/kg/week based on reduced bodyweight gain and impaired performance in the visual placing response and grip strength.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 262Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse and rat (2-year), with species-specific surrogate arm
“2-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in both the mouse and the rat with mipomersen and the relevant species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year mouse and rat (mipomersen plus species-specific surrogate)
“2-year carcinogenicity studies were conducted in both the mouse and the rat with mipomersen and the relevant species-specific surrogate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
2-year rat and mouse studies completed before the marketing application and found adequate by ECAC
“Two year carcinogenicity studies of mipomersen were conducted in rats and mice. The Executive Carcinogenicity Assessment Committee found the studies adequate.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Email me this as a cited memo

Tox package for Kynamro, each with the regulator's own words, the page and a link. Ready to paste into a briefing document or send to your team.

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →