Not conducted with ADC; MMAE: Ames and mouse lymphoma negative, rat micronucleus positive (aneugenic)
“Genetic toxicology studies were not conducted with tisotumab vedotin; rather, the applicant submitted studies that evaluated the payload.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9)
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with tisotumab vedotin in accordance with ICH S9 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted with ADC (ICH S9); MMAE rat EFD teratogenic/embryolethal; male repro toxicity in monkey
“MMAE was teratogenic and embryo lethal when administered to pregnant rats via two intravenous doses of 0.2 mg/kg during the period of organogenesis on gestational days 6 and 13.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Incorporated into repeat-dose monkey studies (ICH S9); MMAE hERG in vitro
“Additionally, safety pharmacology endpoints for tisotumab vedotin representative of the cardiovascular (ECG and heart rate), central nervous (cageside observations) and respiratory systems (breaths per minute) were assessed as part of the repeat-dose toxicity studies as outlined in ICH S9 guideline.”
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with tisotumab vedotin in accordance with ICH S9 guidance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for advanced cancer (ICH S9); FDA agreed
“The FDA agrees with the Applicant’s position; carcinogenicity studies are not warranted to support marketing for therapeutics intended to treat patients with advanced cancer in accordance with ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
hERG / QT
ADC not tested; MMAE <50% hERG inhibition up to 100 µM
“In vitro inhibition of the hERG channel was not evaluated with tisotumab vedotin; however, up to 100 µM MMAE had limited (<50%) inhibition on hERG potassium channel.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 32Source ↗