Zolgensma
onasemnogene abeparvovec
Sources:FDA pharmacology/toxicology review ↗EMA assessment report ↗US prescribing information ↗FDA summary basis for approval ↗
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
26 wk
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Not conducted Not conducted
First dose
Conducted Stated
Speciesopen answer page →
Species
Mouse only for pivotal GLP tox (neonatal FVB); NHP only in non-GLP studies (later 6-month juvenile NHP study in label)
“Single-dose toxicology studies were conducted to evaluate the safety of AVXS-101 following a single IV administration in healthy neonatal FVB/n mice.”
Why that species
FVB/n strain chosen as background of SMNdelta7 disease model to compare with pharmacology data; EMA noted NHP closer to human
“The Applicant has chosen to use the FVB/n strain in the toxicology studies to be able to directly compare safety data from the SMNΔ7 studies.”
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; clinical vector (Process B GMP lots) in mice; GFP reporter AAV9 used in NHP pharmacology publications
“The subsequent GLP single dose toxicity studies, Study 20122446 and Study 8384031, using GMP test material from the initial Process B manufacturing process revealed dose-dependent, delayed cardiovascular toxicity that was associated with thrombus formation in the atrium of the heart resulting in unscheduled mortality in a significant number of animals.”
Species: general tox
Neonatal wild-type mice (GLP studies) plus a pilot IV study in NHP
“The Applicant has provided a pilot study and three GLP studies in which the safety and biodistribution of IV-administered Zolgensma was tested in neonatal wild-type mice. Furthermore, a pilot IV study in NHP which were dosed at PND90, was provided.”
Species: DART
Mouse (fertility and early embryonic development, IV): vector DNA in gonads
“In fertility and early embryonic development studies conducted in mice administered onasemnogene abeparvovec, the active ingredient found in ZOLGENSMA, intravenously (IV) at dose levels of 1.1 × 10 13 or 1.1 × 10 14 vector genomes (vg)/kg body weight, onasemnogene abeparvovec DNA was detected in gonadal tissues of both males and females.”
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No animal studies have been performed to evaluate the effects of ZOLGENSMA on carcinogenesis or mutagenesis.”
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used: clinical vector tested in neonatal FVB/n mice
“Single-dose toxicology studies were conducted to evaluate the safety of AVXS-101 following a single IV administration in healthy neonatal FVB/n mice.”
Study lengthopen answer page →
Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“In a 6-month toxicology study conducted in juvenile non-human primates, single IV administration of onasemnogene abeparvovec at the recommended clinical dose level of 1.1 × 10 14 vg/kg, with or without corticosteroid treatment, resulted in microscopic findings in the dorsal root ganglia (DRG), trigeminal ganglia (TG), spinal cord, brainstem, and liver.”
Pivotal GLP studies
Two 12-week GLP single-dose IV studies in neonatal FVB mice (Process B); 24-week GLP mouse study with research-grade vector
“The Applicant conducted two 12 weeks and one 24 weeks GLP compliant studies with a single IV Zolgensma administration in neonatal FVB wild type mice as indicated in the table below.”
Route in tox
Intravenous (temporal vein in neonatal mice); IT/ICV in exploratory studies
“Route of Administration IV via the temporal vein”
Skipped studiesopen answer page →
Genotoxicity
Not conducted (low random rAAV integration per literature)
“Recent scientific literature supports low random integration frequencies of recombinant AAV (rAAV) vectors1,2 and lack of hepatic genotoxicity in rAAV2/5 genome integration in NHP and human liver samples.”
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no tumors in clinical trials since 2013)
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
Instead of carcinogenicity
Clinical trial experience since September 2013 with no tumour formation in any treated subject
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
DRG histopathology
DRG microscopic findings in juvenile NHP after single IV dose of 1.1e14 vg/kg (6-month study)
“In a 6-month toxicology study conducted in juvenile non-human primates, single IV administration of onasemnogene abeparvovec at the recommended clinical dose level of 1.1 × 10 14 vg/kg, with or without corticosteroid treatment, resulted in microscopic findings in the dorsal root ganglia (DRG), trigeminal ganglia (TG), spinal cord, brainstem, and liver.”
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (infants sexually immature, low gonadal vector); label later reports mouse fertility study without effects
“The target patient population for AVXS-101 with infantile-onset SMA are typically less than 1 year of age and sexually immature.”
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted
“No safety pharmacology studies were performed with AVXS-101.”
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (not warranted)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101.”
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (not warranted)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101.”
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (not warranted)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101.”
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; applicant cited absence of tumors in clinical trials since September 2013
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted by product characteristics, toxicology results and patient population)
“These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“No safety pharmacology studies were performed with AVXS-101.”
First doseopen answer page →
First-in-human starting dose
Mouse efficacy: doses doubling (7.4e13) and fully restoring (1.2e14 vg/kg) SMNdelta7 lifespan; MTD 1.5e14 set retrospectively
“The applicant noted that for phase 1 clinical trials, clinical dose identification was based on 2 criteria identified in animal studies: doubling Delta 7 SMA mouse life span (7.4e+13 vg/kg ) and restoring full life (1.2e+14 vg/kg ) in delta 7 SMA mice.”
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL not identified (mouse); MTD 1.5x10^14 vg/kg; heart (atrial thrombosis, myocarditis) and liver toxicity; mortality >=2.4x10^14
“Based on the lack of similar cardiovascular toxicities resulting in Zolgensma-related mortality, the low dose of 1.5 x 1014 vg/kg was defined as the maximum tolerated dose (MTD).”
Risksopen answer page →
Immune & cytokine safety
Systemic inflammatory response in mice; capsid/transgene immunity proposed for atrial thrombosis; NHP antibodies to vector and transgene
“Nevertheless, the NHP raised an antibody titre against both the vector and the transgene, while the mice raised an antibody titre against the vector alone.”
Biodistribution & persistence
Highest in heart, then lung, liver, lumbar spinal cord, muscle, brain; low in spleen and gonads through 12 weeks
“The biodistribution (BD) and SMN transgene expression profile of AVXS-101 were evaluated in neonatal FVB mice through 12 weeks.”
Modality-specific risk
High-dose AAV9 toxicity: cardiac atrial thrombosis, hepatotoxicity, DRG/neuronal degeneration (NHP); narrow therapeutic window
“Target organ toxicity in the heart and liver was associated with mortality in mice at dose levels of 2.4 × 10 14 vg/kg and above, approximately 2.2-fold higher than the recommended clinical dose level.”
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Mice: antibodies to the vector only; NHP: antibodies to both vector and transgene
“Nevertheless, the NHP raised an antibody titre against both the vector and the transgene, while the mice raised an antibody titre against the vector alone.”
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Incidence not given; trials required baseline anti-AAV9 titers of ≤1:50 (ELISA); prior AAV9 exposure uncommon
“In ZOLGENSMA clinical trials, patients were required to have baseline anti-AAV9 antibody titers of ≤ 1:50, measured using an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA). Evidence of prior exposure to AAV9 was uncommon.”
Label warnings
Boxed warning: SERIOUS LIVER INJURY and ACUTE LIVER FAILURE
- Acute Serious Liver Injury, Acute Liver Failure or Elevated Aminotransferases
- Systemic Immune Response
- Thrombocytopenia
- Thrombotic Microangiopathy
- Elevated Troponin I
- AAV Vector Integration and Risk of Tumorigenicity
- Infusion-Related Reactions
HepatotoxicityThrombocytopeniaThrombosis & embolismSecondary malignancyHypersensitivity & infusion reactions
US prescribing information, Boxed Warning and Warnings and PrecautionsDailyMed ↗
Tox packageopen answer page →
Before first-in-human
First-in-human: where
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA
“The completed clinical trial enrolled 15 infants with SMA from one site in the United States.”
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Mouse efficacy: doses doubling (7.4e13) and fully restoring (1.2e14 vg/kg) SMNdelta7 lifespan; MTD 1.5e14 set retrospectively
“The applicant noted that for phase 1 clinical trials, clinical dose identification was based on 2 criteria identified in animal studies: doubling Delta 7 SMA mouse life span (7.4e+13 vg/kg ) and restoring full life (1.2e+14 vg/kg ) in delta 7 SMA mice.”
Longest repeat-dose systemic studies
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single IV administration)
“No repeat-dose toxicology studies were performed with AVXS-101 since this will be intended for single IV administration only.”
Pivotal GLP studies
Two 12-week GLP single-dose IV studies in neonatal FVB mice (Process B); 24-week GLP mouse study with research-grade vector
“The Applicant conducted two 12 weeks and one 24 weeks GLP compliant studies with a single IV Zolgensma administration in neonatal FVB wild type mice as indicated in the table below.”
DART package
Species: DART
Mouse (fertility and early embryonic development, IV): vector DNA in gonads
“In fertility and early embryonic development studies conducted in mice administered onasemnogene abeparvovec, the active ingredient found in ZOLGENSMA, intravenously (IV) at dose levels of 1.1 × 10 13 or 1.1 × 10 14 vector genomes (vg)/kg body weight, onasemnogene abeparvovec DNA was detected in gonadal tissues of both males and females.”
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (infants sexually immature, low gonadal vector); label later reports mouse fertility study without effects
“The target patient population for AVXS-101 with infantile-onset SMA are typically less than 1 year of age and sexually immature.”
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, infant patient population)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
Carcinogenicity
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No animal studies have been performed to evaluate the effects of ZOLGENSMA on carcinogenesis or mutagenesis.”
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; applicant cited absence of tumors in clinical trials since September 2013
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted by product characteristics, toxicology results and patient population)
“These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
Safety marginopen answer page →
Safety margin at NOAEL
No NOAEL in mice; liver/heart lesions at 0.7- to 1.4-fold the clinical dose, mortality at 2-3 times the clinical dose
“occurrence of tissue lesions (primarily liver and ventricle) already found in doses 0.7- to 1.4-fold the clinical dose and the striking mortality in mice at doses 2-3 the clinical dose required discussion.”
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL not identified (mouse); MTD 1.5x10^14 vg/kg; heart (atrial thrombosis, myocarditis) and liver toxicity; mortality >=2.4x10^14
“Based on the lack of similar cardiovascular toxicities resulting in Zolgensma-related mortality, the low dose of 1.5 x 1014 vg/kg was defined as the maximum tolerated dose (MTD).”
Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →
Efficacy evidence
SMNdelta7 SMA mouse model: single IV clinical vector lots gave dose-dependent survival improvement
“At dose levels of 1.2 x 1013 up to 1.1 x 1014 vg/kg, the single IV administration of the various clinical vector lots of AVXS-101 resulted in a dose-dependent improvement in survival in neonatal SMNdelta7 mice.”
Why that model
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
Small therapeutic window in mice; no clear justification for clinical dose selection as underlying data missing
“Ultimately, the therapeutic window in mice is small and there is no clear rationale or justification for clinical dose selection, since underlying data are missing.”
Test articleopen answer page →
Test article vs clinical lot
The two 12-week GLP studies used process B material; all other safety studies used pre-process A batch material. Bridging: Current-process lots comparable to the initial clinical lot, including potency-to-vector-genome ratio and survival in a mouse SMA model
“All studies were performed with pre-process A batch material, except for the two 12-week GLP studies (process B).”
Vector and route
Non-replicating self-complementary AAV9, intravenous infusion
“Zolgensma finished product is a single-dose, preservative-free, sterile, clear to slightly opaque, and colourless to faint white, intravenous infusion of non-replicating, self-complementary AAV9 vector at a target concentration of 2.0 x 1013 vg/mL.”
First approval
2019 (FDA)
“The program ended with approval of Zolgensma by the US FDA on 24 May 2019.”
Flexibilityopen answer page →
Flexibility accepted
SpeciesCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Pivotal toxicity in neonatal mice only; no adequate safety study in a species closer to human (NHP study non-GLP, low-dose pilot)
Why: Human clinical data available and preferred for defining the safety profile · Human data
“As in mice a dose of ~≥ 2.2 fold the clinical dose results in mortality, a safety study in an animal species more close to human would have been helpful to determine the safety profile of the product in relation to the dose.”
“As currently human data from clinical studies are available, these data are preferred for determining the safety and efficacy profile of the product.”
Safety marginAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No margin: liver and ventricle lesions in mice at 0.7- to 1.4-fold the clinical dose; mortality at 2-3-fold
Why: Clinical monitoring of vital organ function and an intervention protocol required · Other reason
“The clinical relevance of the observed Zolgensma related effects in animals, with special attention to occurrence of tissue lesions (primarily liver and ventricle) already found in doses 0.7- to 1.4-fold the clinical dose and the striking mortality in mice at doses 2-3 the clinical dose required discussion.”
“An appropriate monitoring system for the functionality of vital organs and a functional intervention protocol when (life-threatening) toxic events would occur should be in place.”
CarcinogenicityCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No genotoxicity, tumorigenicity or vector integration studies
Why: Non-integrative AAV vector; integration expected only to a very low extent · Low-risk modality
“Neither studies on vector integration nor a justification for omission of such studies has been provided in the dossier.”
“As Zolgensma is a non-integrative vector, it can theoretically integrate into DNA to a very low extent. Consequently, the risk for mutagenic and the tumorigenic potential is regarded to be very limited.”
BiodistributionCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No germline transmission studies despite low but persistent vector DNA in gonads
Why: SMA1 patients treated at a very young age; further germline studies judged possibly unnecessary · Weight of evidence · Other reason
“The low but persistent levels of vector DNA observed in gonads should have triggered further non-clinical analyses in accordance with the Guideline on non-clinical testing for inadvertent germline transmission of gene transfer vectors (EMEA/273974/2005).”
“Based on these considerations and the fact that SMA1 patients are treated at a very young age, it may be acceptable that no further non-clinical studies were conducted on inadvertent germline transmission.”
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No developmental and reproductive toxicity, safety pharmacology, genotoxicity or tumorigenicity studies
Why: Not warranted given product characteristics, toxicology results and the target patient population · Low-risk modality · Other reason
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
Similar precedents
ItvismaGene therapy · onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)Monkey + rodent · 52 wkElevidysGene therapy · delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophinMonkey + rodent · 24 wkKebilidiGene therapy · eladocagene exuparvovec · AADCMonkey + rodent · 26 wkFayuviGene therapy · rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)Rodent only · 26 wkLenmeldyGene therapy · atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)Rodent only · 52 wkAmondys 45Oligos · casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)Monkey + rodent · 39 wk