Not conducted (low random rAAV integration per literature)
“Recent scientific literature supports low random integration frequencies of recombinant AAV (rAAV) vectors1,2 and lack of hepatic genotoxicity in rAAV2/5 genome integration in NHP and human liver samples.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no tumors in clinical trials since 2013)
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Clinical trial experience since September 2013 with no tumour formation in any treated subject
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
DRG microscopic findings in juvenile NHP after single IV dose of 1.1e14 vg/kg (6-month study)
“In a 6-month toxicology study conducted in juvenile non-human primates, single IV administration of onasemnogene abeparvovec at the recommended clinical dose level of 1.1 × 10 14 vg/kg, with or without corticosteroid treatment, resulted in microscopic findings in the dorsal root ganglia (DRG), trigeminal ganglia (TG), spinal cord, brainstem, and liver.”
Not conducted (infants sexually immature, low gonadal vector); label later reports mouse fertility study without effects
“The target patient population for AVXS-101 with infantile-onset SMA are typically less than 1 year of age and sexually immature.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted
“No safety pharmacology studies were performed with AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (not warranted)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (not warranted)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (not warranted)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; applicant cited absence of tumors in clinical trials since September 2013
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted by product characteristics, toxicology results and patient population)
“These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“No safety pharmacology studies were performed with AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Insertional mutagenesis assessed instead of standard genotox: in vitro immortalization assay (low potential) and integration site analysis (no clonal dominance)