United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA
“The completed clinical trial enrolled 15 infants with SMA from one site in the United States.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Mouse efficacy: doses doubling (7.4e13) and fully restoring (1.2e14 vg/kg) SMNdelta7 lifespan; MTD 1.5e14 set retrospectively
“The applicant noted that for phase 1 clinical trials, clinical dose identification was based on 2 criteria identified in animal studies: doubling Delta 7 SMA mouse life span (7.4e+13 vg/kg ) and restoring full life (1.2e+14 vg/kg ) in delta 7 SMA mice.”
“No repeat-dose toxicology studies were performed with AVXS-101 since this will be intended for single IV administration only.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Two 12-week GLP single-dose IV studies in neonatal FVB mice (Process B); 24-week GLP mouse study with research-grade vector
“The Applicant conducted two 12 weeks and one 24 weeks GLP compliant studies with a single IV Zolgensma administration in neonatal FVB wild type mice as indicated in the table below.”
Mouse (fertility and early embryonic development, IV): vector DNA in gonads
“In fertility and early embryonic development studies conducted in mice administered onasemnogene abeparvovec, the active ingredient found in ZOLGENSMA, intravenously (IV) at dose levels of 1.1 × 10 13 or 1.1 × 10 14 vector genomes (vg)/kg body weight, onasemnogene abeparvovec DNA was detected in gonadal tissues of both males and females.”
Not conducted (infants sexually immature, low gonadal vector); label later reports mouse fertility study without effects
“The target patient population for AVXS-101 with infantile-onset SMA are typically less than 1 year of age and sexually immature.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted: DART not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, infant patient population)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of AVXS-101 were not conducted for AVXS-101. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No animal studies have been performed to evaluate the effects of ZOLGENSMA on carcinogenesis or mutagenesis.”
Not conducted; applicant cited absence of tumors in clinical trials since September 2013
“Ongoing clinical trials (under IND #15699) since September 2013 have shown no evidence of tumor formation clinically in any subject administered with AVXS-101.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 14Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted by product characteristics, toxicology results and patient population)
“These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗