Conducted; negative (Ames, CHO chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval (IT route infeasible); SC carcinogenicity study as postmarketing requirement
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted with nusinersen at this time. The Division has recommended that a carcinogenicity study be conducted after approval.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility/EFD and rabbit EFD (SC): no clear toxicity; PPND ongoing as PMR
“No clear evidence of reproductive or developmental toxicity was seen in mouse and rabbit studies, and ISIS 396443 was negative for genotoxicity in a standard battery of in vitro and in vivo assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Rat IT-infusion respiratory/CV study; CNS endpoints incorporated into monkey IT tox studies
“Safety pharmacology consisted of a respiratory and cardiovascular safety pharmacology study in rats treated by continuous intrathecal (IT) infusion.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 71Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative (Ames)
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Chromosomal aberration in CHO cells: negative
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Mouse micronucleus: negative
“ISIS 396443 was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames and chromosomal aberration in CHO) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year SC mouse study: increased vascular tumors (hemangioma/hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose
“Administration of nusinersen (0, 5, 15, or 50 mg/kg) to male and female mice by subcutaneous injection, once every two weeks for 2 years, resulted in an increase in the incidence of vascular tumors (combined hemangioma and hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose tested.”
No carcinogenicity study before approval; 2-year carcinogenicity study is a postmarketing requirement
“the sponsor should conduct a 2-year carcinogenicity study as a postmarketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
hERG / QT
No ECG effects in repeat-dose IT monkey studies; no cardiovascular effects in rats with 25-day IT infusion
“In safety pharmacology studies, there were no pulmonary or cardiovascular effects in rats using continuous intrathecal (IT) infusion for 25 days, or effects on ECG in the repeat-dose IT toxicology studies in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗