Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Spinraza: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Spinraza don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey neurotoxicity NOAEL 0.3 mg/dose; hippocampal neuronal vacuolation/necrosis; no CSF-based safety margin (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
53-week (one year) juvenile cynomolgus monkey study with 26-week recovery
“ISIS 396443: A one year (53 weeks) repeat dose toxicity study in juvenile cynomolgus monkeys with a 26-week recovery phase”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 33Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
14- and 53-week IT bolus juvenile monkey; 13-week SC juvenile mouse; single-dose IT adult monkey
“The toxicity and pharmacokinetics (PK) of ISIS 396443 were evaluated following single IT bolus doses (up to 7 mg) in adult monkeys or following repeated IT bolus doses (weekly or every other week) for 14 (0.3, 1, or 3 mg/dose) and 53 (0.3, 1, or 4 mg/dose) weeks in juvenile monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Mouse and rabbit
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity studies in mice and rabbit showed no fetal effects related to treatment with nusinersen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility/EFD and rabbit EFD (SC): no clear toxicity; PPND ongoing as PMR
“No clear evidence of reproductive or developmental toxicity was seen in mouse and rabbit studies, and ISIS 396443 was negative for genotoxicity in a standard battery of in vitro and in vivo assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND study ongoing at approval; submission is a postmarketing requirement
“A pre- and postnatal development study is ongoing; submission of the study should be a post-marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Mouse (2-year SC study, conducted after approval)
“Administration of nusinersen (0, 5, 15, or 50 mg/kg) to male and female mice by subcutaneous injection, once every two weeks for 2 years, resulted in an increase in the incidence of vascular tumors (combined hemangioma and hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose tested.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
2-year SC mouse study: increased vascular tumors (hemangioma/hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose
“Administration of nusinersen (0, 5, 15, or 50 mg/kg) to male and female mice by subcutaneous injection, once every two weeks for 2 years, resulted in an increase in the incidence of vascular tumors (combined hemangioma and hemangiosarcoma) at the highest dose tested.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
No carcinogenicity study before approval; 2-year carcinogenicity study is a postmarketing requirement
“the sponsor should conduct a 2-year carcinogenicity study as a post￾marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →