“In accordance with ICH S6(R1) guidance, standard genotoxicity studies were not conducted with faricimab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no rodent VEGF-A binding); weight-of-evidence carcinogenicity assessment document
“No standard rodent carcinogenicity studies have been conducted as faricimab showed no relevant binding to mouse or rat VEGF-A.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey EFD (IV, GD20-48): non-dose-dependent increase in abortions, no NOAEL; fertility via 6-month study organ histology
“An embryofetal development (EFD) study in cynomolgus monkeys showed an increase incidence of abortions in faricimab treated monkeys at IV doses of 1 or 3 mg/kg administered weekly on gestation days 20 to 48.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No stand-alone studies; endpoints in 2-month and 6-month monkey tox studies
“Stand-alone safety pharmacology studies were not performed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 22Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1) guidance, standard genotoxicity studies were not conducted with faricimab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1) guidance, standard genotoxicity studies were not conducted with faricimab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (ICH S6(R1))
“In accordance with ICH S6(R1) guidance, standard genotoxicity studies were not conducted with faricimab.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; carcinogenicity assessment document (weight of evidence)
“No standard rodent carcinogenicity studies have been conducted as faricimab showed no relevant binding to mouse or rat VEGF-A.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; weight of evidence does not suggest carcinogenic potential
“No standard rodent carcinogenicity studies have been conducted as faricimab is not fully cross-reactive in rodents. The intended anti-angiogenic effects of faricimab and the weight of evidence do not suggest a carcinogenic potential of faricimab.”