Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Vabysmo: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

faricimab · VEGF-A x Ang-2

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
2-month IVT/IV cynomolgus monkey study with 4-week recovery, reviewed under the initial IND
“The following studies were reviewed under the initial IND by Dr Lansita (9-23- 2013).  Study # 1053361, 2-Month Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study with RO6867461 following Intravitreous and Intravenous Administration in Cynomolgus Monkeys with a 4-Week Recovery Phase”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
Starting dose 0.5 mg/eye IVT supported by monkey tox data (6 mg/eye high dose not initially supported; dose escalation gated)
“The proposed clinical starting dose of 0.5 mg/eye is supported by the nonclinical data but the high dose of 6.0 mg/eye is not.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
26-week once-monthly IVT cynomolgus monkey study with 13-week recovery
“Study # 8292406, 26-Week Partial Ascending-Dose Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study Following Once Monthly Intravitreous Injections in Cynomolgus Monkeys with a 13-Week Recovery”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 2-month IVT/IV monkey study with 4-week recovery; 26-week monthly IVT monkey study with 13-week recovery
“Study # 1053361, 2-Month Toxicity and Toxicokinetic Study with RO6867461 Following Intravitreous and Intravenous Administration in Cynomolgus Monkeys with a 4-Week Recovery Phase”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Cynomolgus monkey (EFD); pre/postnatal study not feasible due to ADA and exposure loss
“A pre- and postnatal development study could not be conducted in cynomolgus monkeys due to ADA formation and exposure loss observed in general toxicology studies preventing sufficient systemic exposure with faricimab in such a study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey EFD (IV, GD20-48): non-dose-dependent increase in abortions, no NOAEL; fertility via 6-month study organ histology
“An embryofetal development (EFD) study in cynomolgus monkeys showed an increase incidence of abortions in faricimab treated monkeys at IV doses of 1 or 3 mg/kg administered weekly on gestation days 20 to 48.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
PPND in cynomolgus monkey not conducted: ADA formation and exposure loss prevent sufficient systemic exposure
“A pre- and postnatal development study could not be conducted in cynomolgus monkeys due to ADA formation and exposure loss observed in general toxicology studies preventing sufficient systemic exposure with faricimab in such a study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (no relevant binding to rodent VEGF-A)
“No standard rodent carcinogenicity studies have been conducted as faricimab showed no relevant binding to mouse or rat VEGF-A.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; carcinogenicity assessment document (weight of evidence)
“No standard rodent carcinogenicity studies have been conducted as faricimab showed no relevant binding to mouse or rat VEGF-A.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 37Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required; weight of evidence does not suggest carcinogenic potential
“No standard rodent carcinogenicity studies have been conducted as faricimab is not fully cross-reactive in rodents. The intended anti-angiogenic effects of faricimab and the weight of evidence do not suggest a carcinogenic potential of faricimab.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Same question, other multispecifics

Lunsumio

mosunetuzumab · CD20 x CD3
US, Republic of Korea, Canada: dose-escalation part (Group A) of study GO29781 in patients with R/R B-cell NHL

Rybrevant

amivantamab · EGFR x MET
US and ex-US (Australia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Korea, Spain, Taiwan, UK): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion in advanced NSCLC

Talvey

talquetamab · GPRC5D x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, France, Germany, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Korea, Spain): first-in-human dose escalation/expansion

Tecvayli

teclistamab · BCMA x CD3
US and ex-US (Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, UK): first-in-human study

Ziihera

zanidatamab · HER2 x HER2 (biparatopic)
North America and South Korea: first-in-human study ZWI-ZW25-101 in HER2-expressing cancers

Bizengri

zenocutuzumab · HER2 x HER3
Not stated in public reviews

Blincyto

blinatumomab · CD19 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Columvi

glofitamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Elrexfio

elranatamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Epkinly

epcoritamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Hemlibra

emicizumab · FIXa x FX
Not stated in public reviews

Imdelltra

tarlatamab · DLL3 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Kimmtrak

tebentafusp · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion)
Not stated in public reviews

Korjuny

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Lynozyfic

linvoseltamab · BCMA x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Ordspono

odronextamab · CD20 x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Removab

catumaxomab · EpCAM x CD3
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 18 multispecifics →