Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

What flexibility did FDA and EMA accept for approved oligonucleotides?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 27 approved oligonucleotides. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
23 of 27 approved oligonucleotides had at least one departure from the guideline that regulators accepted; reviewers questioned at least one departure in 3.
Carcinogenicity19/27
DART13/27
Safety margin4/27
Juvenile tox4/27
Species4/27
Impurity or metabolite3/27
Safety pharmacology2/27
Study length1/27
First dose1/27

Precedent by precedent

27 approved oligonucleotides, with the reviewers' own words.

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; completion required as postmarketing requirements
Why: Benefit:risk and unmet medical need · Rare disease / unmet need
“Carcinogenicity No new studies were provided. The Division agreed these studies can be completed as post-marketing requirements (PMRs) given the benefit:risk and unmet medical need.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 162Source ↗
DARTAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Rabbit embryo-fetal and pre/postnatal development studies deferred to postmarketing
“An embryofetal development study in rabbit will be needed but may be conducted as a postmarketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 134Source ↗
SpeciesVerdict not stated
No GFAP knockdown in monkey toxicity study due to a single sequence mismatch with monkey GFAP mRNA
“No meaningful changes in GFAP mRNA levels were observed in brain or spinal cord tissues, likely due to the single mismatch between zilganersen and monkey GFAP mRNA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 75Source ↗
First doseAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Clinical intrathecal dose capped at 25 mg (about 1/10 of mouse and monkey NOAELs) after unexplained deaths in a mouse ICV study
Why: Additional nonclinical data allowed an increase to 50 mg every 12 weeks
“The FDA placed protocol ION373-CS1 on hold for IT doses of ION373 exceeding 25 mg, which is approximately 1/10th the NOAELs in mouse and monkey, due to unexplained deaths in female mice in the 9- week ICV toxicity study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 133Source ↗
Impurity or metaboliteAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
13-week intrathecal toxicity study of leachables with local CNS concerns required postmarketing
“5053-5: Conduct a 13-week intrathecal toxicity study for detected leachables with local CNS toxicity concerns including butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) (0.65 µg/day), boron (6.6 µg/day),”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 142Source ↗

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No rabbit embryo-fetal study with donidalorsen; DART in mice only, rabbit data leveraged from the unconjugated analogue ISIS 546254
Why: Neither donidalorsen nor unconjugated ISIS 546254 is pharmacologically active in rabbit; justification supported by literature · No relevant species
“The Applicant previously sought CHMP Scientific Advice on the necessity for studies in rabbits and it was agreed that studies may not be required on the basis that neither donidalorsen nor the unconjugated PS-only compound, ISIS 546254, were pharmacologically active in the rabbit.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Final 2-year rat carcinogenicity report deferred to a postmarketing requirement; only in-life summary at submission
Why: Agreed by the Division at the pre-NDA meeting
“At the pre-NDA meeting, the Division agreed that it would be acceptable to submit the report of the 6-month carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mice and a summary of the in-life data for the 2-year carcinogenicity study in rats at the time of the NDA submission and to submit the final report as a PMR (Refer to IND 142564 pre-NDA Meeting Preliminary Comments dated 04/10/2024).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 516Source ↗
Safety marginCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No plasma exposure data in the Tg.rasH2 carcinogenicity study; margin extrapolated from mouse PK data
Why: Weight of evidence · Weight of evidence
“While this may provide an explanation for the observations, there was an absence of plasma exposure data in this study to allow a direct derivation of safety to the clinical exposure.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Juvenile toxCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No AUC data or exposure margins from the juvenile mouse study
Why: Additional data would not be useful; sufficient data for adolescents (≥12 years) · Other reason
“No AUC data was available for the juvenile mouse study. The lack of AUC data from the juvenile mouse study prevents a quantitative assessment of potential increased sensitivity in younger subjects.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; transgenic mouse and rat studies deferred to postmarketing requirements
Why: DMD is life-threatening and severely disabling with no satisfactory alternative therapy · Serious disease · Rare disease / unmet need
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted for eteplirsen. As agreed to by the division, carcinogenicity studies in two species would be conducted post approval as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 18Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No standard reproductive and developmental studies; male fertility assessed by reproductive organ histopathology in toxicity studies
Why: Patient population is primarily male · Other reason
“Because the patient population is primarily male, standard reproductive and developmental studies were not required. To assess male fertility, the sponsor conducted a histopathological evaluation of male reproductive organs in the pivotal toxicity studies,”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
SpeciesAcceptedBeyond the letter
Pharmacology and toxicity in mdx mouse required a mouse-specific exon 23 surrogate PMO (AVI-4225)
Why: Human product cannot be tested in mdx mouse because of differences in the dystrophin gene mutation · No relevant species
“For mdx mouse, the pharmacological activity of the human product cannot be tested because of differences in the dystrophin gene mutation, requiring use of a mouse-specific PMO, exon 23 skipping AON and, therefore, resulting in a different truncated dystrophin.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗
Safety marginAcceptedBeyond the letter
Low NOAEL exposure margins: below one in mdx mouse (surrogate) and 3.4 in monkey
Why: Highest doses tested, with minimal-to-slight toxicity, gave 17 and 20 times the anticipated human exposure · Pharmacology or kinetics
“Safety margins based on plasma (AVI-4225 or eteplirsen) exposures at the NOAELs in adult animals are low (<1 in mdx mouse, 3.4 in monkey); however, plasma exposures at the highest doses tested, which were associated with minimal-to-slight toxicity (except for moderate dilatation of lateral ventricles), were 17 and 20 times the anticipated human exposure.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 20Source ↗

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Study lengthAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No chronic rodent toxicity study to assess systemic exposure
Why: Postmarketing carcinogenicity study in one species to provide chronic toxicity data
“A less-than standard battery of nonclinical studies (no chronic toxicity study in rodent [to assess systemic exposure], pre- and postnatal development (PPND) study in rodent, or carcinogenicity studies in mouse and rat) was conducted to support approval of nusinersen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; waiver requested, parenteral study in one species required postmarketing
Why: Lifetime intrathecal rodent studies infeasible; waiver rejected because of significant systemic exposure in patients · Other reason
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted. The sponsor has requested a waiver based on the infeasibility of conducting lifetime studies in rodents by the IT route, but given the significant systemic exposure documented in clinical studies, it is recommended that a parenteral study in one species be conducted postmarketing.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
DARTAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Pre- and postnatal development study incomplete at approval; deferred to postmarketing requirement
“A pre- and postnatal development study is ongoing; submission of the study should be a post-marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
Safety marginCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No CSF-based safety margin for hippocampal neurotoxicity in the 53-week juvenile monkey study
Why: Seriousness of the indication and apparently substantial clinical efficacy · Serious disease
“The no-effect dose (0.3 mg) for neurotoxicity in the 53-week monkey study was associated with csf levels (12 ng/mL) generally less than that in SMA patients (7-35 ng/mL); therefore, there is no safety margin based on csf levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
SpeciesAcceptedBeyond the letter
Ocular toxicity studies in rabbit and dog, species in which the aptamer has very low activity; no monkey ocular study
Why: Monkey has no advantage over rabbit or dog for the ocular studies · Other reason
“The ocular studies were conducted in rabbit and dogs, which, as the Applicant indicated, are species in which ARC1905 is expected to have very low activity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 35Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies; waiver granted
Why: Mechanism of action, intravitreal route, literature, pharmacological class effects and nonclinical and clinical data · Weight of evidence · Class precedent · Pharmacology or kinetics
“The Applicant justification to omit the conduct of nonclinical carcinogenicity studies is based on avacincaptad pegol mechanism of action, route of administration, a supportive literature review, an analysis of pharmacological class effects, and nonclinical and clinical data collected to date.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 69Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
Fertility/early embryonic and pre-/postnatal development studies waived; only rat and rabbit EFD studies conducted
Why: Weight of evidence shows the studies are not necessary for the intended dosing regimen and indication · Weight of evidence
“Nonclinical recommendations for (1) submission for a waiver request for FEED (fertility and early embryonic developmental) and PPND (pre-and postnatal developmental), along with the justification and supporting data, (2) conduct of embryofetal development studies in relevant species”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Ocular NOAEL below the clinical dose: dog 1.0 mg/eye (0.66X the recommended clinical dose)
“The NOAEL is considered to be 1.0 mg/eye (0.66X the recommended clinical dose) even though optic tract vacuolation at 3.0 mg/eye was not associated with any adverse histopathology or significant ERG findings.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; 26-week transgenic mouse and 2-year rat studies deferred post-approval
Why: Seriousness of the indication · Serious disease
“If the NDA is approved, carcinogenicity studies in two species (26-week in transgenic mouse, 2-year in rat) are to be conducted post-approval, as previously agreed to by the division.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No fertility or embryo-fetal/pre- and postnatal studies; male fertility assessed by reproductive organ histopathology and sperm in general toxicity studies, plus juvenile rat study
Why: Patient population almost exclusively male · Other reason
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with golodirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Safety marginAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Small margin for renal toxicity: human AUC at 30 mg/kg only 2.6-fold below the juvenile rat NOAEL
Why: Kidney function is monitorable in patients · Other reason
“At the recommended human dose of 30 mg/kg, plasma exposure (AUC of ∼90 µg*hr/mL) is only 2.6-fold lower than that at the no-adverse-effect-level in the most sensitive species (juvenile rat).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
Efficacy modelVerdict not stated
No in vivo study of exon 53 skipping with golodirsen; in vitro patient myoblast data only
“No in vivo nonclinical studies were conducted to assess the extent of exon 53 skipping by golodirsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
CarcinogenicityCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies with olezarsen; lifetime mouse and rat studies of unconjugated same-sequence ASO volanesorsen relied on
Why: Volanesorsen data accepted by FDA and EMA as applicable; absence of direct olezarsen data leaves some uncertainty · Class precedent
“Carcinogenicity studies were not conducted with olezarsen, but lifetime carcinogenicity studies were conducted for the active unconjugated ASO, volanesorsen, in both mice and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No embryofetal or pre-/postnatal development studies with olezarsen; bridged from volanesorsen mouse/rabbit studies
Why: No effects in the same studies with unconjugated active ASO volanesorsen · Class precedent
“Studies evaluating embryofetal development and pre-/postnatal development were not conducted with olezarsen as there were no effects on parameters evaluated in these studies conducted with the unconjugated ASO volanesorsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 230Source ↗
Juvenile toxAcceptedBeyond the letter
No juvenile animal toxicity studies with olezarsen; volanesorsen data relied on
Why: Available volanesorsen data considered sufficient · Class precedent
“In conclusion, based on the available data from volanesorsen, no additional juvenile toxicity studies for olezarsen are warranted at this time.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Carcinogenic potential not assessed at FDA approval; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse study made a postmarketing requirement
“The carcinogenic potential of eplontersen has not been assessed. A 26-week carcinogenicity study in the tg.ratH2 mouse will be a post-marketing requirement.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 49Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
No two-year rat carcinogenicity study; 26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse study plus data from same-sequence inotersen
Why: Negative Tg.rasH2 study, no genotoxic or proliferative findings, and inotersen (same sequence) not carcinogenic in rats · Class precedent · Weight of evidence
“Based on the negative outcome of this investigation in Tg.rasH2 mice, the lack of genotoxicity, immunosuppressive or proliferative findings in other toxicity studies, as well as the similarity of eplontersen and inotersen, which was not carcinogenic in rats, the lack of a 2 years rat carcinogenicity study is acceptable”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No rabbit embryo-fetal or pre/postnatal studies; combined mouse fertility/embryo-fetal study only, with inotersen data used instead
Why: Identical sequence to inotersen, which was tested in rabbit embryo-fetal and mouse pre/postnatal studies · Class precedent
“As eplontersen harbours the identical sequence of inotersen, which had been also tested with respect to embryo-foetal development in rabbits and in a pre-/postnatal development study in mice (see EPAR of “Tegsedi”, the previous CHMP advice is confirmed that further reproduction and developmental toxicity studies are not required for eplontersen.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies at approval; rat and mouse studies deferred to postmarketing requirements
Why: Serious indication with limited life expectancy; deferral previously agreed · Serious disease
“Carcinogenicity studies were not submitted in the NDA but are to be conducted post-approval (as PMRs), as agreed to by the division (DN1), if vutrisiran is approved.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
DARTAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Target-mediated reproductive and developmental effects not evaluated; rat and rabbit lack TTR sequence homology
Why: No sequence homology in rat or rabbit; Vitamin A deficiency effects on reproduction well known; supplementation recommended · No relevant species · Weight of evidence
“Target-mediated effects on reproductive function and development were not evaluated in rat or rabbit because of the lack of sequence homology;”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
RecoveryVerdict not stated
No recovery periods in the 6-month rat and 9-month monkey toxicity studies
Why: Generally mild effects · Other reason
“Given the generally mild effects, recovery periods did not follow the dosing phases of the 6 and 9 months toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
OtherAccepted
No single-dose toxicity studies conducted
Why: In accordance with prevailing ICH and European guidance · Within the guideline
“Single dose toxicity studies have not been conducted with vutrisiran, which is endorsed in accordance with prevailing ICH and European guidance (EMA/CPMP/ICH/286/1995; EMA/CHMP/SWP/81714/2010).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
SpeciesAcceptedBeyond the letter
Mipomersen inactive in rodents and only partly active in monkey; pivotal rodent studies added a species-specific surrogate arm
Why: apoB mRNA sequence differences abolish or reduce mipomersen activity in animal species · No relevant species · Pharmacology or kinetics
“Species-specific differences in the nucleotide sequence of apoB mRNA caused a reduction (monkey) or complete loss (mouse, rat, dog and rabbit) of the intended pharmacological activity of mipomersen in these species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyAcceptedBeyond the letter
Cardiovascular safety study conducted in monkeys instead of dogs
Why: Monkey model shown to be suitable for the preclinical development · Other reason
“The CHMP noted that monkeys instead of dogs were used in the cardiovascular safety study. However, taking into account the suitability of the monkey model showed for the preclinical development it is considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 19Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Chronic monkey NOAEL (10 mg/kg/week) corresponds to anticipated clinical exposure at 200 mg/week; no margin
“In a chronic monkey study, multi-focal intimal hyperplasia with mixed inflammatory infiltrates was evident in vascular beds in 2 of 6 monkeys treated for 12 months with 30 mg/kg/week with a no-observed-adverse-effect-level (NOAEL) of 10 mg/kg/week (clinical exposures anticipated from a 200 mg/wk dose based on body surface area comparisons across species).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Efficacy modelQuestioned
Hepatic lipids not measured in the most hypercholesterolaemic mouse models despite steatosis concern
“While none of the pharmacology studies revealed a clear potential for apoB antisense inhibitors to cause or exacerbate hepatic steatosis, it is notable that studies in the models that have the greatest degree of hypercholesterolemia (the LDLr- Deficient Mouse, the Human ApoB transgenic/LDLr-Deficient Mouse, and the ApoE-Deficient Mouse) failed to assess hepatic lipid levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Juvenile toxAcceptedBeyond the letter
No juvenile toxicology study
Why: Unlikely to generate additional information; agreed in CHMP scientific advice · Other reason
“In accordance with EMA advice, a juvenile toxicology study was not conducted since it was unlikely to generate additional information from what is already available [CHMP Scientific Advice 2017]”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
No NHP enhanced pre/postnatal study despite offspring TDAR suppression with PCSK9 antibodies; rat PPND only
Why: Unlike IgG antibodies, inclisiran is unlikely to cross the placental barrier · Pharmacology or kinetics
“An ePPND NHP study was not conducted for inclisiran, but (in contrast to IgG-based Mab therapeutics) inclisiran is unlikely to cross the placental barrier.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Impurity or metaboliteAcceptedBeyond the letter
Unspecified impurity limit exceeds ICH Q3A threshold; qualified by levels in pivotal toxicology lots, no dedicated impurity studies
Why: Impurities qualified by the repeat-dose toxicity studies · Other reason
“The limit for the single largest individual unspecified impurity of % exceeds the ICH Q3A threshold of 0.2% based on a 300 mg dose.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyVerdict not stated
No dedicated neurological safety pharmacology study; neurological evaluations in 40-week monkey study
“A dedicated safety pharmacology study to evaluate neurological function was not performed; however, neurological evaluations were incorporated into the 40- week repeat dose toxicology study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 23Source ↗

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No reproductive and developmental toxicity studies; male reproductive organs and sperm evaluated in chronic studies instead
Why: Intended patient population is extremely rare in females · Other reason
“Reproductive toxicology studies are typically not conducted for the DMD indication. Therefore, detailed examination of male reproductive organs and sperm evaluations were conducted as part of the chronic toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 75Source ↗
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Mouse and rat carcinogenicity studies not conducted before approval; deferred to postmarketing requirements
Why: Seriousness of the indication; post-approval conduct previously agreed by the division · Serious disease
“Carcinogenicity assessments were not conducted. PMRs covering the carcinogenicity assessments are recommended.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 12Source ↗
Efficacy modelVerdict not stated
No in vivo efficacy model for casimersen; pharmacology tested in vitro in human rhabdomyosarcoma cells and primary myoblasts
Why: No relevant animal models due to the species- and mutation-specific nature of PMO ASOs · No relevant species
“The pharmacological activity of casimersen was tested in vitro using human rhabdomyosarcoma cells and normal primary myoblasts, as there are no relevant animal models due to the species- and mutation-specific nature of PMO ASOs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
CarcinogenicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies for a chronic intravitreal therapy
Why: Very low systemic exposure in patients; difficulty achieving both high systemic and intraocular exposure in a relevant study · Pharmacology or kinetics
“The main argument considered by the CHMP in order to accept the lack of carcinogenicity studies was due to the very low systemic exposure obtained in the clinical population together with the apparent difficulty to perform relevant study obtaining both high systemic and intraocular exposure.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
No definitive non-rodent embryo-fetal study; only a non-GLP intravitreal rabbit dose-range-finding study
Why: Advanced age and limited reproductive potential of the AMD patient population · Other reason
“A full embryo-foetal toxicity in a non-rodent species (e.g., rabbits) was not conducted, but a non-GLP, rabbit dose-range-finding study with IVT administered pegaptanib was performed. This was justified with the advanced age and limited reproductive potential of the patient population with AMD.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 10Source ↗
Impurity or metaboliteAcceptedBeyond the letter
Impurity intraocular safety margins only 2-3 fold
Why: Larger human eye than dog and rabbit increases the ratio to clinical local exposure · Pharmacology or kinetics
“With respect to intraocular toxicity, the safety margins are 2-3 fold. However, taking into account the larger human eye as compared to dogs and rabbits, the ratio to clinical local exposure is further increased and thus considered acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; carcinogenic potential to be assessed post-approval
Why: Life-threatening ALS, negative genotoxicity and no (pre)neoplastic changes in chronic mouse and monkey studies · Serious disease · Weight of evidence
“Due to the severity of the indication, the carcinogenic potential of tofersen is to be conducted post-approval.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 180Source ↗
DARTAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
DART studies only in mice and rabbits, species in which tofersen is not pharmacologically active
Why: Literature on SOD1 down-regulation suggests low but unknown risk; gap reflected in SmPC sections 4.6 and 5.3 · Weight of evidence · No relevant species
“Considering that tofersen is not pharmacologically active in mice and rabbits, these studies do not provide data regarding the pharmacological activity of tofersen in terms of its potential effects on reproduction or development. This limits the predictive value of these studies in terms of human safety.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Only 1.2-fold margin at the 9-month monkey NOAEL (12 mg, CSF-volume scaled) to the 100 mg human dose
“The NOAEL from the 9-month NHP toxicology study was determined to be 12 mg, which converts to a HED of 120 mg (based on the monkey-to-human CSF volume scaling) thus providing safety margins of 1.2-fold, based on CSF volumetric scaling (10x), relative to the human dose of 100 mg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
2-year rat carcinogenicity study ongoing at approval; completion to be submitted postmarketing
Why: Unmet medical need associated with familial chylomicronemia syndrome · Rare disease / unmet need
“The 2-year rat carcinogenicity study is ongoing, and the Agency recommends that completion of this study should be submitted postmarketing (after approval) considering the unmet medical need associated with the FCS clinical indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 103Source ↗
SpeciesAcceptedBeyond the letter
Rat lacks full ApoC-III sequence homology (seven mismatches), so suitable only for off-target toxicity; monkey the pharmacologically relevant species
Why: Monkeys deemed the most pharmacologically relevant species for on-target safety · No relevant species
“The antisense strand of plozasiran is fully complementary to monkey and human ApoC-III mRNAs, whereas plozasiran has seven sequence mismatches to the rodent ApoC-III mRNA transcript. Moderate pharmacodynamic activity was observed in rats only at toxic doses; however, the lack of full rat mRNA sequence homology makes this species suitable only for assessing off-target toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 102Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
Rat embryo-fetal study tested a rodent-specific surrogate siRNA (AD06313) alongside plozasiran
“In pregnant rats, daily treatment with plozasiran or a rodent-specific surrogate (AD06313) during the period of organogenesis did not result in fetal malformations or teratogenicity at any dose up to 60 mg/kg/day plozasiran (23-fold MRHD), the highest dose tested.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 103Source ↗

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
Rat 2-year and transgenic mouse 6-month carcinogenicity studies incomplete at approval; deferred to postmarketing requirements
Why: No carcinogenicity concern in available data; clinical benefit and unmet need · Rare disease / unmet need · Weight of evidence
“Two-year rat and 6-month transgenic mouse carcinogenicity studies are underway. The available data do not raise concern for a risk of carcinogenicity that should delay approval given the apparent clinical benefit and unmet need. As such, these studies will be postmarketing requirements.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 58Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyAcceptedBeyond the letter
No in vitro hERG assay
Why: Physicochemical properties of lumasiran and targeted liver delivery · Pharmacology or kinetics
“Not performed, given the physiochemical property of lumasiran and targeted liver delivery, this was determined to be acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 79Source ↗

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; Tg.rasH2 mouse and two-year rat studies required as postmarketing requirements
“If the application is approved, a 26-week carcinogenicity study in Tg.rasH2 mouse and a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat should be conducted as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No embryo-fetal or pre/postnatal development studies; male mouse fertility study only
Why: Patient population almost exclusively male · Other reason
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity assessment before approval; studies deferred to postmarketing
Why: No carcinogenicity concern in available data; serious disease with limited therapeutic options · Serious disease · Rare disease / unmet need
“The carcinogenic potential of nedosiran has not been assessed. The Agency agrees that carcinogenicity studies can be conducted postmarketing.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗
SpeciesVerdict not stated
Monkey is the only pharmacologically relevant species; mouse toxicity studies assess off-target hybridization only
Why: LDHA mRNA sequence in mouse differs from human · No relevant species
“Nedosiran is inactive in the mouse because the LDHA mRNA sequence is different from humans, and hence, the toxicology of nedosiran was studied in the mouse to assess off-target hybridization effects.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 91Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
Mouse pre/postnatal (and other DART) studies run with nedosiran, inactive in mouse, plus a mouse-specific active analog
“In a pre- and postnatal study in mice, subcutaneous administration of nedosiran (0, 250, 500, or 1000 mg/kg/dose) or a mouse-specific (pharmacologically active) analog (10 mg/kg/dose) from implantation to weaning did not have adverse effects on the growth, viability, development, and reproductive performance of the offspring.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 81Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Rabbit embryofetal toxicity below clinical exposure: postimplantation loss at 0.7x and malformations at 2x the MRHD; no-effect dose 0.2x
“Higher postimplantation loss and lower numbers of live fetuses were observed at doses of ≥6 mg/kg/dose (0.7x the MRHD, based on body surface area), and fetal cardiovascular and skeletal malformations were observed at a dose of 20 mg/kg/dose (2x the MRHD). A dose level of 2 mg/kg/dose (0.2x the MRHD) had no effect on maternal toxicity and embryo-fetal development in rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 50Source ↗
OtherVerdict not stated
No antidrug antibody analysis in nonclinical studies; absence of neutralizing ADA inferred from PK and PD data
Why: PK and PD data suggest neutralizing ADAs were not formed · Pharmacology or kinetics
“ADA analysis has not been conducted with samples from the nonclinical studies; however, PK and pharmacodynamics (PD) data from the nonclinical studies suggest that neutralizing ADAs against nedosiran were not formed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 104Source ↗

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a condition
No carcinogenicity studies before approval; ICH S9 waiver claim not accepted by FDA; mouse and rat studies required postmarketing
Why: Life expectancy of lower-risk MDS patients exceeds 5 years, so carcinogenicity assessment is warranted · Within the guideline
“Based on the literature provided by the Applicant and discussion with the clinical team, the life expectancy for patients with lower risk MDS (defined variously, but usually as low or intermediate-1 risk disease by IPSS) and ESA failure or transfusion dependency is > 5 years and carcinogenicity risk assessment is warranted for the intended patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗
DARTAcceptedBeyond the letter
No fertility or pre/postnatal development studies
Why: Indication mainly in older people; little or no oral bioavailability · Other reason · Pharmacology or kinetics
“No PPND study has been submitted. This was considered acceptable based on the proposed indication which is primarily relevant for older people and that imetelstat has little or no oral bioavailability”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Efficacy modelVerdict not stated
No MDS xenograft or MDS cell-line studies; antitumor activity shown in other myeloid and solid tumor models
Why: No MDS-specific cell lines or mouse xenograft models exist
“No xenograft studies were conducted in MDS cells lines, and this was described by the Applicant as being due to the lack of MDS specific cell lines and mouse xenograft models.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
SpeciesQuestioned
Many potential off-target hybridization transcripts not covered in toxicology species owing to lack of sequence homology
“Importantly though, many of the identified transcripts were not covered in the nonclinical toxicology studies due to lack of sequence homology in the toxicology species.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Impurity or metaboliteQuestioned
No dedicated metabolism studies; oligonucleotide degradation metabolites not identified or characterized
“The rat data indicates that imetelstat is rapidly degraded (including in the bone marrow) but the resulting degradation metabolites have not been identified (e.g., no identification of N-1, N-2 etc. metabolites has been provided by the applicant).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
CarcinogenicityVerdict not stated
2-year rat carcinogenicity study still ongoing at approval; only the 26-week Tg-rasH2 mouse study completed
“There was no evidence of carcinogenicity in the 26-week conducted in f Tg-rasH2 mice. A longer, 2-year carcinogenicity study in Sprague Dawley rats (AS1-GLP18-007), currently ongoing, will be submitted upon its completion.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗
Juvenile toxAcceptedBeyond the letter
No dedicated juvenile animal studies; young monkeys (13 to 17 months old) in the 39-week study used to support adolescents
Why: Monkeys aged 13 to 17 months at study start cover the developmental age of adolescents 12 years and older · Weight of evidence
“Dedicated studies were not conducted in juvenile animals. In the chronic monkey GLP toxicology study, givosiran was administered once weekly at dose levels between 10 and 100 mg/kg for 39 weeks, followed by a 13-week recovery phase.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗
OtherVerdict not stated
Repeat-dose toxicity studies dosed once weekly rather than the once-monthly clinical schedule
“The studies were conducted using the subcutaneous route of administration, which is consistent with the intended clinical route of administration; however, animals were dosed once weekly instead of the once monthly dose schedule used to treat patients.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 27Source ↗
SpeciesVerdict not stated
Rabbit embryo-fetal study conducted in a pharmacologically inactive species (no hepatic ALAS1 knockdown)
“Pharmacodynamics measurement on GD 22 indicated that givosiran did not reduce hepatic ALAS1 transcript levels in pregnant rabbits at any dose level, confirming that givosiran is not pharmacologically active in rabbits.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 28Source ↗

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
2-year rat carcinogenicity study not submitted before approval; required post-marketing
“A 2-year carcinogenicity study in rat has not been submitted. A study protocol was submitted on October 27, 2015, for Special Protocol Assessment and was reviewed by the division and the Executive CAC committee (Minutes dated December 2, 2015).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
NOAEL AUC margins for severe thrombocytopenia (monkey) and kidney toxicity (rat) about 2-fold or less
“Safety margins based on AUCs at the no observed adverse effect levels (NOAELs) for severe thrombocytopenia in monkeys and kidney toxicity in rats were ≤ ~2-fold.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 15Source ↗

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
CarcinogenicityAcceptedBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity studies; waiver requested citing lack of meaningful systemic exposure
Why: Local intravitreal treatment of CMV retinitis in AIDS patients with lack of meaningful systemic exposure · Pharmacology or kinetics · Serious disease
“A waiver from performing carcinogenicity studies was requested by the sponsor. The sponsor stated that "lack of meaningful systemic exposure, additional systemic toxicity studies are neither relevant nor useful for assessing the safety profile of this compound".”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Efficacy modelVerdict not stated
No animal model of HCMV infection; antiviral activity shown only in vitro
Why: No animal models of HCMV infection exist · No relevant species
“Due to lack of animal models for HCMV infection, the anti-CMV activity of fomivirsen has been demonstrated in in vitro tissue culture settings.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 4Source ↗

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
CarcinogenicityCriticised but acceptedBeyond the letter
Mouse and rat carcinogenicity studies of limited value: high toxicity-related mortality and early termination of study groups
Why: No genotoxicity; tumours most likely secondary to chronic inflammation · Weight of evidence
“However, given the high mortality due to toxicity of volanesorsen, the value of these studies is limited.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 43Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
Mouse pre/postnatal study run with both volanesorsen and a murine-specific apoC-III ASO surrogate (ISIS 440670)
“An assessment of pre- and postnatal toxicity was performed using subcutaneous administration of volanesorsen or the murine-specific apoC-III inhibitor (ISIS 440670) on alternate days to pregnant female mice at doses up to 87.5 mg/kg/wk from Day 6 of gestation to Day 21 postpartum.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
DARTVerdict not stated
Fertility and pre/postnatal studies only from 1970s non-GLP intramuscular rat studies; not fully reviewed
“Fertility and pre- and post-natal toxicology studies were conducted in the rat; however, the studies were not fully reviewed for the following reasons: non-GLP studies conducted in 1970’s with a route of administration (i.m.) different from the proposed clinical route (i.v.)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
DARTQuestioned
Intravenous embryo-fetal studies in rats and rabbits non-GLP and not evaluable due to maternal toxicity
“These studies provided very limited information about defibrotide effects on embryo-foetal development as they could not be evaluated; the studies performed were also non GLP-compliant.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
CarcinogenicityVerdict not stated
No intravenous carcinogenicity studies; oral rat and mouse studies inadequate to assess carcinogenic potential
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with defibrotide administered by the intravenous route and the oral studies were inadequate to conduct an assessment of the potential for carcinogenicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Efficacy modelQuestioned
Pharmacological rationale not established nonclinically; no extrapolation to clinical data on pharmacological plausibility
“Based on the provided data, the CHMP concluded that the pharmacological rationale for the use of defibrotide has not been established; therefore, no extrapolations to clinical data can be made based on “pharmacological plausibility”.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
CarcinogenicityVerdict not stated
No 2-year rat carcinogenicity study; 26-week TgRasH2 mouse study only
Why: Technical challenges of long-term IV administration and ADA development in the 26-week rat study · Other reason
“A 2-year carcinogenicity study of patisiran-LNP in rats was not conducted because of the technical challenges of long term IV administration of patisiran-LNP, and the immunogenicity (development of ADA) that was observed in the 26-week chronic rat study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗
Safety pharmacologyVerdict not stated
In vitro hERG testing done only for the lipid nanoparticle with a control siRNA, not for the patisiran siRNA
“In-vitro hERG testing was not conducted for the ds-siRNA but only for the possible impact from the LNP (with patisiran exchanged for an insect luciferase siRNA with no target in the human genome).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
DARTVerdict not stated
Rat reproductive and developmental studies used a rodent-specific surrogate siRNA formulation alongside patisiran-LNP
Why: Patisiran not pharmacologically active in rats or rabbits · No relevant species
“Since ALN-18328 is not pharmacologically active in rats or rabbits, the rat-specific surrogate formulation AF-011-18534 was used in the reproductive and developmental toxicity studies in rats to assess potential on-target pharmacological effects of patisiran-LNP on reproduction and development”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
DARTVerdict not stated
No reproduction studies in female animals (no embryo-fetal or pre/postnatal studies); male fertility assessed within 26-week rat study
Why: Hemophilia A and B occur almost exclusively in males · Other reason
“Fitusiran was not tested in reproduction studies in female animals because hemophilia A and B occur almost exclusively in males.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 90Source ↗
Safety marginVerdict not stated
Chronic monkey top dose 0.5 mg/kg/week, below the MRHD on a body-surface-area dose basis
“In monkeys with normal coagulation at baseline, fitusiran administration at up to 0.5 mg/kg/week (representing a dose below the MRHD based on BSA comparisons) for 39 weeks decreased AT protein and activity up to 74% and 71%, respectively, and all doses were well-tolerated.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 88Source ↗

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Safety marginVerdict not stated
No exposure margin in mouse fertility study: no adverse effects up to 0.7 times the MRHD (BSA)
“No adverse effects on male or female mating or fertility were observed following subcutaneous administration of bepirovirsen to mice up to 0.7 times the MRHD (based on BSA comparison).”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗