Not conducted; weight-of-evidence risk assessment used
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence risk assessment used
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Weight-of-evidence risk assessments integrating a literature review, FAYUVI toxicology data and historical data from other AAV products
“assessments that integrated a literature review, FAYUVI toxicology data, and historical data from other AAV products.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence risk assessment used
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; weight-of-evidence risk assessment instead
“To address these concerns, the Applicant used a weight-of-evidence approach”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity addressed by weight-of-evidence approach
“Developmental and reproductive toxicity (DART), genotoxicity, and carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity studies were not conducted with FAYUVI. To address these concerns, the Applicant used a weight-of-evidence approach”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Insertional mutagenesis assessed instead of standard genotox: in vitro immortalization assay (low potential) and integration site analysis (no clonal dominance)