NHP liver integration analysis: integration in 0.48% of vector sequences, average 1.55 × 10-3 integration sites per cell
“Vector integration events were observed at low frequencies (0.48% of vector sequences) with an overall average of 1.55 × 10-3 integration sites per cell (IS/cell), with the ten most abundant IS with sequence counts ranging between 2 and 7 reads or a relative frequency of less than 1.62%.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
No evidence of abnormalities in the dorsal root ganglia in 8 monkeys treated at 6.1012 or 2.1013 vg/Kg
“For 8 animals (Rhesus or Cynomolgus) treated at 6.1012 or 2.1013 vg/Kg, there was no evidence for abnormalities in the dorsal root ganglia, nor in the spinal cord area, at the time of euthanasia.”
Not conducted (DART); male mouse germline transmission/mating studies showed no F1 transmission or fertility effects
“There were no ROCTAVIAN-related adverse changes on mating rates, maternal behavior, and fertility indices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted; no CNS/respiratory/CV/renal findings in toxicity studies
“Safety pharmacology studies were not performed because BMN 270 components (capsid, vector DNA, corresponding RNA and hFVIII-SQ protein) are not expected to impact major organ systems’ (central nervous system, cardiovascular, renal or respiratory) function.”
No carcinogenicity study; monkey liver vector integration analysis plus mouse/monkey toxicology showed no clonal expansion, preferential integration or tumors
“In summary, the vector integration data in nonhuman primates and toxicology data obtained in mice and nonhuman primates (e.g., BMN270-16-045 and BMN270-16-046) indicate no evidence of BMN 270-related clonal expansion, preferential vector integration site(s), or tumor formation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, target population)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ROCTAVIAN were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted; no CNS, respiratory, cardiovascular or renal findings in toxicity studies
“Safety pharmacology studies were not performed because BMN 270 components (capsid, vector DNA, corresponding RNA and hFVIII-SQ protein) are not expected to impact major organ systems’ (central nervous system, cardiovascular, renal or respiratory) function.”
betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Insertional mutagenesis assessed instead of standard genotox: in vitro immortalization assay (low potential) and integration site analysis (no clonal dominance)