Integration site analyses only (mouse and human transduced cells); no standard genotoxicity battery
“8 Analysis of Integration Profile in Mouse Transduced Cells NSR-8 9 Analysis of Integration Profile in Human Transduced Cells NSR-9”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not suitable for product type); no tumorigenicity or preferential oncogene integration observed
“Traditional carcinogenicity studies were not conducted since they are not suitable for assessment of this drug product type.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
In vivo studies and integration site analysis showed no tumorigenicity or preferential integration near proto-oncogenes
“Traditional carcinogenicity studies were not conducted since they are not suitable for assessment of this drug product type. The nonclinical data provided by sponsor showed no evidence of tumorigenicity in the in vivo studies performed or preferential integration near proto-oncogenes in the integration site analysis (ISA).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not applicable: ex vivo HSC product, no vector administered to patients
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (product type; gonadal VCN near background, low germline transmission risk)
“Studies were not conducted to evaluate this developmental and reproductive toxicity based on the product type and due to the lack of concerning findings in reproductive tissues in Study #7 (study report no. NSR-7).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted
“Safety pharmacology studies were not conducted for this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Genotox: in vivo
Integration site analysis in LAD-I mice and NSG mice: no evidence of genotoxicity or tumorigenicity
“Intravenous administration of KRESLADI in a mouse model of LAD-I and intravenous administration of KRESLADI manufactured from healthy donors in immunodeficient mice showed no evidence of toxicity, genotoxicity, or oncogenesis (tumorigenicity).”
Not conducted; no tumorigenicity in vivo and no preferential integration near proto-oncogenes on integration site analysis
“The nonclinical data provided by sponsor showed no evidence of tumorigenicity in the in vivo studies performed or preferential integration near proto-oncogenes in the integration site analysis (ISA).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required (not warranted given product characteristics)
“Carcinogenicity and developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were not conducted with KRESLADITM. These studies are not warranted based on the drug product characteristics and safety profile.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not conducted (no safety pharmacology studies)
“Safety pharmacology studies were not conducted for this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗
betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Insertional mutagenesis assessed instead of standard genotox: in vitro immortalization assay (low potential) and integration site analysis (no clonal dominance)