Not conducted (single administration, known product characteristics, class safety profile)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (single administration, known product characteristics, class safety profile)
“These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Long-term follow-up studies capturing new malignancies and tumours under the risk management plan, instead of tumorigenicity studies
“Long-term follow-up studies that specifically include the occurrence of new malignancies and tumours as part of the risk management plan in place for OAV101. Therefore, tumorigenicity studies are not needed.”
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Minor microscopic findings in DRG, spinal cord, peripheral nerves and brain at 6 weeks in NHP, without progression over 12 months
“These studies demonstrated that OAV101 was well tolerated at this dose level up to 12 months post injection, with minor microscopic findings reported 6 weeks post-administration in the dorsal root ganglia (DRG), spinal cord, peripheral nerves, and brain that did not increase in severity or incidence over the 12 month study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 15Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse FEED (single IV OAV101B): no fertility effects, no germline transmission; mouse EFD NOAEL 1.1x10^14 vg/kg
“Fertility and early embryonic development (FEED) studies were conducted in healthy male and female FVB mice administered a single intravenous injection of OAV101B. There were no reported adverse effects on fertility, fecundity, or mating behaviors in either sex.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Genotox: Ames
Not conducted (not necessary for a single-infusion product of this class)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Not conducted (not necessary for a single-infusion product of this class)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Not conducted (not necessary for a single-infusion product of this class)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; not necessary given single infusion, known product characteristics and class safety profile
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not necessary (single infusion, known product characteristics, class safety profile)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
hERG / QT
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Insertional mutagenesis assessed instead of standard genotox: in vitro immortalization assay (low potential) and integration site analysis (no clonal dominance)