Safety marginVerdict not stated
No NOAEL in the pivotal intrathecal NHP study; DRG, spinal cord, nerve and brain findings at the clinical-equivalent dose
Why: Findings minor and did not increase in severity or incidence over 12 months
“with minor microscopic findings reported 6 weeks post-administration in the dorsal root ganglia (DRG), spinal cord, peripheral nerves, and brain that did not increase in severity or incidence over the 12 month study. These toxicity findings precluded the determination of a no-observed”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗ CarcinogenicityAccepted with a conditionBeyond the letter
No carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity or genotoxicity studies; long-term clinical follow-up for malignancies instead
Why: Single administration, known product characteristics, class safety profile; low integration risk with long-term follow-up for malignancies in the RMP · Class precedent · Low-risk modality
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 15Source ↗ “Long-term follow-up studies that specifically include the occurrence of new malignancies and tumours as part of the risk management plan in place for OAV101. Therefore, tumorigenicity studies are not needed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗ BiodistributionVerdict not stated
Germline transmission risk not evaluable in mouse fertility studies, as mouse germ cells are not transduced
“Although no vertical transmission of OAV101 vector DNA was observed in foetuses, it is important to note that these mouse studies are not appropriate to further evaluate the risk of inadvertent germline transmission, since mice did not reveal any vector DNA in germ cells.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗ BiodistributionQuestioned
No intrathecal dose below the clinical-equivalent dose tested in NHP; CNS and DRG biodistribution plateau assumption unverified
“The Applicant assumes that this might be due to a plateau that is achieved with the lowest dose tested (1.2 x 1013 vg). However, as no lower dose levels were tested, it remains unclear whether this assumption is indeed correct.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 41Source ↗