Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
NHP-tolerated 1.2x10^13 vg/animal scaled 10-fold by CSF volume to human starting dose 1.2x10^14 vg/patient
“In vivo toxicology/safety studies conducted in NHPs utilized a single IT administration of OAV101 at 1.2 x 1013 vg/animal, considered equivalent to the proposed starting clinical dose level for ITVISMA of 1.2x1014 vg/patient based on a 10-fold difference in CSF volume between NHP and human.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 15Source ↗
Longest repeat-dose systemic studies
Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single administration)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Single-dose IT NHP study (1.2, 3.0, 6.0 x10^13 vg/animal) to 12 months; mouse ICV studies; IV mouse FEED and EFD
“A single IT dose of onasemnogene abeparvovec was administered at three dose levels: 1.20 × 10 13 vg/animal (equivalent to the clinical therapeutic dose), 3.0 × 10 13 vg/animal, and 6.0 × 10 13 vg/animal.”
Mouse (FVB; fertility and early embryonic development, single IV dose)
“Fertility and early embryonic development (FEED) studies were conducted in healthy male and female FVB mice administered a single intravenous injection of OAV101B.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse FEED (single IV OAV101B): no fertility effects, no germline transmission; mouse EFD NOAEL 1.1x10^14 vg/kg
“Fertility and early embryonic development (FEED) studies were conducted in healthy male and female FVB mice administered a single intravenous injection of OAV101B. There were no reported adverse effects on fertility, fecundity, or mating behaviors in either sex.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Carcinogenicity
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted; not necessary given single infusion, known product characteristics and class safety profile
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not conducted: not necessary (single infusion, known product characteristics, class safety profile)
“No carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, or repeat dosing were conducted for OAV101B. These studies are not necessary based on the intended ROA, dosing regimen (i.e., single infusion), known product characteristics, and overall safety profile for this class of product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 16Source ↗