Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Roctavian: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

valoctocogene roxaparvovec · Factor VIII

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Country not stated; first-in-human dose-escalation study 270-201 in patients with severe hemophilia A
“Study 270-201 was a first-in-human, Phase 1/2 open-label, dose-escalation study of ROCTAVIAN”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 17Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Roctavian don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for gene therapies

FDA expects preclinical proof-of-concept and toxicology studies to identify active dose levels and support the choice of starting dose and escalation. The 2013 guidance gives no numeric formula or scaling rule for the starting dose.

“Selection of potential starting dose level, dose-escalation schedule, and dosing regimen for clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2013: Preclinical Assessment of Investigational Cellular and Gene Therapy…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL stated; CD1 mice >=6.53x10^13 vg/kg: mortality, cardiac hemorrhage/necrosis from anti-hFVIII antibodies; NHP: APTT prolongation (FDA summary basis for approval, p. 12)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
No repeat-dose study (single-dose administration gene therapy)
“No repeat-dose toxicity studies were performed because BMN 270 is a single-dose administration gene”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Two GLP single-dose IV studies in CD1 male mice (up to 26 weeks); 3-month single-dose male monkey study; germline transmission studies
“Then, two GLP single-dose studies were conducted in normal CD1 mice with observation periods of up to 26 weeks, and with doses ranging from 6E12 to 2E14 vg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (>99% of patients male); male mouse germline transmission/mating studies only
“As concerns fertility, dedicated fertility studies/embryofoetal studies have not been performed; the applicant argued that males comprise the majority (>99%) of the patient population to be treated with BMN 270”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (DART); male mouse germline transmission/mating studies showed no F1 transmission or fertility effects
“There were no ROCTAVIAN-related adverse changes on mating rates, maternal behavior, and fertility indices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 12Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Not conducted; not warranted given product characteristics, toxicology results and target population
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ROCTAVIAN were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“As regards carcinogenicity: no carcinogenicity studies were performed with BMN 270.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
No carcinogenicity study; monkey liver vector integration analysis plus mouse/monkey toxicology showed no clonal expansion, preferential integration or tumors
“In summary, the vector integration data in nonhuman primates and toxicology data obtained in mice and nonhuman primates (e.g., BMN270-16-045 and BMN270-16-046) indicate no evidence of BMN 270-related clonal expansion, preferential vector integration site(s), or tumor formation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not warranted (product characteristics, toxicology results, target population)
“Studies to evaluate the safety pharmacology, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ROCTAVIAN were not conducted. These studies were not warranted based on the product characteristics, results from the toxicology studies, and target patient population.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Same question, other gene therapies

Adstiladrin

nadofaragene firadenovec · IFN-alpha2b (adenovirus, intravesical)
US: all clinical studies, including first-in-human in patients with BCG-unresponsive NMIBC, conducted in the US

Kebilidi

eladocagene exuparvovec · AADC
Country not stated; the vector (rAAV2-hAADC) was first tested in humans in Parkinson's disease patients by bilateral intraputaminal dosing

Otarmeni

lunsotogene parvec · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear)
United States and unnamed ex-US sites: DB-OTO-001 (7 US, 4 ex-US sites), the only clinical study

Strimvelis

autologous CD34+ cells transduced with ADA (no INN) · ADA (gamma-retroviral, ex vivo HSC)
Israel: first administered in 2000 to one ADA-SCID patient at Hadassah University, Jerusalem (pilot study)

Zolgensma

onasemnogene abeparvovec · SMN1
United States: single-site trial in 15 infants with SMA

Beqvez

fidanacogene elaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Casgevy

exagamglogene autotemcel · BCL11A enhancer (CRISPR-Cas9, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Elevidys

delandistrogene moxeparvovec · Micro-dystrophin
Not stated in public reviews

Fayuvi

rebisufligene etisparvovec · SGSH (AAV9)
Not stated in public reviews

Genglycos

pariglasgene brecaparvovec · G6PC (AAV8)
Not stated in public reviews

Glybera

alipogene tiparvovec · LPL (AAV1)
Not stated in public reviews

Hemgenix

etranacogene dezaparvovec · Factor IX
Not stated in public reviews

Imlygic

talimogene laherparepvec · GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Itvisma

onasemnogene abeparvovec (intrathecal) · SMN1 (AAV9, intrathecal)
Not stated in public reviews

Kresladi

marnetegragene autotemcel · ITGB2 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Lenmeldy

atidarsagene autotemcel · ARSA (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Luxturna

voretigene neparvovec · RPE65
Not stated in public reviews

Lyfgenia

lovotibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Papzimeos

zopapogene imadenovec · HPV6/11 antigens (gorilla adenovirus)
Not stated in public reviews

Skysona

elivaldogene autotemcel · ABCD1 (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Tudriqev

vusolimogene oderparepvec · GALV-GP + GM-CSF (oncolytic HSV-1)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyjuvek

beremagene geperpavec · COL7A1 (HSV-1, topical)
Not stated in public reviews

Waskyra

etuvetidigene autotemcel · WAS (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Zevaskyn

prademagene zamikeracel · COL7A1 (RV-modified keratinocyte sheets)
Not stated in public reviews

Zynteglo

betibeglogene autotemcel · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 26 gene therapies →