Conducted; negative (Ames, CHO chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“Golodirsen was negative in an adequately conducted standard battery of in vitro (Ames, chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval; dose-ranging done; Tg mouse and 2-year rat as PMRs
“No carcinogenicity studies have been conducted. The sponsor has conducted dose-ranging (DR) studies (reviewed below) to support planned carcinogenicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (almost exclusively male population); male reproductive assessments and juvenile rat study
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with golodirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Standalone telemetered monkey CV/CNS study (Latin square, up to 320 mg/kg IV) plus hERG; no effects
“In the only in vivo safety pharmacology study, golodirsen (0, 5, 40, or 320 mg/kg IV) had no effects on CNS, cardiovascular, or respiratory parameters in four male cynomolgus monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“Golodirsen was negative in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation and chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
“Golodirsen was negative in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation and chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
“Golodirsen was negative in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation and chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse (SC) and up to 102-week rat (IV); no increase in neoplasms
“Administration of golodirsen to male transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mice (0, 100, 300, or 1000 mg/kg) weekly for 26 weeks by subcutaneous injection and to male rats (0, 30, 100, or 300 mg/kg) weekly for up to 102 weeks by intravenous injection resulted in no increase in neoplasms.”
None before approval; 26-week transgenic mouse and 2-year rat to be conducted after approval
“If the NDA is approved, carcinogenicity studies in two species (26-week in transgenic mouse, 2-year in rat) are to be conducted post-approval, as previously agreed to by the division.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
hERG / QT
hERG IC50 >300 µM; not predicted to cause hERG-mediated cardiotoxicity
“Results of the hERG assay gave an IC50 of greater than 300 µM. Therefore, SRP-4053 is not predicted to result in hERG-mediated cardiotoxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 111Source ↗