Conducted; negative (Ames, CHO chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“Eteplirsen was negative in a standard battery of genetic toxicology (Ames, in vitro chromosomal aberration in CHO, in vivo mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 18Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval; Tg.rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat as PMRs (later negative per label)
“Carcinogenicity studies have not been conducted for eteplirsen. As agreed to by the division, carcinogenicity studies in two species would be conducted post approval as PMRs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 18Source ↗
Instead of carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Instead of genotoxicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
DRG histopathology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (almost entirely male population); male reproductive organ histopathology in tox studies; juvenile rat study
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with eteplirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Standalone telemetered monkey CV/respiratory/CNS study (SC and IV up to 320 mg/kg); no findings
“No toxicologically important effects were observed in a safety pharmacology study in cynomolgus monkeys given single injections of eteplirsen at up to 320 mg/kg SC or IV.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Negative
“Eteplirsen was negative in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation and chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
“Eteplirsen was negative in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation and chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
“Eteplirsen was negative in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation and chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse and 96-week rat; no increase in neoplasms
“Administration of eteplirsen to male transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mice (0, 200, 500, or 960 mg/kg) weekly for 26 weeks (intravenous [IV] injection for 15 weeks, followed by subcutaneous injection for 11 weeks) and to male rats (0, 60, 180, or 600 mg/kg IV) weekly for 96 weeks resulted in no increase in neoplasms.”
26-week transgenic mouse and 2-year rat studies planned after approval; none conducted before the marketing application
“The sponsor plans to conduct a 26-week study in transgenic mice and a 2-year study in rats to assess the carcinogenicity of eteplirsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 88Source ↗
hERG / QT
No toxicologically important effects in monkey safety pharmacology study up to 320 mg/kg SC or IV
“No toxicologically important effects were observed in a safety pharmacology study in cynomolgus monkeys given single injections of eteplirsen at up to 320 mg/kg SC or IV.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗