Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Vyondys 53: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Vyondys 53 don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Severe renal toxicity, lethal in juvenile rat at 900 mg/kg; juvenile rat NOAEL 100 mg/kg (2.6x AUC); monkey NOAEL 80 mg/kg (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 113)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
39-week male cynomolgus monkey (IV infusion) with 8-week recovery
“Title: A 39-week intravenous infusion toxicity study in male cynomolgus monkeys with an 8-week recovery period”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 64Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
12-wk IV and 26-wk SC mouse; 12-wk IV and 39-wk IV infusion monkey; 10-wk IV juvenile rat
“Toxicology: 12- and 26-week studies in mouse; 12- and 39-week studies in monkey; 4- and 10-week toxicity study in juvenile rat.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Not conducted (patient population almost entirely male); male reproductive organs and sperm assessed in toxicity studies
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with golodirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male. Potential effects on male fertility were assessed by histopathological evaluation of male reproductive organs and sperm assessment in toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (almost exclusively male population); male reproductive assessments and juvenile rat study
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with golodirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
No PPND or other developmental and reproductive toxicity studies; patient population almost entirely male
“No developmental and reproductive toxicity studies were conducted with golodirsen because the patient population is almost entirely male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Male Tg.rasH2 mouse (26-week SC) and male rat (up to 102 weeks IV)
“Administration of golodirsen to male transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mice (0, 100, 300, or 1000 mg/kg) weekly for 26 weeks by subcutaneous injection and to male rats (0, 30, 100, or 300 mg/kg) weekly for up to 102 weeks by intravenous injection resulted in no increase in neoplasms.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity model
26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse (SC) and up to 102-week rat (IV); no increase in neoplasms
“Administration of golodirsen to male transgenic (Tg.rasH2) mice (0, 100, 300, or 1000 mg/kg) weekly for 26 weeks by subcutaneous injection and to male rats (0, 30, 100, or 300 mg/kg) weekly for up to 102 weeks by intravenous injection resulted in no increase in neoplasms.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
None before approval; 26-week transgenic mouse and 2-year rat to be conducted after approval
“If the NDA is approved, carcinogenicity studies in two species (26-week in transgenic mouse, 2-year in rat) are to be conducted post-approval, as previously agreed to by the division.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Canada: first-in-human study in healthy volunteers

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
US, UK and Sweden: 6 clinical study centers (4 US, 1 UK, 1 Sweden)

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
UK: single ascending dose in healthy subjects (Study 001 Part A)

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
United States and other countries: ION373-CS1, the single combined first clinical and pivotal trial in AxD patients

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Hibsago

bepirovirsen · HBV RNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 oligonucleotides →