Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Arexvy: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Preliminary results of the GLP rabbit repeat-dose study supported initiation of the first clinical study (pre-IND)
“Section 15 includes a summary of available results from the ongoing pharmacology studies and the preliminary results of the GLP repeat-dose toxicity study conducted in rabbits with the”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 8Source ↗
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated for first-in-human; final 120 µg RSVPreF3 + 50 µg AS01E dose selected on clinical data
“The final formulation, antigen and adjuvant doses (120 µg RSVPreF3 with 50 µg AS01E) was selected based on clinical data.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
Two GLP rabbit IM studies: injections on Days 1, 15 and 29, then 4-week recovery
“Two GLP-compliant repeated dose toxicity studies (and) were conducted in New Zealand White rabbits (10/sex/group), which received three intramuscular injections (Day 1, Day 15 and Day 29, followed by a 4- week recovery period.)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Two GLP rabbit IM studies of RSVPreF3 alone or with AS01B, three injections two weeks apart, with 4-week recovery
“Two GLP-compliant repeated dose toxicity studies (and) were conducted in New Zealand White rabbits (10/sex/group), which received three intramuscular injections (Day 1, Day 15 and Day 29, followed by a 4- week recovery period.)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rabbit (RSVPreF3 alone; complete RSVPreF3/AS01E product) and rat (RSVPreF3 alone)
“The Applicant has provided two DART studies with RSVPreF3 (without adjuvant): one in rabbit (doses of 120 μg antigen) and one in rat (doses of 48 μg antigen). In addition, the report from a DART study with the complete product (i.e., RSVPreF3/AS01E; full human dose, 120 μg PreF3) in rabbit was provided.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rabbit (RSVPreF3; RSVPreF3/AS01E) and rat (RSVPreF3) DART: no effects on female fertility, embryo-fetal or pre/postnatal development
“In addition, the report from a DART study with the complete product (i.e., RSVPreF3/AS01E; full human dose, 120 μg PreF3) in rabbit was provided. In neither of the studies effects were observed on female fertility, embryo-foetal, pre- and postnatal development.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rabbit (RSVPreF3 or AS01B) and rat (RSVPreF3) developmental studies with postnatal phase, completed before the marketing application
“Study number 3: A Developmental Toxicity Study (Including Teratogenicity and Postnatal Investigations) of RSVPreF3 or AS01B by Intramuscular Injection in Rabbits. Study number: 20152506. Performing laboratory: . Study initiation date: November 08, 2018 Final report date: September 17, 2019”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 126Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (not required for vaccines)
“The absence of carcinogenicity studies is accepted and not required for vaccines.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (not required for vaccines)
“The absence of carcinogenicity studies is accepted and not required for vaccines.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required for vaccines
“The absence of carcinogenicity studies is accepted and not required for vaccines.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Same question, other vaccines

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 13 vaccines →