Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Nuvaxovid: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020
“2019nCoV-101 Part 1 (completed) Australia Initiated: May 6, 2020”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 20Source ↗
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Nuvaxovid don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL stated; transient CRP and fibrinogen elevations and injection-site inflammation in rabbits, as expected for a vaccine (FDA summary basis for approval, p. 17)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
57-day IM rabbit study with 4 doses of adjuvanted vaccine or Matrix-M alone
“In the 57-day repeat intramuscular toxicity study, rabbits were administered intramuscularly 4 doses (3 weekly and one additional 21 days later) of 50 ug SARS-CoV-2 rS with 50 ug Matrix-M or 50 ug Matrix-M alone.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 17Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
57-day IM repeat-dose study in rabbits (with and without Matrix-M); IM DART study in rats (vaccine or Matrix-M alone)
“The sponsor submitted two toxicity study reports (57-day repeat intramuscular toxicity study with and without Matrix-M adjuvant in rabbits and developmental and reproductive toxicology study of intramuscular administration of SARS-C0V-2 rS nanoparticle vaccine with Matrix-M adjuvant or Matrix-M alone in rats)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 1Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rat (combined fertility, embryo-fetal and postnatal study, females dosed before mating and in gestation)
“A DART study in rats with SARS-CoV-2 rS + Matrix-M1 or Matrix- M1 alone (administered 27 and 13 days prior to cohabitation and on gestation day (GD) 7 and 15) has been performed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 51Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat DART (dosing before mating and in gestation): no effects on reproduction, embryo-fetal or postnatal development to day 21
“The DART study confirmed that SARS-CoV-2 rS + Matrix-M1 or Matrix-M1 does not affect reproductive or developmental parameters and no adverse findings on pregnancy/lactation, or development of the embryo/foetus and offspring through post-natal Day 21 were identified.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 52Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat combined DART with postnatal follow-up to day 21, completed before the marketing application
“The DART study confirmed that SARS-CoV-2 rS + Matrix-M1 or Matrix-M1 does not affect reproductive or developmental parameters and no adverse findings on pregnancy/lactation, or development of the embryo/foetus and offspring through post-natal Day 21 were identified.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 52Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (WHO vaccine guidelines)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been performed with the SARS-CoV-2 rS vaccine and Matrix-M1 adjuvant in accordance with the WHO Guidelines on Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccines (2005) and Guidelines on the Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccine Adjuvants and Adjuvanted Vaccines (2014).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 51Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted (WHO vaccine and adjuvant guidelines)
“No carcinogenicity studies have been performed with the SARS-CoV-2 rS vaccine and Matrix-M1 adjuvant in accordance with the WHO Guidelines on Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccines (2005) and Guidelines on the Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccine Adjuvants and Adjuvanted Vaccines (2014).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 51Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required under WHO vaccine and adjuvanted vaccine guidelines
“No carcinogenicity studies have been performed with the SARS-CoV-2 rS vaccine and Matrix-M1 adjuvant in accordance with the WHO Guidelines on Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccines (2005) and Guidelines on the Non-clinical Evaluation of Vaccine Adjuvants and Adjuvanted Vaccines (2014).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 51Source ↗

Same question, other vaccines

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Fendrix

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 13 vaccines →