Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Fendrix: what was done before first-in-human, and what came after?

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA), AS04C-adjuvanted · HBsAg VLPs; TLR4 (AS04C adjuvant)

Before first-in-human

First-in-human: where
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Repeat-dose tox before first-in-human
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Fendrix don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for vaccines outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: No NOAEL stated; minor dose-related immunostimulatory effects with MPL; minor reversible injection-site inflammation in rabbit (EMA assessment report, p. 9)

Full method, every step sourced →

Longest repeat-dose systemic studies

Longest repeat-dose study and recovery
14-day IV MPL study in Beagle dog; rabbit IM vaccine study duration not stated
“Repeated-dose toxicity studies were presented, up to 7 days in rats and 14 days in Beagle dogs, where MPL was given once daily by the intravenous route, maximising the exposure.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Rabbit IM repeat-dose vaccine study; MPL alone IV daily up to 7 days (rat) and 14 days (Beagle dog)
“Repeated-dose toxicity studies were presented, up to 7 days in rats and 14 days in Beagle dogs, where MPL was given once daily by the intravenous route, maximising the exposure.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗

DART package

Species: DART
Rabbit (teratogenicity) and rat (pre- and postnatal development)
“Reproductive toxicity studies including a teratogenicity study in the rabbit and a pre-and postnatal study in the rat showed no evidence of maternal toxicity, teratogenicity or any effect on the in utero development of the F1 offspring.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rabbit teratogenicity and rat pre/postnatal studies: no maternal toxicity, teratogenicity or F1 developmental effects
“Reproductive toxicity studies including a teratogenicity study in the rabbit and a pre-and postnatal study in the rat showed no evidence of maternal toxicity, teratogenicity or any effect on the in utero development of the F1 offspring.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗
PPND / ePPND: when
Rat pre- and postnatal study completed before the marketing application
“Reproductive toxicity studies including a teratogenicity study in the rabbit and a pre-and postnatal study in the rat showed no evidence of maternal toxicity, teratogenicity or any effect on the in utero development of the F1 offspring.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 9Source ↗

Carcinogenicity

Species: carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Carcinogenicity model
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Carcinogenicity timing
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Same question, other vaccines

Nuvaxovid

COVID-19 vaccine, recombinant spike protein nanoparticle, Matrix-M-adjuvanted · SARS-CoV-2 spike (nanoparticle)
Australia: Study 2019nCoV-101 Part 1, started May 2020

PreHevbrio

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), 3-antigen · HBsAg S/pre-S1/pre-S2 VLPs
Israel, Thailand and Singapore: legacy dose-ranging studies, one with a first-in-human part up to 20 µg

Arexvy

respiratory syncytial virus vaccine, adjuvanted (AS01E) · RSV preF3; TLR4 (AS01E adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cervarix

human papillomavirus bivalent (types 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant, AS04-adjuvanted · HPV 16/18 L1 VLPs; TLR4 (AS04 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · B. anthracis PA; TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Flublok

influenza vaccine, recombinant hemagglutinin · Influenza HA
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil

human papillomavirus quadrivalent (types 6, 11, 16, 18) vaccine, recombinant · HPV 6/11/16/18 L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Gardasil 9

human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine, recombinant · HPV 9-valent L1 VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

HBVaxPro

hepatitis B vaccine (rDNA) · HBsAg VLPs
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · HBsAg; TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Mosquirix

RTS,S/AS01 malaria vaccine · P. falciparum CSP-HBsAg (RTS,S) VLPs; TLR4 (AS01 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Shingrix

zoster vaccine recombinant, AS01B-adjuvanted · VZV glycoprotein E; TLR4 (AS01B adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 13 vaccines →